RSS

How I Feel Today 12.27.13….

27 Dec

Good day folks, I don’t know about you, but around here it has been very hectic to say the least.  Santa came, and NO I didn’t get a bag of coal or a bunch of switches.  Santa was good to me (as I sit here grooving to my ITunes and listening on my Dr. Dre headphones).  I truly hope that each of you had a wonderful Christmas filled with love and joy.

Over the last week I have had only one doctor appointment.  That was with Dr. N, the doctor who installed the Mediport.  On Monday the 23rd he checked his handiwork and was pleased with himself.  The incision point was healing very nicely, the swelling and bruising are all but gone, and with the exception of the little bump in my upper right chest you would hardly notice the Mediport at all.  There are no real scars to brag about, but I did get a nice bracelet out of the deal.  Oh and I did get easier access, no being stuck 3 or 4 times to draw blood, and some peace of mind, and a bunch of other little benefits. All this equaling why the hell did I wait so frigging long.  No bad at all.

So how do I feel today, for the week ending today (12/27/13), I will give myself a 3, it’s a good score, but it’s a reflection of the acclamation of a weeks’ worth of activity, the being tired that comes from it, the overdoing, and all the other holiday issues that pile up.  And I wouldn’t trade those activities for a 3.5 week.  Another reason for the 3 (cause I know you will ask) is my coughing has jumped to a higher level.  Mostly non-productive, but from time to time a chunk of slightly yellow crap will come up. Just enough junk to put you on edge.

Shortly after Thanksgiving a fellow blogger (Huntsmode, who has a great blog) and fellow sufferer of COPD asked a question I didn’t have the answer (yes I know, that’s a great surprise).  Hunts wanted to know what my Vitamin D level was.  I didn’t know, but I asked the follow-up question, “Why?” Hunts stated that had been Vitamin D deficient, and thru the use of supplemental Vitamin D, it has greatly improved her level of this vitamin.  She also stated it seemed to help her breath easier.  I am all for breathing easier, so I had my Vitamin D level checked and I too am deficient in this needed Vitamin.  I was going to provide a lot of filler here with an extended list of potential problems from a lack of vitamin D, but there is so much information available on line by checking vitamin D deficiency you can check and see if it reaches out and grabs you.  I know it did me.  One of the biggest problems with a Vitamin D deficiency is that it hampers you immune system, so you become susceptible to many other bugs that bite.  And for those of us suffering from COPD we don’t need any additional bugs finding ways to bite us.

In keeping with due diligence, I also called the Blue Cross Blue Shield health coach.  She provide a lot of significant info, but one of the most important pieces of information she provided was to call, my pharmacist for potential interactions of a vitamin D supplement with the other drugs you are be taking.   And before going a step further, if you are considering self-medicating, I cannot emphasis strongly enough DON’T – DON’T let me repeat DO NOT CONSIDER SELF-MEDICATING. Talk to your doctor, get his buy in, his support, and if he or she won’t, find out why, a doctor’s response like a simple “no” or “let me think on it”, isn’t really an acceptable answer.  You need to stand up for yourself, your voice needs to be heard, and he is being paid the big bucks so “no” (without an explanation) is not the right answer!!!  Anyway, back to the post.  My pharmacist has advised me that there wouldn’t be any interactions with any of the drugs I am currently taking.  She also suggested that I have my doctor provide a prescription for Vitamin D.  She went on to say that prescription strength Vitamin D is stronger and cheaper than over the counter vitamin D.

I hope that my friends that suffer from any disease think about having their Vitamin D checked, it is a simple test, and while it won’t cure you, it may make your quality of life a touch better, and we all want that.  But again, if you’re thinking about it, consult your Doctor.

So Monday December 30, 2013, I will be talking to Doc Lungs for the last time in 2013 and this will be one of the main topics of discussion.  We will also be checking my INR.  As you remember I was off blood thinners for 5 days before surgery last week.  So this will be the 1st time in weeks that my INR has been checked, and I am betting that it’s close to therapeutic (between 2 & 3).  The only other doctor appointment looming in my near future is an appointment with Doc Head on 1/6/14.

All things considered December has been an extremely good health month for me. I really don’t have any complaints.  I got thru the hustle and bustled of Christmas shopping with the masses without bringing home an unwanted gift.  We had a great visit with the Kids and an early Christmas where Cari can take full credit for ampping me up health wise with her wonderful nature, and her performances both in Choir and Dance. And a surprise visit from my brother-in-law. Most likely my next post won’t be until the 5th or 6th of January, and it is my intention to kinda do a year in review post.

As a totally random sharing of information since I started writing this weekly report I have listened to at least 5 cuts from the these artists; SRV, 3 Doors Down, Match Box 20, Eric Clapton, Nickelback and a bunch of single cuts from: The Allmans Brothers, The Kinks, The Byrds, The Animals, Rob Zombie, Depeche Mode, Marilyn Manson, Five Finger Death Punch, Van Halen, Seether and Theory of a Deadman.  So if this post seems disjointed to you, I blame it on the music.  I have been in the wayback machine all morning.  I have been lip singing, and playing air guitar to all these tunes, and I haven’t been typing. For those of you that didn’t know playing air guitar is an aerobic exercise.  I do thank God there isn’t a hidden camera in my office. Oh the potential for blackmail, have mercy on me. This is not the normal process for me writing posts. I am just saying. 

On to the vitals for the week.  Clearly lip singing and playing air guitar are good for the body and soul.  My O2 level is running right at 95/96 pct, heart rate right at 100 (normal for me), the weight still sucks, but I am back down to 280.  Blood pressure at Dr. N’s office on Monday was 117/62 pretty damn good if I say so myself.  Temp was low normal, 98.1.  So my numbers have been good. 

Folks thanks for sticking with me, and getting to the end of the post.  I hope you have a safe and wonderful New Year’s (key word SAFE).  Look for my next “How I Feel Today” post the 1st week of January 2014.  As always your thoughts, comments or concerns please feel free to let me know.  Take care, Bill

 
24 Comments

Posted by on December 27, 2013 in How I feel on a particular day, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

24 responses to “How I Feel Today 12.27.13….

  1. Kira

    December 27, 2013 at 3:28 pm

    Hope to hear your New Year has started on as high a note as the old one has ended. Take care and have A Happy New Year!

     
    • FlaHam

      December 27, 2013 at 3:37 pm

      Kira, The year will end right here. We are having friends over for dinner and cards. Because we are old farts at 12:02am most will be gone LOL. But it will still be fun. And like you I look forward to 2014. Take care, Bill

       
  2. Chatter Master

    December 27, 2013 at 7:05 pm

    What a great week Bill. 🙂 I’m glad you are having so much fun and busyness. I will see you in the next year! 😉

     
    • FlaHam

      December 27, 2013 at 7:13 pm

      Colleen, Thank you, I hope your 14, is better than you hope. Please take care – Bill

      Sent from my NOOK

       
  3. huntmode

    December 27, 2013 at 7:28 pm

    Bill, so glad to read this! The dog is barking her fool head off – gotta go. Coming back to finish it!

     
    • FlaHam

      December 27, 2013 at 10:47 pm

      Hunt, I am going thru my country songs now LOL. I have such a diverse group of songs on my IPod, if I could figure out how to transfer them to Pandora I would be in great shape. I look forward to exchanging emails when your employees let you. Take care, Bill

       
  4. DaydreamsInWonderland

    December 27, 2013 at 8:13 pm

    I hope everything goes well for you, Bill. & You have good taste in music!

     
    • FlaHam

      December 27, 2013 at 10:43 pm

      Card, Thank you for your kind words. It is my hope that everything goes well for me and you and them. No matter who them is. Please take care — Bill

       
  5. huntmode

    December 27, 2013 at 10:18 pm

    Hi, the dog is settled on her large pillow, Elby is hunting and it is quiet… I love your state of health posts, Bill. You write them well, include music reviews – you are truly a Renaissance man. I was thinking of doing a post of efficacy of Vitamin D and you beat me to it – if I do follow thru, I’m going to reference this post of yours because you did a stellar summary of it. And what to do and not do. While you reviewed your shopping and being able to watch Cari, your lovely granddaughter’s performances, you forgot to mention staying up half the night doing Company for Christmas – the mirror goes both ways and I saw how often you made yourself available. Nice work, Santa!

     
    • FlaHam

      December 27, 2013 at 10:41 pm

      Hunt, Neither of us did C4C to get noticed. We did it purely with the thought of helping someone else. That’s the only reason. Next year I will do it again, and I will make myself more available, because it was great. As for the vitamin D thing, it was yours long before I wrote about it. If it helps me even in the slightest I will be standing on my soap box shouting out like a good Baptist Preacher about it, if doesn’t help I will still advocate it because it might help the next person or the person after that. From all I have read, you really have to be stupid to hurt yourself with vitamin D. And we are both wise enough to couch our comments with the need for one to talk to their doctors before they self-medicate. Though we do make a good team LOL LOL. Take care, Bill ps — I still have my Doc Dre headphones on, listening to the Dixie Chicks

       
      • huntmode

        December 28, 2013 at 1:02 am

        The Dixie Chicks, now that is possibly the one group I am familiar with – LOL… I am still rankled over a film I watched the other night, The Heat, with Sandra Bullock – the music was appalling – not just the cacophony of it, but the words.. Utterly foul, while the script seemed to feel only swear words would do. (Sorry, I just had to let that out – it’s been eating at me for two days!) – I love music and yours seem like a swell pick, Bill!

        P.S. I did a post scheduled for 12/28 at 1:00 a.m. – giggle – I am looking forward to your reaction. It has music -hint, hint – and terrific lyrics – bigger hint – and it is written especially for Expectant Dads and Grandfathers – BIG hint… However, I laughed out loud thinking of you at one or two points in the song – still grinning….

         
        • FlaHam

          December 28, 2013 at 7:48 am

          Hunt, I should write another post about the music in my life, I don’t remember if I wrote a specific post on music but I know it has played a role in many of my posts. I watched “the Heat” last week also, maybe you were sitting on the other couch and I didn’t notice you? Anyway I was also surprised by the language, because it wasn’t expected from either of them, and the score for the movie really did suck, it was purely for shock value, and to go along with the language of the script. But having said all that I still enjoyed it, would I go see it a second time nope, once was enough. Clearly I when an chased down your midnight post. I truly enjoyed it, and all the mental ramifications that came with it. Take care, Bill

           
          • huntmode

            December 28, 2013 at 2:27 pm

            Dear Bill, re The Heat – I, too, liked the story and the actresses, it was the constant stream of profanity and one particular song, which I refuse to look up and cite, that was so graphic in its language I was repelled. So, that was you on the other couch?! LOL. I think I watched it Christmas night and maybe that too accounts for how the language struck so hard.

            The 1:00 a.m. post: So glad you enjoyed it. What made me laugh in particular thinking of you was how he would name the boy “Bill.” Grin.

             
            • FlaHam

              December 28, 2013 at 3:03 pm

              Hunt, As you well know I was in the Navy for a bit, and I learned Navy speak real young and very well. The language didn’t offend me at all, but shocked would be a better term, not the words themselves just Sandra and Melissa using them, especially Sandra, I damn near pee’d myself when I heard her dropping the F bomb. Melissa character was stringing them together like a seasoned sailor LOL LOL. When I was a teenager I was a Dad’s worst nightmare, I could charm the Mom’s and did. The dad’s all wanted to point loaded guns at me. But I was a good kid, heck I was only 5’9″ with a ton of freckles, how could I be harmful to any young lady. Take care, Bill

               
              • huntmode

                December 28, 2013 at 3:11 pm

                Alrighty. For the record, I can swear with the best of them – coming from a long line of Marines! Grin.

                 
                • FlaHam

                  December 28, 2013 at 4:21 pm

                  Hunt, I am so sure you can, but you’re a girl LOL LOL. Sometimes it loses in the translation. Take care, Bill — as I duck !!!!!

                   
  6. benzeknees

    December 28, 2013 at 12:18 pm

    Bill – I think you are the only blogger I have ever heard to admit he likes Nickelback! Every other blogger I follow (including me & this band is from Alberta where I live) thinks they are crap. I am just at the beginning of my COPD journey & was just thinking about how often I have to attend at my doctor’s office – it certainly sounds like you are familiar with this. I looked up Vitamin D after the C4C posts from Huntsmode too & plan to discuss it with my doc when I see him in the next couple of days.

     
    • FlaHam

      December 28, 2013 at 1:38 pm

      Benze. Smiling, I love being unique LOL LOL and if it takes loving Nickleback, then I will proudly admit that I love Nickleback. I love their complete spectrum of songs. Benze, I suspect you have a long journey ahead of you, and I hope and pray it is years before you reach my level. Your still in a position that you can slow the progress I suspect. And I said that without knowing a thing about you. But if you are anything close to being a normal human being, then some minor life style changes can be of significant benefit to you in the future. Simple things like slight changes in your diet, and starting and staying with a light workout, will really pay dividends in the future. Also medicines are changing daily, weekly, all the time, which could have a significant impact on you in the future. But if your already a health nut and workout freak, But I am sure you and your doctor will have many questions. Speaking of questions, make sure you try to write them down before you go, because you get caught up, or he/she wants to move on, and it slips your mind. Well I had better stop, because you can see I have runon disease (that would be my mouth (fingers) just keep going and going. Smiling, I am sure we will talk off wordpress. Please take care, Bill

       
      • benzeknees

        December 28, 2013 at 2:01 pm

        You’re right I am at the beginning of my journey, Bill. My first step is to try to drop some weight while working on hyperthryoidism.

         
        • FlaHam

          December 28, 2013 at 2:50 pm

          Benze, Each journey starts with a single step. You have made that one realizing that the journey has begun. One thing you will find throughout the journey the more positive you are the better off you will be. Just so you know I kinda look like the Pillsbury Doughboy, and I struggle with weight all the (expletive deleted) time. Take care be safe. If you want to have private correspondence you can use my email address _dealingwithcopd@aol.com_ (mailto:dealingwithcopd@aol.com) , I promise to answer each mail in a timely manner. Take care, Bill

           
  7. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    December 28, 2013 at 12:19 pm

    🙂 🙂 🙂 Wishing you and yours the best of wishes for a great 2014. Blaming it on music? Good idea, lol. xoxoxox Paulette

     
  8. kanzensakura

    December 28, 2013 at 5:19 pm

    Blame it on the moonlight, blame it on the bossa nova, blame it on the boogie!

     
    • FlaHam

      December 28, 2013 at 6:52 pm

      Kanzen, That works for me LOL LOL.. take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

