RSS

How I Feel Today 12.06.13

06 Dec

Folks, this is going to be an exceptional short post today.  I am rating the week a solid 3, if picky I could push to a 3.1 but, I am still adjusting to my new normal, so I figure 3 is damn good.

 

I had a brief appt with Doc Lungs on Monday to have my INR checked.  It was 3.1 for the 2nd consecutive measurement.  While borderline high, it is not enough to be concerned with, though a slight change in dosage should resolve this.

 

Also this week my Mediport out-patient surgery has been scheduled for 7:30 am on the morning of December 20, 2013.  The procedure is simple, I will not be put to sleep or down a local and a mild sedative to chill me ever so slightly.  The only real issue to this is that I have to be there at 5:30am. In preparation for this procedure I will be off blood thinners in total for 5 days prior to surgery.  This 5 day period will start on December 15.

 

Last week I told you I had the stitches removed but I didn’t share that my total time at the Dermatologist office was 15 minutes; I was in fact off by 2 minutes.  I did have to go back though and have some spots frozen, and that took an additional 15 minutes.  No further visits to the Dermatologist until June 2014.

 

The only upcoming Dr. appt. I have is with Doc Heart (on Friday the 13th, isn’t that special). This is my routine semi-annual visit. And the only thing I know he will call me on is some weight gain.

 

Vitals for the week, well seeing how they haven’t been taken I will report that O2 levels have varied from 84 pct (I had been working in the garage without being smart) to a normal range of 94-96 sitting on my butt and typing.  Heart rate has been 102-110 range most of the week.  The weight has been consistent at 274, which is okay because at least I am not gaining.

 

Folks, that would be the 1st report for the month of December.  Christmas will be here before you even know it.  Over these next few weeks you are going to find joys in both small and big ways, but you’re also going to find people who will get on your last nerve.  Be extra patient and remember the all the reasons we celebrate Christmas.

 

As always your comments are welcome, and I look forward to them. The link to Facebook is still in process, and I once again want to thank everyone that has stepped up to help.  Without your help the idea might be in the trash can.  Please take care, Bill

 
29 Comments

Posted by on December 6, 2013 in How I feel on a particular day

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

29 responses to “How I Feel Today 12.06.13

  1. Marlyn

    December 6, 2013 at 4:49 pm

    You have been officially stalked. An at length email will arrive tomorrow ( Saturday). I’m so glad it was 3….better than the 2.5 you expected to be the new normal:) That’s happy making!

     
  2. Chatter Master

    December 6, 2013 at 4:49 pm

    Good to hear you had a solid 3 week Bill. I bet those test posts helped keep your oxygen levels a little low with all of the energy expended on cussing. Hahahahahahahahahahaa! 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      December 6, 2013 at 7:29 pm

      Colleen, We got a new Christmas wreath today, and I put it together, LMBO that was a show. Now the wife will decorate and the front of the house is done. BTW cussing and trying to breath at the same time is not for the faint of heart LOL. I hope you have a wonderful weekend. Take care, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        December 7, 2013 at 3:57 pm

        I can imagine the cussing and breathing is risky! 😉

        Glad you got your wreath done. I’ve never got enough done it seems. I just keep making more for myself to do!

         
        • FlaHam

          December 7, 2013 at 4:09 pm

          Colleen, It is a hell of a note when you have to stop one to do the other LOL LOL LOL. Take care, Bill

           
  3. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    December 6, 2013 at 4:51 pm

    All that test test test testing has been good for you, see you’re up to almost 3.1. Woo Hoo!! Take care and holding good thoughts for your Dec. 20. Happy weekend. xoxo

     
    • FlaHam

      December 6, 2013 at 7:26 pm

      Paulette, Yes I like being the crash test dummy LOL LOL. Soft smile, 3.1 comes with realization, it is truly amazing how the mind absorbs and makes accommodations, to the needs of the body. Take care, Bill

       
  4. Brenda

    December 6, 2013 at 5:05 pm

    So glad your news is not very bad! 5:30 am!! That’s early. At least you don’t have to take 3 kids with you. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      December 6, 2013 at 7:23 pm

      Brenda, Lord thank you, that I don’t ! ! Laughing ! ! It would make a crazy day crazier. LOL Take care and thanks, Bill

       
      • Brenda

        December 6, 2013 at 9:04 pm

        I’m glad you took that the right way. Humor is always risky, but I’m afraid that was my first reaction. My husband has to be at the middle school tomorrow with our two boys at 6:30 am, dressed and packed up for a robotics tournament. He’s nuts, but in a good way. LOL

         
        • FlaHam

          December 6, 2013 at 10:25 pm

          Brenda, I have a very thick skin for the most part, and you really need to work real hard to offend me (I was Navy for 9 yrs). Ninety percent of everything I write has more than a touch of humor, some of it is dark but humor just the same. I enjoy the exchanges as much as I enjoy writing a post. Please take care, Bill

           
          • Brenda

            December 6, 2013 at 10:27 pm

            Good to know for next time the imp bites. My dad was in the Navy 30 years. He has a great laugh that starts at his toes and explodes outward. Laughing is fun, fun, fun!!

             
            • FlaHam

              December 7, 2013 at 11:21 am

              Brenda, there is no doubt that laughter is good for the soul. Take care and have a pleasant weekend. — Bill

               
              • Brenda

                December 7, 2013 at 3:21 pm

                Thanks and you, too. Brenda

                 
  5. huntmode

    December 6, 2013 at 7:07 pm

    “Mayhap you thrive on frustrating challenges, such as creating a well-working Facebook page, Ham,” She said mischieviously.

    Pleased to hear you had a 3 week, my friend. Did you get the Vitamin D checked? (ducking, as I ask) Best ~ HuntMode

     
    • FlaHam

      December 6, 2013 at 7:38 pm

      Hunt, Duck Duck Goose, no I haven’t had my Vitamin D checked because I haven’t seen a Doctor to draw blood, and send it off to the lab, and this and that, and perform magic on my blood. I do believe it would be a fair assessment of me to say that I do in fact thrive on on challenges, frustrating or not. I think I have a work around, if fall else fails, but I got some really smart folks trying to help, and I think this is going to be a successful endeavor. Take care, Bill

       
  6. huntmode

    December 6, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    May it be so! Best ~ HuntMode

     
  7. Clanmother

    December 6, 2013 at 10:14 pm

    Enjoying your posts! Congratulations on a 3!!! Not certain what the scale is yet – but if you are happy, so am I! Take care…

     
    • FlaHam

      December 6, 2013 at 10:22 pm

      Clan, I have a 1 – 5 scale (1 = death sucking on a life saver, and 5 being top of the world and I can play golf), to quantify how I feel for the week ending with the date of the post. I kinda rate the week, giving ups and downs, with a touch of humor. I do it as for a variety of reasons, and it seems to help some folks. Take care, Bill

       
      • Clanmother

        December 6, 2013 at 10:26 pm

        Thanks Bill! I can see that it would help other understand – it helped me.

         
        • FlaHam

          December 6, 2013 at 10:32 pm

          Clan, You should also know that as my condition changes I make modifications to my scale, always looking for ways to make it positive. Take care, Bill

           
  8. kate1975

    December 7, 2013 at 10:22 pm

    Hi,

    I found your blog by a comment you made to another blog I had surfed onto. Living under so much stuff doesn’t stop your light from shining through. It has been a pleasure to meet you and to read a little bit of your writing, which makes me certain of the sort of person you are, self-effacing, upbeat, funny, and kind and tough all at the same time. Good to meet you.

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

     
    • FlaHam

      December 7, 2013 at 10:57 pm

      Kate, Trust me the pleasure is mine. I am so happy you have stumbled across my blog, and I am very happy that you find it interesting enough to follow. If you ever have any questions, please feel free to ask. As you probably tell by some of my posts, I have turned my fight against COPD into a public battle. Hopefully helping others that have respiratory as issues deal with it just a touch better. Again thank you. Please take care, Bill

       
      • kate1975

        December 8, 2013 at 1:52 am

        Hi Bill,

        I think I perceive that we are kindred spirits because I too have used my own personal health and mental health battles into an effort to reach out to others. I admire that in you so much.

        Good and healing thoughts to you.

        Kate

         
        • FlaHam

          December 8, 2013 at 7:10 am

          Kate, We make well be. We each have our own battles, and our own need to support others in similar situations. So yes my dear, we join forces thru our spirits. Please take care, Bill

           
  9. rebecca2000

    December 8, 2013 at 11:42 pm

    Awww honey, you worry me. I want you to feel better. I wish I could give you a hug. You’re in my thoughts and prayers.

     
    • FlaHam

      December 9, 2013 at 12:35 am

      Becca, Hello sweetness, no time no see, it’s been weeks since I last saw a post of your. So good to see you writing again. What have I don’t my dear that causes you to worry. Your presence makes me feel better, I would enjoy a hug, I just don’t want to be slapped in the middle of it LOL . All kidding aside, that you for you continued sweet concern. Please take care, Bill

       
  10. DeeDee Granata

    December 11, 2013 at 2:26 am

    Just thought I’d stop by and say hi. Good luck with the surgery. I know you’ll let us know how it goes. I’m still getting stuck in the arm. The nurse is much better at getting the vein than my husband was. Hugs to my buddy. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      December 11, 2013 at 6:42 am

      DeeDee, I have missed you. Are you doing okay, I hope all is well. Is hubby trying to give them to you anymore. Or has he delegated that responsibility to the nurse? I will keep you informed on how this works out for me. Maybe it is something your health care provider would consider for you. Have I missed a post of yours, if so please tell me. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

