RSS

My Sunshine Award Nominations

26 Jan

I have been nominated for the Sunshine Award which I graciously accept without reservation from Huntmode.  In my past I would have blown off such an award because I felt undeserving.  But I have come to recognize and acknowledge the fact that if you are nominated for such an award, the sheer fact that someone else thinks you’re worth it, indeed does make the award and nomination worthwhile.  

So thank You Huntmode, thank you very much for the nomination.  I am and will take it seriously. 

Hunt did all the research and leg work, and has provided simple instructions for accepting and going forward.  I won’t change a word of those instructions.  But if you want, you can make slight modifications like I have.

  • Ø Rules of the Sunshine Award  (as provided by HuntMode)

  • Ø Post 11 random facts about yourself

  • Ø Nominate 11 bloggers

  • Ø Answer these questions eleven questions:

1. What is the first thing you do as soon as you wake up in the morning?  Take off my cpap mask, and turn on the light (if wife has already left for work)

2. What is your greatest fear?  My greatest fear is of open heights. I have a story about the Grand Canyon and heights.

3. Do you have a new year’s resolution for 2014?  If so what was it? I did…and it was to be here for 2015, only a little worse for wear.

4. What is your favorite song at the moment?  Stardust by the Gemini Project.

5. What is your favorite childhood memory?  When I won 3rd prize at an art show, when I was in the 3rd grade.  I was competing against adults.  I won 10 dollars for my prize, and that was a lot of money in 1957

6. What’s your favorite social media platform and why?  What is a social media platform?? LOL LOL, if that means AOL, then AOL, and the reason is simple it was the 1st one I really tried and understood.  I am still getting used to Facebook, Kir and some others (like WordPress LOL).

7. What did the last text message you received say?  Someone advising me their email address had changed.

8. What bugs you the most?  I will borrow the person answered these before me answer– stupid behavior and bullies.

9. What do you consider to be the most important appliance in your house?  Without a doubt my desk top computer, second my Nook.

10. If you could have one song that would play whenever you entered a room, what would it be?  I have about 1800 songs on my IPod, anyone of them would be good, but I don’t need “making an entrance” music.

11. What’s your favorite movie quote?  From Forrest Gump “Stupid is as stupid does.”

 

Sunshine Award looks like this:

 sunshine-award-2[1]

 

10 little known facts

  • Ø My favorite number is 55 (worn on my JV Football Jersey);

  • Ø I am the runt of my family, but the oldest;

  • Ø My 1st car was a 1960 Buick LaSalle

  • Ø I only lived in Louisville KY, for 5 years, but it is the place I am from

  • Ø Every woman that meets me loves my hair;

  • Ø I believe that everyone has a purpose, but not all of those purposes are good;

  • Ø I have had only 4 male best friends, so far, during my lifetime;

  • Ø I believe you can love with all your heart more than once in a lifetime;

  • Ø I was totally bummed when the Colts moved to Indianapolis and because of that have become a complete and total Washington Redskins fan;

  • Ø I drink at least 6 to 8 (16.9 oz.) bottles of water a day, plus other liquids and wonder why I have to pee all the time. LOL LOL that’s the TMI fact of the day.

Thank you Huntmode for nominating me for the Sunshine Award.  This award is given for “bloggers who are positive and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.”  I am so very honored chose me and I thank you. 

These are my nominees for the Sunshine Award, each tugs at my heartstrings and makes them sing.  My rules:  Accept and play; Accept and choose not to play – and know that my nomination of you is genuine. 

The following are those blogs who have inspired me in some very real manner, that have touch a core element in me, and have allowed me to use them to bounce ideas off and to gain further inspiration.  Each of these folks deserves to be recognized for the outstanding image their blog presents to the community.  Therefore I am very happy to nominate each of them for the Sunshine awards

http://kiramoorescloset.wordpress.com/about-2/

http://jmgoyder.com/about/

http://benzeknees.wordpress.com/

http://kate1975.wordpress.com/about/

http://tidbitsandtreasures2011.wordpress.com/

http://bikecolleenbrown.wordpress.com/

http://clowiescorner.wordpress.com/

http://friendlyfairytales.com/

http://clanmother.com/

http://ladyornot.com/

http://thepersecutionofmildreddunlap.wordpress.com/

http://chasingrabbitholes.com/author/huntmode/

The key here is that while all of these may not strike a chord with you, they did with me.  Each of these bloggers have helped in some way to shape my blog, each have shown me something, has presented a way to express an idea, or has given me a glimpse of a world I didn’t know existed.  Combined with the total has better allowed me to express myself, and I thank each of them.

If you have comments or thoughts you wish to express please do.  Take care, Bill 

 
24 Comments

Posted by on January 26, 2014 in Grandpa Stories, Observations, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

24 responses to “My Sunshine Award Nominations

  1. Allison

    January 26, 2014 at 4:58 pm

    You’re cute, Dad. This makes me happy.

     
  2. benzeknees

    January 26, 2014 at 6:21 pm

    Thank you Bill – I already have this award, but I feel honored you chose me!

     
  3. Brenda

    January 26, 2014 at 9:20 pm

    Bill, you are wonderful to include me on such a great list of bloggers. Your cheery taking life as it comes is an inspiration to me, in coping with my asthma. Thanks for sharing some sunshine with me!! Peace and Joy, Brenda

     
    • FlaHam

      January 26, 2014 at 10:10 pm

      Brenda, While I don’t get “poetry” I do get words I like, and you write a lot of words I like. Thank you so much for enjoying the journey. Take care, Bill

       
  4. kate1975

    January 26, 2014 at 9:33 pm

    Thank you Bill. I accept. You have made a sizable impact on me, in the short amount of time that we have known each other, and it is an honor to receive this award from you.

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

     
    • FlaHam

      January 26, 2014 at 10:11 pm

      Kate, you are so very welcome, and you my dear have had a significant impact on me as well. Thank you for sharing the ride. Take care, Bill

       
      • kate1975

        January 26, 2014 at 10:15 pm

        Well I’m blushing. Thank you.

        Good and healing thoughts to you and to all who you love.

        Kate

         
  5. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    January 26, 2014 at 9:41 pm

    You deserve this! I just love the friendship you and huntmode have developed. Smiling smiling smiling over that and all the fun/interesting things you wrote. Love the Forrest Gump quote, with you on that one. And, last but not least THANK YOU for thinking of little ole moi. Very grateful for your friendship and this special honor. Love ya!

     
    • FlaHam

      January 26, 2014 at 10:15 pm

      Paulette, I have been so very fortunate to develop relationships not only with Hunt, but you, and Colleen, Julie, and Kate to name a few. Each and every person that has stopped by my blog has had a positive impact on me. I am forever grateful to the bunch of you, and will never really be able to repay that. Thanks, Bill

       
  6. huntmode

    January 26, 2014 at 9:58 pm

    Dear Bill, you bless my life each day. God keep you here longer and better. You spread sunshine everywhere you touch and land. So glad to have all the recommendations in one place! Grin.

     
    • FlaHam

      January 27, 2014 at 12:46 pm

      Hunt, soft smile, and you bless mine. I am going to hang around as long as I can. And I will always be me, both the good and the bad parts. LOL BTW I did have fun following your instructions for accepting and forwarding on. Thank you, it was so sweet of you. Take care, Bill

       
  7. jmgoyder

    January 27, 2014 at 5:36 am

    You did a great job with this – so entertaining! Thank you so much for your nomination – I’ll think about it hahaha!

     
    • FlaHam

      January 27, 2014 at 1:26 pm

      Julie, Your most welcome, and you have earned the award.

      Take care, Bill

       
  8. Clowie

    January 27, 2014 at 5:58 am

    Congratulations on your award, you deserve it!
    Thank you for including me on your list, I am honoured.
    I am not familiar with all the blogs you have named, I shall enjoy visiting them as soon as I can.

     
    • FlaHam

      January 27, 2014 at 1:29 pm

      Clowie, You are richly deserving the award, to bad it doesn’t come with a treat. I know that all of these bloggers may not be to your liking, and I know you understand that. Just enjoy the ones you like. Take care, Bill

       
  9. rebecca2000

    January 27, 2014 at 4:02 pm

    You’re so sweet. I’m glad you got it. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      January 27, 2014 at 8:20 pm

      Thank you Rebecca, your pretty sweet yourself. Take care, Bill

       
  10. rebecca2000

    January 27, 2014 at 4:02 pm

    And thank you so much for considering me. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      January 27, 2014 at 8:21 pm

      Your most welcome and deserving, I love your blog. Your the only person I know that is more irrelevant than me LOL. Take care, Bill

       
  11. Marlyn

    January 27, 2014 at 4:57 pm

    Chick magnet:) LOL

     
    • FlaHam

      January 27, 2014 at 8:25 pm

      Squeeeter, If only it were true LOL LOL. I am not a magnet, I am more like a big brother. Who you can give as much crap as you want, and know he will still love and cherish you. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

