RSS

How I Feel Today 11.22.31

22 Nov

Let’s start off with I am no longer super nurse, my wife is completely over her medical issues, and back to work full speed. Ok folks a new mental scale has been created, and I am still working the kinks out (I like kinky LOL). Based on this new mental image of my health and how I am reacting to inside and outside influences, I would rate this week at a solid 2.5.  A lot of my improvement comes directly from the influence of the folks reading this blog.  Your encouragement, your understanding, your patience makes it easier for me to mentally adjust.  So thanks to you wonderful folks I am a solid 2.5.  I will say a couple of you out there want me to have a 4 week.  LMAO, I am not even going to go into what would have to happen for me to have a 4 week, but trust me winning the lottery would be part of it. LOL LOL.  Let’s keep in on the KISS theory for a while.

 

Last week I was so caught up on talking about how woe is me that I did forget to share that I get to see Doc Skin.  Those that know me, know that I have 2,037,215 freckles, very pale skin (though not quite vampire pale) and anyone that has seen my Navy picture, knows that at one time I had very bright red hair, now it is stately white.  Also I have played golf for years, and always drove with my left arm out the window, all the earmarks of pending disaster.  I see my dermatologist every 6 months.  Usually that means that I leave the office with a multitude of freezer burns, looking almost zombie like.  Sometimes they have to slice and dice.  Last week I had to have a minor in office procedure which required seven stitches, but it’s nature compared to all the other crap last week was insignificant.  The wound is healing well, and I haven’t gotten an ounce of sympathy. Gosh it doesn’t even pay to go under the knife.  The stitches come out next Tues.  I expect to be at the Dermatology office for about 17 minutes.

 

On Monday I had my monthly IVIG treatment, it went off without a hitch. On Tuesday (at Doc Infectious Office), I had an additional follow-up, Doc Infectious listened, showed the proper amount of bedside manner, and issued the order to remove the pic line.  By the time I have my next IVIG treatment it will be thru my new Mediport.

 

I also met with Doc Lungs this week (Tues after the Doc Infectious appt), and he listened and concurred with Doc Infectious that my lungs sound quite clear considering the condition my lungs are in.  We have a standing joke when they ask me to take a deep breath, I tell them “if I could take a deep breath, I wouldn’t need to be here.”  We all chuckle.  For those you that suffer you can use that line as your own with your doctor.  Trust me unless you Doc is a complete ass, he will enjoy that remark.

 

I had my vitals taken several times this week so here are the highlights; bp = 98/64 (was low point during IVIG treatment), resp 100 which is generally where I am with that, O2 = as I sit here typing this is  94-95, temperature = 97.8 or so, weight = 274 is what I am claiming, I am a Pillsbury doughboy don’t forget, and the weight is coming down quite slowly.

 

I was in Dr “N”s office Wednesday and had to have a sonogram to determine if I had any blood clots and I DON’T.  Then I met with the surgeon and we talked about the process for having the Mediport installed.  Having a Mediport put in is out-patient surgery. Go in – in the morning, come out in the afternoon, normal activities immediately.  Because I am considered high risk, they can’t put me to sleep for the surgery, so what will happen is that I will be given a major dose of local for the surgery site, and a mild sedative to keep me calm during the procedure.  Everything will be fine, I expect to have this done sometime shortly after Thanksgiving.  For those that are wondering what the hell a Mediport is, it is a port of entry into the body, thru a major vein where they can draw blood, give injections and administer any type of IV drug.  Which to me means that when I go to the hospital or any other medical facility that needs draw blood or inject something, they can use this port, and reduce significantly the anxiety  of being poked and prodded looking for a vein. For a hard stick like me, it means I won’t have 22 bruises on my hands and arms from them trying to find a vein.

 

“That’s all Folks!” this wraps up the 3rd November report.  Take care, and again thank you for taking the time to explore my post.  If you have any questions, please ask away.  As always your comments are greatly appreciated.  Take care Bill

 

OK folks this is 2 weeks in a row that I have gotten this out in a timely manner.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on November 22, 2013 in How I feel on a particular day

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “How I Feel Today 11.22.31

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    November 22, 2013 at 1:00 pm

    Lotta good news here, Bill and whether it’s a 2 or 4 week as long as you’re okay with what is and continue to LYAO then I’m happy w/that. So glad Steph is all better and you took your nurse hat off. Wishing you and your whole clan a very Happy Thanksgiving! xoxo

     
    • FlaHam

      November 22, 2013 at 2:49 pm

      Paulette, I do feel better mentally, and that is one of the single biggest issues is fighting the mental aspect. So while I am not totally back, I am 90 pct back, and I will get the other 10 pct of the back over the next week or so. I hope you have a wonderful thanksgiving as well, please take care of yourself and Terry. And have just a marvelous time. Take care, Bill

       
  2. Marlyn Brook

    November 22, 2013 at 5:53 pm

    I won’t even ask besides the lottery win what would get you to 4. I won’t ask because I’m having too much fun filling in that list all by myself:) LMAO I hope this Thanksgiving you will spend with your Granddaughter…and of course the rest of your loving family. But since I’m a Grammom I know who comes first on the list:) Stalked once again…XOXO

     
  3. Chatter Master

    November 22, 2013 at 10:17 pm

    Bill, your timeliness should bump this up to a 2.75 week. 😉 I’m pretty impressed with such an accurate count of your freckles. Not to mention the precise 17 minute prediction of your doc appt next week. I will float you a little sympathy for going under the knife. And even toss in an “awwwwww, Bill, it will be okay”. 🙂

    I hope you have a splendid weekend !

     
    • FlaHam

      November 23, 2013 at 12:44 am

      Colleen, Thank you that was all i needed just a little pity party for me. I will tell you a quick story. One time a long time ago in a place far away, I used a magic marker to mark the freckles I had counted, it only took a couple hundred before I realized what a stupid idea that was. Took weeks to get all the magic marker off my arm. Live and learn. Take care, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        November 23, 2013 at 11:37 am

        HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! I love this story!!!!! 😉

        You are such a joy in my day Bill. Thank you. 🙂

         
  4. jmgoyder

    November 22, 2013 at 11:05 pm

    So we are both freckle faces!

     
    • FlaHam

      November 23, 2013 at 12:40 am

      Julie, Apparently we both have a ton LOL LOL. When I was a kid I was called camelskin because of all the freckles. Take care, Bill

       
  5. huntmode

    November 23, 2013 at 2:33 am

    Still laughing, Bill – on the magic marker visual. As you say, the white hair gives you such an air of wisdom and the smile seems to invite and warn of mischief at the same time. And then, thinking of a younger you using a magic marker to clock off the freckles – first, I salute you for a counting method and did you start on your face or somewhere that could be covered up while you waited for the marker to wear off…. details, details, details! 🙂

    Your reports sound good; the port will be a major improvement, I hope! I’m going to shoot you an email with a quick question. Just a thought I had. I’m sure we’ll be writing before it comes, but Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family. Blessings, Bill. HuntMode

     
    • FlaHam

      November 23, 2013 at 8:04 am

      Hunt, One of my very best attributes is that I never claim to be the sharpest crayon in the box. Because I am left handed I started on the back of my right hand, it wasn’t a pretty sight. Long sleeve shirts did a great job of hiding most of my effort. I use comet to scrub most of it off the back of my hand (skin was kinda raw). I had thought of starting on my face, but stand in front of a mirror trying to coordinate my eye hand movement quickly had me change locations. It is my most sincere hope that the Mediport eliminates many of the issues I have when I go to the hospital, and when I have my monthly IVIG treatment. I hope you and yours have a wonderful Thanksgiving and thank you again for your kind words. Take care, Bill

       
  6. Wanda

    November 27, 2013 at 6:58 am

    I guess you could try counting the freckles in a small area and then multiplying…

    I’m still laughing at the idea of you trying to mark off the ones you had already counted…

     
    • FlaHam

      November 27, 2013 at 7:36 am

      Wanda, Counting and multiplying makes way to much sense to me LOL LOL, and I was never very good with the finer points of math. I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving. Please take care and we’ll see you Sunday. Bill

       
  7. Laurel

    December 4, 2013 at 7:28 am

    You are rocking all this change Bill! Happy to hear that! I am happy to keep up with you and your journey and hope for a 4 or 5 next week!

     
    • FlaHam

      December 4, 2013 at 9:13 am

      Laurel, Your encouragement is always so heartfelt, I appreciate more than you realize. Smiling your pushing for 4 and 5’s and I just want make sure I hit 3. I will do the best I can to get to a 4, but it will need to be a very special week. Thank you for your continued support. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

