RSS

A Healing Quote

21 Dec

Sometimes when you’re out of thoughts you get inspiration from unexpected places.  I have been floundering about trying to think of a good topic for my next post.  I was visiting Kate is Rising at http://kate1975.wordpress.com/ and came upon Healing Quotes Teens 242.

“Give yourself up to the moment. Dare to see it. Now look down at your feet; slip out of those invisible tethers. Then ask: Where would you take yourself right this moment if you walked toward your most heartfelt dream? What would your life look like? What would your body look and feel like? What level of energy would you have? What might be your favorite activity? What would your daily life include? Imagine happiness — the sweet glow of inner contentment, the way it tastes and smells and feels”  — Chris Downie 

I found my inspiration in this quote. Many of you know I have COPD, for those of you that don’t, it is a terminal disease, and it takes its sweet friggin but not joyful time.  There is no cure, and all you really can ask for is endurance, a sense of humor and a strong will.  I believe I have these attributes.  But I also dream, many of my dreams center around a cure being discovered that gives you back your lungs, and cure happens during my lifetime, and the cure isn’t worse than the disease.  Then I live to a ripe old age and die in my sleep or ______ (you fill in the blank).

When I read this quote it really was an extension of my dream, it made me stretch my thoughts and fill in many blanks my dream always leaves behind. So in keeping with the quote, I am going to try to use this forum to fill in those blanks, to make my dream more complete.

I have slipped off those invisible tethers and have asked myself: Where would you take yourself right this moment if you walked toward your most heartfelt dream?  This is probably the simplest aspect of the dream to fill in.  All things being equal right here in this house, in this neighborhood, with all my current friends, and because this is a dream, I would also have Mike back.

 

What would my life look like?  The view would be fantastic.  I would be as healthy as any 64-year-old guy who exercised on a regular basis and had quit smoking 20+ years ago. I would be recently retired, but fully engaged doing things I had thought about during my career such as Habitat for Humanity, or other volunteer work. I would have endless time to watch my granddaughter grow up and become successful.  I would watch my daughter and son-in-law achieve their goals, both professionally and at their church.  I would have the perfect vantage spot to see my wife complete her career and move on to the things she wants to do in retirement.  Maybe I would find myself as an active member of the church. Also included in this perfect dream world would be time to travel. To go to all the places I haven’t been, and to visit some places for a 2nd or 3rd time. 

  

What would your body look and feel like? I would be a trimmed down version of myself, wearing slacks with a 40 inch waist rather than the 48+ (depending on the manufacturer). I would have one chin instead of two, and my desk draw wouldn’t have a ton of medicines in it. My hair and beard would still be my trademarks, and I would still have the scars from my knee replacement surgery.  But I wouldn’t have the scars from my heart surgery, because in this dream those problems never happened.  Overall I would be in better shape because in the dream world I would have taken better care of myself.  Sure I would still be 5’9” (on a good day), I would still have a ton of freckles, I wouldn’t be ripped but I wouldn’t mirror the Pillsbury Doughboy either.  Overall I would feel great both mentally and physically.

 

What level of energy would you have?  I don’t know how to define this other than to say I would have more than enough energy to live my life to the fullest, without having to short sheet other activities.  Of course I wouldn’t have the energy of a 20-year-old, but maybe at the level I had when I was 40.  I sure as the devil wouldn’t have these respiratory problems. 

 

Smiling, what might be your favorite activity? This is a no brainer; I would still be playing golf, most likely at least 2 times a week. I would also still be bowling in the Tuesday Night Mixed league that I have participated in for the last 10 year. When I wasn’t doing volunteer work, my days would be spent reading and working on my blog. And I would always have time for that other activity, which is probably more strenuous than golf LOL.  Notice yard and pool maintenance are not among these activities for a reason LOL LOL; they aren’t on my list of activities now, why would I burden myself with them in this dream.

 

What would your daily life include? Most importantly time would always be available for my granddaughter. But in this perfect dream world my day would start with a round of golf, with friends or someone I just met at the course.  It would also include time for my blog and reading, and yes even my chores. Even in a perfect world I would still have chores. On the days I chose not to play golf, I would do volunteer work, at Habitat for Humanity, or some other needy organization. 

 

Imagine happiness — the sweet glow of inner contentment, the way it tastes and smells and feels” Not so surprisingly it is easy to imagine what you don’t have, but I am happy, even being ill I feel a level of contentment. Fortunately for me I have had a good life. I have been graced with a wonderful daughter and granddaughter, and I have great wife. I have friends and friends and more friends, again being graced. I have been successful beyond my wildest dreams, both personality and professionally.  If I had to put a smell to my life I would choose honeysuckle, it would taste like richly buttered and salted popcorn, and it would feel like the finest linen imaginable.  Without the dream, I am still happy, sure I could do without the disease, but even that has provided hidden value. Again I have been graced with a wonderful life. I have made tons of mistakes, and have had more than my share of lucky breaks.  In reflection I don’t know how it would be otherwise.  I know the outcome of the first 64 years, I don’t know what the outcome would really be in my dream world, and while I have a vivid imagination it isn’t quite that good.

This has been pleasurable, creating this post.  It caused reflection, and forced me to think without being ill as part of the process.  I hope it gives you food for thought, and I hope you look at the quote as I did, and let your imagination run wild.

Thank you for taking the time to follow along with me as I dream.  If you have any questions, thoughts or comments please feel free to ask.  Take care, and Merry Christmas, Bill.

 
28 Comments

Posted by on December 21, 2013 in Grandpa Stories, Humor, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

28 responses to “A Healing Quote

  1. Brenda

    December 22, 2013 at 12:30 am

    I wish your dreams did come true, too. Even if they don’t, just being able to dream is a good thing. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      December 22, 2013 at 7:16 am

      Brenda, Soft smile, I have no expectations of them coming true, but the “Healing Quote” gave me an excuse to write about them, and to share them. Thank you for your lovely thoughts, please take care, Bill — Merry Christmas —

       
      • Brenda

        December 22, 2013 at 7:47 am

        Merry Christmas, my friend. I’m going to head out into the gray morning for a walk soon. 🙂 Brenda

         
        • FlaHam

          December 22, 2013 at 8:51 am

          Brenda, Take care and enjoy your walk. Merry Christmas — Bill

           
  2. kate1975

    December 22, 2013 at 2:26 am

    Hi Bill,

    I love your dream and I would love for you to be able to inhabit your dream in the near future. What a wonderful man you are and what a gift you are to the world. I too hope for a cure for you and all those with COPD.

    Your post made me laugh and it made me cry. It is a rare individual who can do that for others. Give of themselves so purely and so wholly. What an honor it is to know you and to become friends.

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

     
    • FlaHam

      December 22, 2013 at 9:04 am

      Kate, Soft smile, thank you for your thoughts, your words, and your inspiration. Without that inspiration my post would not have climbed out of my fingers. Dreams are dreams, and sadly reality is reality. Writing this post gave me joy, and allowed me a moment to not be sick. It is truly amazing to me what friendships can be developed from just words, how touching those words can be, and the very reach of the words we have to share. Each day I say a little prayer for those who are ill, hoping they find a cure, or at least peace of mind. I have found my peace of mind. Again thank you for your kind and sweet words. Please take care, and Merry Christmas to you and yours. Be safe — Bill

       
  3. Clanmother

    December 22, 2013 at 2:40 am

    You have given me the best Christmas gift – the joy of living in the moment with hope and expectation. All the very, very best of the holiday season to you and yours… Merry Christmas!

     
    • FlaHam

      December 22, 2013 at 8:57 am

      Clan Mom — Thank you for your kind words, I give it freely, without expectation. Kate gave it to me when she provided a quote that inspired this post. Clan, I have truly enjoyed our growing friendship, you are a fine person and friend. I hope that you and yours have a Very Merry Christmas. Please take care, and be safe. — Bill

       
      • Clanmother

        December 22, 2013 at 8:10 pm

        Hugs coming across the wires! All the very best to you and yours! Blogging 2014 is waiting for us….

         
        • FlaHam

          December 22, 2013 at 9:32 pm

          Thank you Clan Mom !!! Take care

           
  4. jmgoyder

    December 22, 2013 at 7:40 am

    You, Bill, are an absolute inspiration to us all! Juliex

     
    • FlaHam

      December 22, 2013 at 8:53 am

      Julie, For over the year I have known you, we have both found ways to inspire each other. The burden you carry is no less than mine, and in many ways probably more than mine. Our friendship has helped each of us with the load we carry. And I wouldn’t have it any other way. Merry Christmas, take care, Love Bill

       
  5. DeeDee Granata

    December 22, 2013 at 8:03 am

    I really like this post. I really like all your posts.

     
    • FlaHam

      December 22, 2013 at 8:50 am

      DeeDee, Thank you, it is important to me that you enjoy the things I post. I know we both deal with our illness without self-pity and as much pride as we can muster. This allowed me to what if. Again thank you, and Merry Christmas, Bill

       
  6. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    December 22, 2013 at 11:28 am

    Beautifully inspirational, my friend.

     
    • FlaHam

      December 22, 2013 at 2:51 pm

      Paulette, Thank you. Take care, Merry Christmas — Bill

       
  7. Wanda

    December 22, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    I’m wiping away a tear or two from my eyes, but I’m keeping the smile this beautiful post brought to my lips. Thank you for sharing your dream.

     
    • FlaHam

      December 22, 2013 at 2:54 pm

      Wanda, Thank you for your kind words. I know we all have our dreams, and that many of us would like a do over. Kate’s post allowed me the opportunity to verbalize a dream, and to fill in some blanks. Please take care, Merry Christmas, Bill

       
  8. huntmode

    December 22, 2013 at 4:07 pm

    Dear Bill, along with the others I was glad to travel into your dream. I think the most important words were in a comment you made, “Writing this post gave me joy, and allowed me a moment to not be sick. …” Yes! And, in my heart, I believe you got some good healing there. Thank you, Bill.

     
    • FlaHam

      December 22, 2013 at 4:16 pm

      Hunt, not only have you traveled into my dream you are now part of my reality. Thank you for joining the fun. Take care and Merry Christmas. Bill ps — I did get some good healing in this post.

       
  9. writetowag

    December 23, 2013 at 1:40 am

    Dreams, dreams are what gives us life…the ability to hug hope a little tighter…This is a lovely quote of hope and I thank you for sharing it with me…I will write this down and meditate on it…You inspire me Bill…Never ever stop writing or dreaming!!!! Hugs

     
    • FlaHam

      December 23, 2013 at 7:46 am

      Trev, I could not agree more, dreams are indeed an essential component of our lives, sometimes they give us peace, others they give us direction, and yes they give hope, and allow us to grab hold of it. Trev you do what you need, what gives you peace. I promise I will not stop writing or dreaming. Please take care, be safe, and Merry Christmas. — Bill

       
  10. DaydreamsInWonderland

    December 25, 2013 at 3:53 am

    Never stop dreaming. I was floored by how beautiful this is. It’s important to reflect on ourselves, and you’ve done it so eloquently. Merry Christmas to you & yours. ♥️

     
    • FlaHam

      December 25, 2013 at 10:14 am

      CardCastles, Sometimes it is the simplest things that inspire us, that simple quote allowed me to think without the bounds of illness as a compressing factor. I am so so glad you enjoyed it, and the spirit in which it was written. Thank you and a very Merry Christmas to you and yours. Take care, Bill

       
      • DaydreamsInWonderland

        December 26, 2013 at 2:50 am

        I hope you had a lovely holiday, Bill. I’m happy that my words meant something. You seem like such a loving soul.

         
        • FlaHam

          December 26, 2013 at 11:01 am

          Card, Thank you for your sweet words. I had a great day. I hope yours was equally good. I do try to be a loving soul, some days I am better at it than others. Sharing joy yesterday was easy, and I truly hope that I had some positive impact on someone. Please take care, be safe — Bill

           

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

