RSS

It’s about letting things go…

18 Dec

Just letting go is a wonderful lesson for all of us. Enjoy it and learn from it as I did. Take care, Bill

Culture Monk

its about letting things go

by Kenneth Justice

~Yesterday at a coffee an older single friend asked me, “Are there any relationships out there that really work? It seems like every time I observe a married couple or two people who have been dating for a while….nobody seems really all that happy” he said

Perhaps part of the problem is that a lot of people in Western Culture are generally miserable as a matter of fact; life didn’t turn out the way they wanted so many men and women simply aren’t too cheerful when it comes to their relationship.

However, years ago I asked one of my dearest morning-coffee friend’s (who died at the age of 85 in 2012) “What’s the secret to your marriage? You and your wife have been married for nearly fifty years!” I asked.

He took a sip of coffee and he answered in once sentence, “Well…

View original post 649 more words

 
7 Comments

Posted by on December 18, 2013 in Grandpa Stories, Observations, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “It’s about letting things go…

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    December 18, 2013 at 1:36 pm

    Good one, Bill. I just stopped by and commented. This is one of the most helpful things I think I’ve ever pondered in my intimate and close relationships. I enjoyed this read immensely. Hugs, P

     
    • FlaHam

      December 18, 2013 at 3:03 pm

      Paulette, I know as I read it I kept going WOW, and isn’t that the truth. I stumbled upon this via someone, liking one of my recent posts. It is so amazing what you can find. Take care, BIll

       
  2. huntmode

    December 18, 2013 at 7:03 pm

    Thanks for linking to this, Bill. I was nodding while reading it. For me, if I had had the skillset of letting go, particularly right after we got married, when I took everything so seriously, it would have been more helpful (tempted to put that in caps…). My sister gave me an eraser and said, “Use it.”

     
    • FlaHam

      December 18, 2013 at 9:52 pm

      Hunt, Letting go is difficult for me, I have worked at it for years and years, and still find it extremely difficult. I read this, and it struck so so close to home in many ways. I don’t know if I will change enough, but maybe this will take away some of the edge.

      It was a great link and needed to be shared at the widest level. Take care, Bill

       
  3. Wanda

    December 22, 2013 at 3:07 pm

    I’m surprised this writer thinks so many people are unhappy in their relationships–or maybe I’m lucky (again) that most of my family and friends are in long-term, committed, and apparently happy relationships. To me it’s less about letting go than it is having enough respect for the person you love that you can tolerate his/her idiosyncrasies at the same time those characteristics make you totally crazy.

     
    • FlaHam

      December 22, 2013 at 7:17 pm

      Wanda, I had a slightly different take in my understanding of the message. I felt he was referring to the little things that blossom into big things which further blossom into the end of a relationship type things. I feel, he said if you let go of those little irritants, they never get a chance to blossom. I didn’t see it as a respect issue. Or maybe we have the same view from different directions and different words. Soft smile, I know Steph has had to “let go” of some of the many ways I irritate her LOL, and me of her. Those idiosyncrasies you speak of, lord knows I am full of those. I think there is still a good conversation in here someplace. Take care, Be safe, Merry Christmas. Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

Life and scribbles on the far side of SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

