RSS

It’s All about Thank You

18 Dec

A few days ago I was given this lovely Blue Ribbon Blue-Ribbon-small                      and after taking way too long to thank the individual that gave me the ribbon, I finally sent a thank you to the individual, in which I spoke of how undeserving I was of such a reward, and how I down played it.  But, I took that same blue ribbon and passed it on to several specific individuals, again downplaying my worthiness for such a ribbon while spending a significant amount of time saying why these individuals deserved it so much more than I. 

 

So far numerous comments have been made on this post and all of them have been very positive and extremely supportive, and to a one, spoke to my worthiness for such a blue ribbon. I have wonderful friends online (many of whom are also offline friends), I know some very creative people, and have encountered a wide variety of styles of communicating. And I appreciate each for what they offer, and how they offer it. Each individual offered grateful thanks for me passing such a ribbon on to them. These comments and the gratefulness of the thanks I got, made me realize what an ass I had been.  

 

The fact that a single individual thought enough of me, of my writing, of my need to get the word out about COPD, of my being as supportive as possible to those who suffer as I do, and of my Blog, to give me a blue ribbon made me worthy of the ribbon.  I should have been grateful and gracious at that very moment.  I should have been thankful that someone actually reads my blog, and takes the time to comment. The fact that I poo pooed the idea, made me wrong, and taught me a lesson.  A lesson I am not likely to forget. Be thankful for the praise (spelled it right this time) you get, and understand that is given freely and from the heart.  I have about 200 folks that follow my Blog, they follow me for a reason that is important to them, by poo pooing the blue ribbon I was being disrespectful to those that follow my blog, when in fact I am so grateful to have a forum from which to speak. And have people who follow what I say, and appreciate me for saying it.

 

I would like to take a moment and properly thank Huntmode.  Huntmode was kind enough to give me the blue ribbon in the 1st place, to place a personal value on my Blog, and to give me credit for it.  THANK YOU Huntmode, I really appreciate the praise and shout out you sent my way. It is folks like you, and all my other followers, that make my Blog worthwhile.  Again thank you! Take care, Bill

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 18, 2013 in Grandpa Stories, Observations, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “It’s All about Thank You

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    December 18, 2013 at 1:42 pm

    Way to go Huntmode and Bill! What a great friendship you’ve stuck up. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      December 18, 2013 at 2:58 pm

      Paulette, I have been very fortunate. I have made several good friends as a result of blogging, and I hope to continue to do so. Hunt is a superb blogger and very imaginative. I have really enjoyed her posts. Thankfully I made her a promise that I know I can keep. Thank God she hadn’t been writing for years though LOL. As you know friendship starts with “likes” and “comments” and it did here as well. Take care, be safe, Bill

       
      • huntmode

        December 18, 2013 at 7:24 pm

        “Oh, but I have been writing for years, Bill.” She sang out mischievously…

         
  2. Chatter Master

    December 18, 2013 at 5:01 pm

    I never thought you were being anything but humble BIll. I’m glad, though, that you recognize your value among us. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      December 18, 2013 at 6:25 pm

      Colleen, Thank you. I am really going to have to work on my self appreciation. Because I was going to start this off this response by downplaying myself. The most amazing thing I learned is that all it really takes for your blog to be worthwhile, is that single individual getting something from it, they don’t even have to say anything. I have totally missed that. You, Paulette, Julie have been telling me for almost a year that I matter, it never really sunk it. Then I realized I had almost 200 following, so my message must be getting out. I am forever grateful to you and all the other folks that chose to follow. Thank you, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        December 18, 2013 at 8:56 pm

        That’s right Bill. One. It just takes one. Who knows how many of us have read a comment, or another blog, and it’s changed our day, and that effects someone else. The ripple effect.

        And you are making strides at self appreciation. Look at that, I’m glad to see it.

        You are amazing. 🙂

         
    • FlaHam

      December 18, 2013 at 9:56 pm

      Colleen, Thank you, I read the works of you, and Hunt, even Julie, and a couple others I follow, and find a level of elegance I will never have. You’ll have a style and grace that flows from your words, that I don’t have. But I am realizing it doesn’t matter, I may have something that you’ll don’t, and what I have is something that you’ll appreciate as much as I appreciate you. That’s part of the learning curve, at least I don’t feel like a curve buster anymore LOL LOL. Take care, Bill

       
  3. huntmode

    December 18, 2013 at 7:20 pm

    I am with Colleen, Bill. You are the genuine article and it comes thru in all your writings. In my family, we were taught that that was the right response to a compliment, exactly what you wrote the first time around. We were taught to never toot our own horn – that “just wasn’t done.”

    Just as I was prepared to take up arms in your defense, I read “…Be thankful for the praise (spelled it right this time) you get, …” and burst out laughing.

    So glad to hear you’ve got 201 followers, Bill!

     
    • FlaHam

      December 18, 2013 at 9:46 pm

      Hunt, Yes, that is correct, I am old school, I have very rarely taken credit for my good works. When I worked, any public credit I was given, I passed along to those on my staff, because I couldn’t have accomplished it without their effort. But I will be honest and say anytime I had a one on one evaluation with my boss, if my efforts and good works went unrecognized I was greatly put off. Hunt, praise was special for you LOL LOL. Thank you for your kind words and phrase LOL. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

