RSS

My Blog Won’t be available on Facebook

03 Dec

Folks,

Once again I have proved to myself that I am a computer moron.  I have tried several times to figure out how to transmit (I have followed the instructions at wordpress to the anal letter) my Blog to a personal blog page on Facebook ) without it also appearing on my normal Facebook page.  You have seen these failures LOL as my test posts continue to appear on both.

I doubt if this will be of any significant disruption to anyone,  And I will work to resolve the issue.

Take care, Bill

.

 
21 Comments

Posted by on December 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

21 responses to “My Blog Won’t be available on Facebook

  1. Chatter Master

    December 3, 2013 at 6:37 pm

    Bill, you can go to your dashboard. Go to “settings”. Go to “sharing” and add the Facebook button to your sharing options. Then after you write and publish a post you can just hit the Facebook button and it will share to your Facebook. I didn’t even try to have it automatically done. This way if I don’t want a post to go on Facebook, I don’t have to go erase it. I hope you get it figured out.

     
    • FlaHam

      December 3, 2013 at 7:04 pm

      Colleen, I believe I have tried that as well, but I will again. LMAO even doing it manually I couldn’t get it to post to the FB page I manage. I will continue to dance with it to see what can do. I don’t think it is that big a deal if I don’t get it on facebook. Thanks for trying to help but like I said, I am a moron LOL. Take care, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        December 4, 2013 at 5:56 am

        Oh Bill Bill Bill! You are NOT a moron! I know you can do it!

         
        • FlaHam

          December 4, 2013 at 9:16 am

          Colleen, OH YES OH YES OH YES I am LMAO. I feel like Jack Ryan I should’ve just sent a memo LOL LOL. I will either get this fixed or be fitted with a jacket with the sleeves on backwards. Take care, Bill

           
          • Chatter Master

            December 4, 2013 at 7:21 pm

            If the jacket fits I will laugh if you post a picture. 🙂

             
            • FlaHam

              December 4, 2013 at 7:50 pm

              Colleen, Actually I have been fitted for the jacket and it hangs patiently in the closet waiting for me. Take care, Bill

               
              • Chatter Master

                December 5, 2013 at 5:37 am

                Oh…well then, at least you won’t have to sit around waiting on the jacket to get there!

                 
                • HAM1010@aol.com

                  December 5, 2013 at 4:15 pm

                  Colleen, I believe I told you that I have been measured and the jacket is on order. I know if I get thru this (and I know I will) there will be another issue down the road, to which the Jacket maybe the final solution LOL. Take care, Bill

                   
                  • Chatter Master

                    December 5, 2013 at 8:09 pm

                    You might as well just keep the jacket handy. 😉

                     
                  • FlaHam

                    December 5, 2013 at 8:30 pm

                    Colleen Trust me, it is in the closet with the nice plastic protector on it. Just waiting for me! LOL LOL Take care, BIll

                     
  2. Laurel

    December 4, 2013 at 7:23 am

    Did it work yet? Can I help? What’s the link to your FB page? I would like to like or fan it:)

     
    • FlaHam

      December 4, 2013 at 8:33 am

      Laurel, The truth is no it doesn’t work yet, and I will accept any help I can get to make it work. But so far I am striking out big time. It was suggested to me that some folks that read my blog would have better access and offer comments if they didn’t have to have a WordPress account to do so. It was further suggested that there was a simple process to create a second Facebook page. Once completed I could easily and automatically direct my WordPress Posts to the newly created Facebook page. This works, but the problem for me is that when I direct the posts to the newly created FACEBOOK (Dealing with COPD) page, but that also appear on my Facebook Homepage, which I do want to happen. So I continue to fumble around trying to make it work. But until I get it to the where posts go directly and only to my Dealing with COPD page on facebook I will not make it active. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I feel like one of many monkeys in a room with typewriters banging away to type Hamlet.. I hope you have a great day. Take care, Bill

       
      • huntmode

        December 4, 2013 at 4:27 pm

        Bill, I completely understand your frustration. And, while you are being discrete, I’m pretty sure it was me that told you how easy this was to do… Agh!

        I was blessed with having a friend who was very comfortable with Facebook sit next to me and walk me through it. She herself had just started a blog on WordPress and I was able to help her with some of the bells, whistles and damn widgets.

        We both ran into some problems. For instance, all she wanted to do was have her posts truncate, so you could just see at a glance her 5-10 most recent posts with a paragraph each and the “more” or “….” indicating each continued. Here’s the thing: it wouldn’t do it automatically as it does on my site. We couldn’t get it done for anything. WordPress help sector kept saying you did it manually on each post – what a waste of energy. I finally posted a request for assistance on the WP help section, listing both our sites so that the tech people could figure out where we were going wrong. They got back to me and said the problem was her site would not do it automatically based on its design (probably because its free whereas I paid for my theme as part of the upgrade I chose originally). Bottom line, she’ll have to do it manually for every post, no way around it.

        My point being that could be part of the problem you’re running into – except my buddy was able to do it with her free WP blog and FB. Sigh. You might post a request for assistance, describing the problem just as you did above. Mea culpa, Bill. Best ~ HuntMode

         
        • huntmode

          December 4, 2013 at 5:19 pm

          Okay – I’ve called in the calvary! Hear those trumpets? Rara of Rarasaur is a great tech whiz and better yet, very good at instruction. She’s leaving you a message in one place or two – best ~ HuntMode

           
          • FlaHam

            December 4, 2013 at 7:14 pm

            Hunt, The calvary is more than welcome. I am glad this has become a community effort to get resolved. Hell if our government worked this way, we would be in a lot better position. Thank you so much for you support. Take care, Bill

             
        • FlaHam

          December 4, 2013 at 8:23 pm

          Hunt, One thing you need to understand completely, YOU DID NOT cause this issue. I have long wanted to expand my reach when I talk about COPD. I saw an opportunity and leaped into it, you DID NOT influence the decision, so take yourself off the hook. I am now working with your friend, and we will see where it takes me. It’s fun, and I am blessed to have so many wonderful friends that want so much to help. I have folks willing to try on straight jackets with me, how cool is that. I have other that believe they could be dumber than me but they would be wrong LOL LOL. I am retired I have time to screw with this, and I will. Please take care, Bill

           
          • huntmode

            December 5, 2013 at 12:34 am

            I accept. I’m off the hook and have begun to laugh out of empathy and pure pathos….

             
            • HAM1010@aol.com

              December 5, 2013 at 3:58 pm

              Hunt, Good girl LOL LOL and thank you. Take care, Bill

               
  3. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    December 4, 2013 at 5:18 pm

    Trust me, we’re in the same class. I can’t even figure out how to do a widget. Someone sent me a video and that only confused me more. Bill, you’re not alone but I’m afraid this isn’t much help to you, lol. 😉

     
    • FlaHam

      December 4, 2013 at 7:15 pm

      Paulette, I promise to share any solutions that comes from this effort. LMBO, I don’t need classmates in the dunce class. Your fine being a spectator LOL. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

