RSS

How I Feel Today 12.19.13….

19 Dec

Good morning folks, Only 6 more days until Santa comes to visit I hope you have been good little boys and girls, because Santa does know.  I am doing well today, and for the week I am going to give it another 3.5 week, I am still riding the efforts of my granddaughter.  We had given her some new bed linen (stuff only a little girl could love) and she did love it.  She called on Tuesday to thank grandma and grandpa.  All those years of teaching her mother manners has paid off very well. Cari is extremely polite, for which I am very proud of her.  So the combination of Cari, and just plain old feeling decent I will give the week a 3.5.  I have no pressing health issues currently, no bugs, no colds, no anything, knocking on wood, granite, tin, steel, whatever I can find to not jinx it.

 

A review of the week is quite simple. I had a vascular access port implantation on Tuesday 12/17/13. The procedure was simple from my point of view, but the hospital staff made it emotionally more difficult than it needed to be.  Pre-op preparation included coming off all blood thinner 5 days to surgery, because I have MRSA inhabiting my lungs and nasal passageway I had to swab my nose 3 times a day up to and thru surgery day.  In addition I had to complete 3 skin cleansings prior to surgery.  Apparently using a bar of soap and a washcloth just doesn’t do the trick.  So 3 days prior to surgery I had to use a 4% chlorhexidine antiseptic soap, in addition to my normal shower routine.  Again, no big deal just a minor PIA.  

 

We were asked to come to the hospital at 11am for a 1pm scheduled surgery.  The day before (12/16/13) we were called to come in even earlier because most likely my surgery was going to happen ahead of schedule.  We showed up as requested, and were rapidly moved into the surgical unit were I was prepped for surgery.  Vitals at the time of surgery were BP 125/68, O2 98% (they had me on 3 lpm) heart rate 103, and weight to friggin much (283), Then I was told they would be there shortly to brief me on the surgery and then wheel me into surgery.  Total time at the hospital 20 minutes, it was now 10:40am.  We did not see a soul nor did anyone talk to us for the next 90 minutes. Finally after waiting those 90 minutes I hit the call button, a nurse showed up (bringing her attitude with her) and told us that sometimes surgery takes longer than expected but I was next so just be patient.  She put her nose in the air and walked away. After sitting for another hour, I once again called for an update, and another nurse with a crappy attitude showed up and listened to me rant for a minute and left “saying she would get the unit manager,”  My wife who is a lovely lady has just about zero patience, and has even less of a tolerance for B S than I do (and I don’t tolerate it well at all).  She was fuming and getting ready to unsurgerically remove someone ass LOL.  She turned to me as said “Honey the nurse said she would get the unit Mgr in to advise us.”  I had to tell Steph that getting unit Mgr in was nurse speak for just blowing us off.  Which put Steph on a different plane.  But 10 minutes later my doctor came by and advised us that there had been some difficulty with the prior patient, and it could take 30 or 45 minutes to get that patient stabilized and then it would be my turn. Time now 2:15pm.

Mediport Pic 1

At approximately 2:50pm the surgical nurse and the joy juice Doc came to get me.  We had a very strong conversation that she was not going to put me to sleep. Apparently she came into this thinking she would.  But after a few minutes discussion, she realized I was to be given a strong local, and just enough joy juice to keep me calm during the procedure. At 2:59pm I was on the operating table and they soon started my procedure, I was talked to almost continually during the operation. I felt no pain, I felt a little tugging when I was being stitched up (only 4 stitches), and by 4:00pm I was back in recovery alert, sitting up, and drinking apple juice. At 5pm we were in the car headed home, and by 6:30 dinner was served, I even helped clean up after dinner. 

 

Wednesday am I drove myself over for my monthly IVIG treatment.  They were tickled to death having the Mediport, and it was put to the test immediately.  There wasn’t a single hitch.  One tiny stick is all it takes, and within minutes the infusion begins.  Very very convenient.

 

I have only 1 doctor appt next week, and that is a follow with the Doctor that installed the Mediport. I will be seeing Doc Lung on the 30th for an INR checkup, and won’t be seeing Doc Head until January.

 

Well folks that about wraps up this week’s How I Feel, and I will be posting it a day early surprise surprise.  It has been a good week on many levels, and I have learned things, and that is always good. 

 

New week is Christmas, and I would like to take a moment to wish each of you a very Merry Christmas.  I truly hope the holidays bring you nothing but joy and happiness, as you have brought to me this past year.   

 

Thank you for your continued good thoughts, and as always your comments welcomed are encouraged – Please take care, Bill

 
18 Comments

Posted by on December 19, 2013 in How I feel on a particular day

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

18 responses to “How I Feel Today 12.19.13….

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    December 19, 2013 at 10:20 pm

    3.5 Hooray! Love love love your new photo, Santa Bill. xoxox

     
    • FlaHam

      December 19, 2013 at 11:38 pm

      Paulette, Smiling gotta get into the spirit. It is a good look for me LOL. Take care, Bill xoxoxo

       
    • FlaHam

      December 20, 2013 at 10:22 am

      Paulette, Thank you my sweet score keeper LOL LOL. The Photo turned out to be a big hit LOL. Merry Christmas to you and Terry. Take care, Bill

       
      • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

        December 20, 2013 at 11:07 am

        I came back to see the photo again. To start my day with a smile and boy am I smiling. Happy weekend my good friend. 🙂

         
        • FlaHam

          December 20, 2013 at 11:09 am

          Paulette, You tickle me to know end, I am glad such a silly photo can give you so much pleasure. Take care, Bill

           
          • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

            December 20, 2013 at 11:21 am

            It’s the photo + your wonderful cheerful endearing self, my friend. Without you behind that photo, hey it’s just a nudder ole cheery loveable run of the mill Santa, lol. 😉 Too bad we don’t live closer, we’d be talking about this photo over a cuppa and laughing ourselves silly. Hugs and all good things to you, Stephanie, and your daughter and granddaughter.

             
            • FlaHam

              December 20, 2013 at 1:22 pm

              Paulette, Thank you my sweet lady. Believe it or not, that is the 1st time I have ever had my picture taken with a Santa Hat. The white beard makes it work. LOL Take care, and Merry Christmas to you and Terry. — Bill

               
  2. writetowag

    December 20, 2013 at 12:47 am

    Good evening dear Bill, I LOVE knowing your grand baby called to say Thank You!!!! She sure has a good momma…Wish more people in this world knew what manners were and the power that thoughtful, kind words can give…What a day at the hospital you had 😦 And so impressed you helped clean up following dinner, that’s something to celebrate!!!! I had back surgery several years ago (which was unsuccessful) and docs and hospitals scare me to the core now…Yes, I’m still smart and brave enough to go for my check ups, but it is a challenge…I know about the waiting…I’m very thankful your week was a 3.5, may each week progress smoother and easier than the next…Trev and I wish you and yours a very Merry Christmas as well…BIG hugs, health and healing always…LOVE your profile pic Santa Bill!!!’

     
    • FlaHam

      December 20, 2013 at 10:21 am

      Trevbear, Thank you for such a lovely comment. I am extremely proud of Cari, and her mom (my daughter) LOL. I am quite helpful around a sink and a grill, or a frying pan. Beyond that my kitchen skill leave a lot to be desired. If you do it immediately after eating it doesn’t take but a few minutes, and I have been known to hover cleaning as she cooks. My heart goes out to you. I had back issues what seems like a million years ago. I never needed surgery and knock on wood my back is not an issue. I can understand your apprehension concerning hospitals, but I have had several visits these last few years I am over it. But it is good that you maintain your relationship with the doctors and see them as needed and for checkups. Having back to back 3.5 weeks really is a treat. I cherish them, and I strive for them. Again thank you for the wonderful comments, and I would extend to you and Trev a Very Merry Christmas filled with joy. Please take care, Bill

       
  3. Chatter Master

    December 20, 2013 at 5:42 am

    Bill what a great post. Other than the ALWAYS late running medical procedure. We have NEVER had one go on time, as scheduled. Though we haven’t had the crappy attitudes. Our delayed ones were always met with professional, and often apologetic, staff. So we’ve been lucky on that end. Your granddaughter sounds perfectly lovely. Just as grandchildren should 😉 .

    Merry Christmas you Santa Elf! I’m so glad you are using that picture!!!!!!! It makes me VERY happy! 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      December 20, 2013 at 10:12 am

      Colleen, Smiling, I regret that I implied that I thought the surgery was going to be on time, LOL as you stated that just never happens, my prime bitch was the total lack of communications and the genuine crappy attitude of the 2 nurses I asked for status. And yet I can immediately smile because we are now talking about my granddaughter and what a sweet child she can be LOL. I love her with all of my soul, but she is still a little person, and sometimes gets an attitude of her own. I can say without question she is extremely polite and graceful in the acceptance of gifts. Her mom taught her well, and my wife and I taught our daughter well. Smiling, that is a cute picture LOL. And as I live and breathe I do look like him LOL. Take care, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        December 20, 2013 at 3:51 pm

        Oh no, I didn’t mean to imply that you implied the surgery would be on time. 🙂 David and I remind one another when ever we have one of these starve yourself before the procedure that without fail it will be later than we are told.

        And I know what you mean about the crappy attitude. None of us wants to be dealing with unprofessional people in any of our dealings. There’s no call for it.

        BUT, on the upside of all of this…. is you DO indeed have Cari. 🙂

         
        • FlaHam

          December 20, 2013 at 4:02 pm

          Colleen, Oh, I just love the back and forth we have over some issues and posts, and you are so correct I am so so fortunate not only do I have Cari, I have the likes of you and Paulette, and Hunts, and Julie, and Kate, and Brenda, and Rebecca, and Rosey, and oh Lord the list is endless. Your each little stars on my Christmas Tree. Thank you. Take care, Bill

           
          • Chatter Master

            December 21, 2013 at 8:17 am

            Aw! I love that vision, we are stars on your Christmas tree. Kind of nice to think we could all holler greetings to one another while dangling from your tree. 🙂 Hahahahaha, it would be a noisy tree!

             
            • FlaHam

              December 21, 2013 at 12:11 pm

              Colleen, Lord, I never even though of the bunch of you gabbing away on my tree, why I even considered it would be a quite affair is beyond me. But then that would really just add to the fun. I might have to treat it like a parrot cage, and throw a blanket over it to quiet you all down. Smiling, I really love the thought though. Take care, Bill

               
              • Chatter Master

                December 22, 2013 at 8:44 am

                Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha! Great visual!

                 
  4. huntmode

    December 20, 2013 at 9:58 pm

    Hunts here, Bill! Glad to read such a fine medical update and boos to the crappy attitude of the nurses. Like Colleen, I have been blessed – it was the doctors I had a wee bit of an attitude challenge… 3.5 x 2 = Yay, Yay, and Yay! again. Glad to hear that Cari is not perfect as then I’d have to suspect tall tales in the telling. That said, what a charmer she sounds, as does her mother. I suspect I’m more like your Steph in waiting though….

     
    • FlaHam

      December 20, 2013 at 11:23 pm

      Hunt, Oh I have been blessed as well, just so happens that Tuesday was my turn in the barrel. For an 8 year old Cari is pretty close, but she is an only child, with a Mom that was an only child, who’s father and grandpa, both try to give her, her every wish. LMAO she is indeed a charmer, and without question my daughter still has me wrapped around her pinky. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

