RSS

The Feast is over but not forgotten !! subtitle – the post FEAST workout.

01 Dec

The kids (Allison, Stu and Cari) arrived on Tuesday evening on time, well actually early, which is a very rare event.  Steph and I had prepared (well Steph prepared, I cleaned) a smorgasbord of Chinese dishes for dinner, which were consumed immediately with great gusto.  The family retired to the den, to sit, relax, and plan for Wednesday which was our Thanksgiving.  Those decisions made, Allison invited (challenged) me to a game of Triple Yahtzee, a tradition of sorts when we celebrate any holiday.  Being the wonder father I am I said sure (knowing full well I would kick her butt).  As we sat down at the kitchen table, Cari my 8 year old daughter asked if she could play. Allison asked her if she knew how to play, and she replied, “yes, we play it in school.”  That being said, we said sure, knowing that the game just got longer, and we would spend a considerable amount of time explaining to Cari what was going on, and how to keep score, and even strategy.  Lord could I have been more mistaken.  Clearly Cari had played, clearly she understood the game, and clearly she had some sense of strategy.  I was so wonderfully amazed.  Then DAMN IT!!! she kicked my butt.  She had her own little rendition of the Happy Yahtzee Dance, and a little song to go with it.  Not only did I hear the song once during the game, I got to hear it a second time.  True to my thinking I did kick Allison’s butt, but Cari KICKED mine.  It was wonderful.  But it did get tiring, over the 2 and half days the kids spent with us, Cari beat me 6 out of 8 Go Fish Games, I had one win and 1 tie.  She also spanked me at Sega Racing on my MY Xbox.  Cari was so joyful, having the kids here for thanks giving was wonderful, and I hope that we continue to find a way to have Thanksgiving together as long as I am available.  The meal did take over 5 hours to prepare, and also like predicted it took 30 minutes to consume.  Dishes were complete washed and put away an hour later.  It was a wonderful feast.

One of the many wonderful comments I got about the Feast came from a very dear and very special blogger Chatter Blog.  If you want insightful, meaningful, fun, and honesty put together in a short wonderful message, please check her out.  Anyway, Chatter asked (kinda demanded) that because I made her gain “13.2 pounds just reading this” that I had to create a workout to help her lose that which I freely gave her.  So with that in mind, and out of total respect for Chatter, I have developed the following as a sure way to shed some of the weight I caused, but you have to help by not having 2nds and 3rds and the some extra like I did.

Folks this was my workout which I did 3 times a week while in Pulmonary Rehab.

treadmill – 40 minutes at 2 mph

Arm Crank – 30 pct resistance for 15 minutes

Airdna Bike – 300 rpm for 15 minutes

Recumbent Bike – set at level 3 for 15 minutes

Airdyne Arms – set at level 4 for 15 minutes

Stair Stepper – set at level 3 for 15 minutes

Weight training – 10 stations, 3 sets of 20 at each station, weights varied from 30 to 150 pounds.  Leg work was done at 150 pounds.  Arms and shoulders work anywhere from 30 to 50 lbs.

Sit ups – 3 sets of 20

I would be sweating like a pig at the end, but quite proud of myself.  Being honest this was quite easy (not really) but because I had my IPod and was listening to my tunes all was right with the world and I could get thru it.   

 

The very 1st time I when to pulmonary rehab, the lab had a source of music that was not tailored to my needs at all.  I remember distinctly the tunes were from an era and grouping that left me wanting for something anything to help motivate me.  Listening to the provided music was more difficult than the actual workout.  From the 2nd workout on, I brought my IPod with my 1700 potential songs. Setting the IPod to random made for some unique song grouping, and as a result I created the playlist called “Walking Music.”  I would dawn my headphones and work my way around the gym, the music made the workout a pleasure.

When I walk on the treadmill, I always hold the hand rails. But I close my eyes blanking out the world to me and my music.  Folks I am here to tell you I can’t carry a note in a basket.  Cats having their tails under rocking chairs sound much much better than I do singing.  And here in lies the problem.  With the headset on, and in my own little world I sometimes don’t lip sing, I actually sing, and sometimes quite loud I am told.  Anyway, one morning while walking on the treadmill, I was gentle touched by one of the nurses.  She said, something along the lines, of that while I liked how I sung, and while for laugh factor it was great to hear me sing, the other patrons were not as into my music as I was.  I was asked to make a very real effort to not SING, especially the lyrics to some of the songs, on my playlist. That Playlist is below.  My workout generally lasted 20 songs.  Because I had it set up to be random I never knew which song was going to be next.  But by looking at the list you can get a feel for the type music I enjoy.

Slide1

 

 

 

I am sorry for the sizing of the “Walking List” but if you get your readers, and a magnifying glass you should be just fine.

Folks, if you follow the guidelines for the post Feast workout, and if you have yourself a great playlist.  You should be able to get rid of any extra pounds I caused.

As always if you have any questions, concerns or comments, please share them.  Take care and have a great Day.  BTW let the shopping begin in earnest.  — Bill

 
24 Comments

Posted by on December 1, 2013 in Grandpa Stories, Humor, Observations, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

24 responses to “The Feast is over but not forgotten !! subtitle – the post FEAST workout.

  1. Chatter Master

    December 1, 2013 at 5:13 pm

    🙂 Oh Bill you make me laugh. I don’t have all of that equipment but I will do the bike, and the treadmill, and substitute some push ups and weights where I must, and I never use the elevator at work, stairs only! 🙂 I will let you know if I lose that 13.2 pounds. 😉

     
    • FlaHam

      December 1, 2013 at 5:28 pm

      Colleen, Soft smile, this was in assent a by request post LOL. It allowed me the opportunity to ramble about my thanksgiving with the family, and build the promised workout program for those that over indulged at their own Feast. I am sure you will be much more dedicated to your workout regiment than I will. But no matter, I will have positive thoughts about working out, and be encouraged that you are. Please take care, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        December 1, 2013 at 8:01 pm

        🙂 I was waiting for it, I knew you would come through!

        I haven’t been too dedicated today. Took the day off of working out any and worked in the garage for 8 hours!!!!

         
        • FlaHam

          December 1, 2013 at 8:05 pm

          Colleen, working in the garage is differently a major league workout and serious PIA. I truly believe you have accomplished your mission for today. Take care, Bill

           
          • rarasaur

            December 1, 2013 at 9:39 pm

            I love Colleen, she’s the best! Yay! I also love it when blogs I read collide, 😉 I also-also loved the playlist, Bill– many of my favorite songs were on there. 😀

             
            • FlaHam

              December 1, 2013 at 11:27 pm

              Rara, I have been a fan of Colleen’s since the 1st post of her’s I read. I have been lucky recently and have bumped up against some really great blogs. I am equally glad that you enjoyed this post. Maybe you will find others that you like equally as well. My walking play list changes with my mood and boredom. This list lacks AC/DC and SRV. Again, thanks for stopping by and commenting. Take care, Bill

               
          • Chatter Master

            December 2, 2013 at 6:02 am

            It was truly a different kind of workout! Now my garage looks worse but things were made! 🙂

             
            • FlaHam

              December 2, 2013 at 8:10 am

              Colleen, I would suggest that while your workout was completely different, you had a level of satisfaction when you look about the garage and saw your accomplishment starring right back at you. That is a wonderful feeling, having decluttered a garage in the past, I can appreciate it greatly just as you do. And I know you sweated your butt off. Take care Bill

               
  2. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    December 1, 2013 at 5:41 pm

    Colleen may have gained 13.2 pounds reading the feast post but I lost 13.2 pounds reading this one, lol. 😉 You can sing while I exercise any time. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      December 1, 2013 at 8:01 pm

      Paulette, Lord have mercy, while I must be tone deaf, you must be totally deaf LOL LOL, but if your willing to listen I am willing to sing. It can’t be any worst than the time I did karaoke and sang “Wild Thing” and “You lost that lovin feeling” back to back. Just goes to show you the power of beef. Take care, have a great week. Bill

       
      • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

        December 1, 2013 at 9:27 pm

        That’s really funny! That I gotta hear. Any chance you can make and post a recording? xoxox

         
        • FlaHam

          December 1, 2013 at 9:36 pm

          Paulette, There isn’t a chance in hell that will happen. LMFAO, dope, nada, not one chance in a million. Had you been around me during HS times, you might have gotten a chance to see me perform. I was in a band for a tiny period of my life. Sang and played the tambourine. It didn’t take much time for the band to get a better singer. Take care, Bill

           
          • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

            December 1, 2013 at 9:39 pm

            lMFAO along with you. Oh what fun this has been. Tra la la la la. 😉

             
            • FlaHam

              December 1, 2013 at 11:28 pm

              Paulette, You really are to kind to me LOL. I don’t believe my health insurance covers ears I break. Smiling your right this has been a ton of fun. Take care, Bill

               
  3. huntmode

    December 1, 2013 at 10:49 pm

    Laughter – loved that Cari kicked your butt! And, her happy dance and tune. Must run in the family, eh?

    Whew, hell of a workout there, Bill. I am impressed. Admittedly, I am more impressed by your tunes. Clearly, we have more in common than previously read.

    To more Thanksgivings!

     
    • FlaHam

      December 1, 2013 at 11:37 pm

      Hunt, I have never seen a child so happy as when she got Yahtzee that 1st time. It was a wonderful experience. And she was so damn cute doing her happy dance. Hunt, don’t be impressed, I haven’t been able to perform at that level in almost a year. Thank God the disease does not effect the mind or one’s ability to type. I love my tunes, there is always a conflict in my car when the wife gets in, she does not share my taste in music. Yes we have dozens of compromise songs that we enjoy, but our music baselines are significantly different. I have taught my Daughter (about blues) and I am working on my Granddaughter. When Cari and I are in the car we listen to the blues channel, when I am alone I listen to Octane, I would share that with Cari, but the lyrics and themes in a lot of the songs are not for an 8 year olds ears. It does appear we have a lot in common. Take care, Bill

       
      • huntmode

        December 2, 2013 at 12:33 am

        Music has a way of sorting itself out….and us!

         
        • FlaHam

          December 2, 2013 at 2:21 am

          Hunt, that is a given, it has always worked out that way. Take care, Bill

           
  4. jmgoyder

    December 2, 2013 at 4:53 am

    How do you manage to be so hilariously inspiring? You have a gift (of the gab – no, I didn’t say that!) Loveya Bill!

     
    • FlaHam

      December 2, 2013 at 8:04 am

      Julie, I am so happy to have you giggling. That makes writing it worthwhile. My sweet friend, reactions such as this truly make me happy. Please take care and have a great day. Bill

       
  5. Wanda

    December 2, 2013 at 5:13 am

    Wow, that’s quite the workout. I’m a wimp–I call it good if I do 3 miles on the treadmill, albeit at a faster speed than yours. If I did everything you did in a single workout, I’d have to call a cab to take me home ‘cuz I don’t think I would have the strength to drive!

     
    • FlaHam

      December 2, 2013 at 8:07 am

      Wanda, It was a great workout and it took me almost 30 weeks to get to that level. But as you know I haven’t worked out this year at all. Seems just when I feel well enough and capable enough I have another set back. Being honest, I know I will never be able to do that again. But in my heart and mind I still do. Take care Bill

       
  6. littlemisswordy

    December 2, 2013 at 6:37 am

    I’m a big fan of Chatter Master too! And, her Shadow people are my favorite. 🙂 Sounds like you had a great holiday. Glad to have come across your blog!

     
    • FlaHam

      December 2, 2013 at 7:56 am

      Littlemisswordy, Sharing being fans of Chatter Master makes us friends already. I am glad you enjoyed my little post about the FEAST, and that lead you to following me. I greatly appreciate it. Hopefully you find other posts your willing to comment on. Please take care — Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

