RSS

This blog is about COPD post script….

18 Nov

Yesterday (11/17/13) I posted an extremely long rambling post about COPD, and the impacts it had on my life, and I purported that many sufferers of COPD had many of those same feelings, those same issues and those same experiences.  I suspect that I am right in those assumptions.  But for all the writing I did I left out one of the single most important aspects. There is hope for sufferers of COPD, not during the remaining part of my life but it is coming.

When I was 1st formally diagnosed with COPD 6 years ago, there was very little public acknowledgement of the disease, you never heard about it, and there was nothing really on the Internet regarding the disease.  The medicines available were limited, and there weren’t any new ones on the horizon.  There was no public outcry for a solution, or for research, no movie star or celebrity had taken up the cause. But that is changing.  Over the last 2 years, I have heard COPD discussed on the Today Show, The Morning Show, I think Doc Oz even did a segment.  Numerous articles have been printed in major papers and magazines, and COPD has been spotlighted on shows like Ellen, and even NASCAR has had a race with COPD being in the race title. Change is in the wind, and it is positive.  You hear about stem cell research now, and of course the rats with COPD tests (how rats got COPD is beyond me).  But COPD is on longer the bastard step child of diseases.  People are paying attention.  Every other year there is a national conference where doctors, sufferers, research people, equipment vendors and drug companies all get together and have seminars, drug companies brag about their new drugs, and vendors show the latest and greatest portable oxygen machines,  doctors talk about the strides made in the treatment, and sufferers get together and share their experiences.  I was going to go to last years, but I was just recovering from another bout of pneumonia.   But it is my hope to go to the next one.

The whole point is that all is not lost.  In the future COPD will not be the death sentence it is now.  It is finally getting the attention it deserves.  Though I don’t believe we have our own movie star who has taken it up as their cause, but with all the public attention COPD has drawn in the last 18 or so months, it can’t be long before we have our own movie star.

COPD requires you to fight it, thru exercise, a good diet, and paying attention to your doctor.  And while you might not win the war, you can and will win many a battle.  And with each victory comes the smile of a grandchild or other loved one.

Thank you for allowing me to supplement an already extremely long post.  For as much as I said yesterday, this needed to be said.  The fact there is hope is as important as my or your fight against COPD.  If you have any questions, concerns or if you just want to comment, please feel free.  Take care, Bill

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “This blog is about COPD post script….

  1. Brenda

    November 18, 2013 at 12:24 pm

    We all need hope, and I’m glad you have your rightful share.

     
  2. Chatter Master

    November 18, 2013 at 8:48 pm

    I think bringing to light and attention anything that educates and helps is a step in the right direction. I hope the writing of this gives you extra adrenaline that helps you battle this.

     
  3. gita4elamats

    November 19, 2013 at 1:33 am

    You are a great fighter, Bill, please keep fighting!

     
    • FlaHam

      November 19, 2013 at 7:13 am

      Ela, I am no quite ready to go, so I will do the best I can. So until then you will have to deal with my silliness. I do appreciate your words of encouragement. Take care, Bill

       
  4. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    November 19, 2013 at 6:54 pm

    Excellent point Bill. And, I heard back from a man who came to my site, saw a mention about you, and has COPD. He wrote that reading yours did help him. You’re a good man, Bill. xoxo

     
    • FlaHam

      November 19, 2013 at 9:15 pm

      Paulette, This email makes it all worth while. To be able to reach out and touch just one person, to maybe help, to let them know they aren’t alone. Thank you for letting me know. Thanks for the shout out that made it possible. Take care, Bill, XOXO

       
    • huntmode

      November 21, 2013 at 6:40 pm

      He’s helping me, too because of your mention! Well done!

       
  5. Wanda

    November 27, 2013 at 6:51 am

    Bill, I’m convinced that your blog as well as your participation on the COPD discussion board, etc., has contributed in its own way to increasing notice and concern of the disease.

     
    • FlaHam

      November 27, 2013 at 10:33 am

      Wanda, Sixteen months ago you sat here with me, and guided me thru the process. We talked and talked about my goals for writing this blog, and what I hoped to accomplish. Without your encouragement and guidance it would not have taken roots mentally, and may have ended up like some of my other efforts where I would start but not stay with it. Without your early participation I doubt if I would be writing it today, and I know I would not have contributed the awareness of COPD. Thank You !! Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

