RSS

Dream Sequences…Part 1 – a Grandpa Tale

28 Jan

I recently completed a post about an extended hospital stay I had and in that post I spoke in passing to some exceptionally vivid dreams I had. And I teased that I would write about them.  Well per usual I got called out to do exactly that write about those dreams.  But as a preface to that I must tell yet another story about myself.  I aged during the 60’s and 70’s I didn’t mature I just got older. I was in the Navy, and I experimented from time to time with substances that were not over the counter.  Just so you know I grew out of this quickly, and with no real harm.  I chose to stay with substances I could get over the counter (bar), and truly did not indulge in drugs much at all.  But one time I yielded to peer pressure, I did something I wish I hadn’t, and tried a little pill.  For the better part of the next 30 hours I was visited by a variety of atrocious little purple “smuff” like creatures.  They were in the car with me as I drove, they stood a couple watches with me on board the ship, the shared the blanket in my rack, and while not violent or scary, they were with me all of those 30 hours. They have never visited again, and they are not welcome.  As vivid as those little creatures where for those 30 hours, they came nowhere near the vividness of my drug induced dreams in the hospital.  The dreams I had in the hospital were so real, so vivid, so life-like, so perfectly formed in my mind that while I was sleeping it was my reality.  I not only did I dream in color it was Technicolor, not only did I hear, but I heard in surround sound.  These dreams were so exhausting that I was almost comatose the rest of the time.  

I know even as I put words to post, that my recounting of these dreams will not do them justice.  It will help you to some degree if you have even the slightest knowledge of Star Trek (the William Shattner years) in understanding and appreciating these dreams.  The other series of dreams I had were equally as vivid as the Star Trek ones but were focused on a couple of my dear friends, and the Alexandria area of Northern Virginia.  If you have knowledge of the beltway surrounding DC, you will understand how absurd these dreams were, and when you compare them to the Star Trek dreams you go, wow, Bill really could have been on and in charge of the Starship Enterprise. You don’t know them, they don’t know you, and I will only use their 1st names.  I will admit that Terry, Gary and I consumed a lot of alcohol and a ton of laughs when I get to talking about them. 

Dream Sequence #1 

I think I 1st need to say that I never actually slept all the way thru a night. These dreams would be interrupted 2 or 3 times, and that when I fell back to sleep, my mind kinda jumped started the dream from wherever I was when awoke.

In my dreams I always awoke in my hospital bed, but I was never bound, I didn’t have the IV, I didn’t have any of the million monitoring clips glued to my body, I wasn’t being supplied with oxygen, I was free to move.  Because I was so healthy and free, I couldn’t understand why I was sleeping in a hospital bed (but I didn’t ponder that). I also realized when I awoke that my hospital bed was in fact onboard the Starship Enterprise (but it looked more like a hospital), and that Capt. James Kirk, was not available to command.  Those responsibilities rested on my shoulders. I dreamt I raced thru the corridors of a ship (hospital) searching for the secret entrance to all the ships facilities. I checked and looked in every room, I opened every door.  I knew that the Enterprise was being hidden from me and if I opened the right door I would find crew and the real bridge, the gallery, the weapons room, crew’s quarters, sick bay, and all the other necessary spaces to have complete and total command of the Enterprise.

This dream changed each night slightly, sometimes my search was fruitful. Sometimes I would find the Bridge, and the times I found the bridge it was fully functional, Comm, radar, weapons, internal Comm, I could even contact the “Transporter” room.  But other nights I didn’t find the bridge, or if I did it wasn’t a functional bridge it was a decoy.  But I would find another fully functional space like the engine room. Not one time did I have this dream where everything I found was functional. Nor did I ever find any member of the crew. I was in charge alright, but only of me.   

The uniform factor in each dream was that I was always running around the hospital in my hospital gown and hospital slipper socks.  I guess it was a good thing I never found the crew, it’s pretty hard to command with your butt is exposed.  Of course I realized that I needed to be in uniform to conduct a proper search, but again finding the hidden entrance and the crew to the “Real” ship was a higher priority than being dressed.

I do remember that my level of frustration would skyrocket on those nights I could not find the bridge.  But as soon as I would drift off to sleep, I would again race off in search of the bridge.

I do remember one night it was particularly stressful because I did find a fully functional bridge, but upon checking the radar system I found that we were being tracked (for attack) by a Klingon cruiser approaching in stealth mode.

It always seemed that just when I was getting to the last door in the hospital, because I had checked everything else and all other potential locations, just as I was about to find my crew, I would awake back in my hospital bed in a cold sweat, terrified and making the nurse change my dirty sock slippers. 

I suspect I thrashed around a lot, and coupled with the fact I had removed myself from the ventilator more than once is the reason I always woke up bound to the bed.  This dream occurred for 3 or 4 nights.

Me, telling this story is so much easier in person after sharing a few drinks.  You could watch my facial expressions and see my hands flying thru the air. I could convey the vividness so much easier talking and I would field questions along the way. 

I am not going to get into the Beltway story about Gary, Terry and I now. This post has gone on long enough. And I don’t believe you have had enough alcohol to make it fun.  Maybe I should have had 4 or 5 drinks as I type it.  It probably would have made more sense. LOL By the way in review the 1st and last couple paragraphs were the best.

Folks thanks for taking the time to visit my blog.  If you have any questions or if you want specific details about my dream please feel free to ask.  Take care, and have a pleasant day.  Bill

 
34 Comments

Posted by on January 28, 2014 in Grandpa Stories, Humor, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

34 responses to “Dream Sequences…Part 1 – a Grandpa Tale

  1. rebecca2000

    January 28, 2014 at 8:17 pm

    It would be fun to grab a drink with you and gab. I think I’d enjoy that very much.

     
    • FlaHam

      January 28, 2014 at 10:16 pm

      Rebecca, I do believe it would be fun to sit down and share a drink or 4 with you. I am sure between the 2 of us we could create a significant amount of BS, and have a great time doing it. Take care, Bill

       
  2. Brenda

    January 28, 2014 at 9:07 pm

    Smuff or Smurf creatures visited you? I’m trying to imagine a smuff and failing… Your dreams sound very potent, full of great possible interpretations. Finding the bridge in your dream, maybe was finding a cure and getting out of the hospital. Where else do you ever go where people wake you up so often in the middle of the night? Maybe looking for the control room was your subconscious trying to understand what was going on with you. What amazing dreams. You’re an interesting guy, Bill…

     
    • FlaHam

      January 28, 2014 at 10:24 pm

      Brenda, Okay you caught me, it should have been Smurf’s not Smurff’s. LOL but you got my point. Without doubt those dreams were potent, and could be great fun a panel of Head Doc to interpret. Being perfectly honest, I never spent any time trying to analyze them, I figured they were a byproduct of whatever combination of medicines they were giving me. I know I complained to the nurses about the dreams and it was a few days later (or so) that they seemed to fade and finally go away. Thank you for your interpretation, I think it’s kinda neat. And I think it is quite valid. As I typed it I thought it meant I was trying to get control of my sickness as well. At the time, I didn’t think about it, and in the weeks and months after my hospitalization it was a way of sharing the experience and getting folks to laugh with me. Take care, Bill

       
      • Brenda

        January 28, 2014 at 10:30 pm

        Well if you have to explore the far reaches of your mind while strapped to a hospital bed, star trek was a pretty good analogy. 🙂

         
        • FlaHam

          January 28, 2014 at 10:38 pm

          Brenda, soft smile – thank you – Bill

           
  3. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    January 28, 2014 at 9:39 pm

    Yup that sounds about right for the 60s and 70s. Smurf creatures never visited me though, lol. I think Rebecca has a good idea about sitting down with a cuppa and gabbing with you. Man, that would be so much fun! Hugs!

     
    • FlaHam

      January 28, 2014 at 10:30 pm

      Paulette, As you know so well, I love talking, and I really really enjoy sharing my stories. It is uplifting and good for the head. And years from now my Granddaughter will read these posts, giggle, share her head, and ask her mom, what is grandpa talking about. In my heart I know it would be a real hoot watching my daughter have to explain. Thank you as always for you caring and support. You are always welcome to join me for a drink, a conversation, and a laugh. Take care, Bill

       
  4. jmgoyder

    January 29, 2014 at 4:20 am

    This is FASCINATING!

     
  5. benzeknees

    January 29, 2014 at 1:46 pm

    Bill, this must have been extremely frustrating for you! To be dreaming something so vividly & then to wake up & be bound with a tube down your throat so you couldn’t even tell anyone what you were dreaming to help dissipate the dream a little before falling back under its influence! I grew up in the same eras as you (just a couple years behind you), so I’m very familiar with the Star Trek references. Did all the doors give that little “snick” noise as you went through them?

     
  6. FlaHam

    January 29, 2014 at 1:56 pm

    Benze, I don’t remember it being frustration at all, but I don’t remember much about period anyway. My hospital stay was fine the 1st two weeks, but when I had to have surgery to repair the hole in my lung the entire stay became much more intense, and I became much more ill, and in very bad position. I am told I was lucky to have survived, I just don’t remember. I know I never thought about death, or it even being an option. It is amazing what memories your mind chooses to keep available 24/7. A lot of what I remember about falls under the category of TMI, but that to was steps in my final recovery. As for the noises yes, I heard the proper door closing noise in my dreams. Take care, Bill

     
  7. Chatter Master

    January 30, 2014 at 5:45 am

    Bill, I am imaging the purple SMUFFS better than the Smurfs. HAHAHAHAHAA! I love it !

    You have had more interesting trips than I thought ! At least in the hospital you got to get out a bit and explore. And run!!! I think it’s fabulous and amazing that your brain took you out of your sickness through your dreams and let you explore. I loved this story telling. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      January 30, 2014 at 8:53 am

      Colleen, Smiling it was unique exploring the hospital looking for the secret entrance to the Starship, I am sure that had I sat down with a Doc Head to discuss my dreams I would have been fitted with the jacket with sleeves on backwards. I do remember telling anyone that would listen my dreams it just appeared that the hospital folks weren’t paying attention. Because it was well over a week before the doctors got around to changing the medicines they were giving me to aid my sleep. So for a week I played in the Starship Enterprise or I was playing in traffic on the beltway surrounding Washington DC. Those dreams were unique as well. Take care, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        January 30, 2014 at 6:13 pm

        I think I would have preferred the playing on the Starship dreams. Not many of us can say that has happened. 🙂 What a treat for you! 😉

         
        • FlaHam

          January 30, 2014 at 10:21 pm

          Colleen, Smiling I probably would have enjoyed more if I had encountered some of the hot chicks that were on the Enterprise. But alas, I couldn’t find a soul. But I have memories that I could and have shared. Take Care, Bill

           
          • Chatter Master

            January 31, 2014 at 5:52 am

            Hahahaha, but if you had found them Bill maybe the dream would have ended, or you would have ended up playing monopoly or something. This way at least you had repeated dream dates of HOPING to find them. 🙂 You make me laugh!

             
            • FlaHam

              January 31, 2014 at 8:04 am

              Colleen, I suspect your right if I ever found the crew and Capt Kirk, then there would have been no need for me in my own dream LOL LOL. Imagine having a dream where you are totally irrelevant. Most people who aren’t even sick don’t like that thought. So I guess your right, I needed not to find them, though I am quite good at Monopoly, and somethings LOL. I hope you have a wonderful day. Take care, Bill

               
              • Chatter Master

                February 1, 2014 at 11:58 am

                Thank you Bill. I still laugh at the thought of you running around the Starship Enterprise. I will never be able to think of Star Trek without imagining you running about and popping up in the scenes. 🙂

                 
                • FlaHam

                  February 1, 2014 at 12:59 pm

                  Colleen, you made me giggle, thinking about it myself. It’s almost becoming a “Twilight Zone” episode. Now that is a scary thought. You brighten each day. Thank you, Bill

                   
                  • Chatter Master

                    February 1, 2014 at 5:46 pm

                    🙂 Thank you Bill! I am picturing you giggling. Which sets me off laughing. 😉

                     
                  • FlaHam

                    February 1, 2014 at 7:13 pm

                    Colleen, If you are enjoying the Star Trek to Twilight Zone segway. I sound like a guy being fitted for the jacket with the sleeves on backwards talking about Star Trek and Twilight Zone in the same comment. But wait more is coming, I will be releasing Dream II in the next day or so, and that will make you pee your pants. Take care, Bill

                     
                  • Chatter Master

                    February 2, 2014 at 8:37 pm

                    Well then I better make sure not to read it while I’m at work! 🙂

                     
                  • FlaHam

                    February 9, 2014 at 6:11 pm

                    Colleen, I have a lot of catching up to do, and I may have a story about this visit the blab blab blab. But I will get on part 2 soon after I get home. Take care, Bill — It’s just a fun stupid dream, but it was so real.

                     
                  • Chatter Master

                    February 9, 2014 at 8:27 pm

                    🙂 I will look forward to it!

                     
  8. gpcox

    January 31, 2014 at 7:38 am

    Sounds like the drugs you’re taking have quite the imagination! Got any extra?:)

     
    • FlaHam

      January 31, 2014 at 8:00 am

      Gail, No as a matter of fact, I haven’t any of that since before I left the hospital. Somethings are best left alone, and whatever I was getting falls into that category. LOL LOL As much fun as it is to share my stories about the drug induced dreams I had while sleeping, going thru them day after day, got to be very tiresome. Take care, Bill

       
  9. Clowie

    January 31, 2014 at 11:24 am

    It must have been disappointing not to meet Spock! Did you see any tribbles? I think they would be fun to play with.

     
    • FlaHam

      January 31, 2014 at 5:01 pm

      Clowie, You made me HOWL with laughter. Of course I got to see and play with the tribbles, but they became a PIA quickly. I agree, it was a shame that I never found Dr. Spock, he has always interested me, and I was a big fan of his. I will also say I bet you would have loved racing around with me, checking all the doors. You would have had a ball metaphorically speaking. Take care, and thanks for visiting me again. — Biped Bill

       
  10. Wanda

    January 31, 2014 at 5:21 pm

    The things one finds out when reading a friend’s blog…

    Your dreams (and the fact that you remember them so vividly) are impressive! In fact, it seems there should be a screenplay in there somewhere…Shatner/Kirk plays your part, and there’s a backstory about how he came to be in a hospital with his butt hanging out in the first place, also a subplot that he knows the difference between his circumstances in a 21st century hospital, and his true place in time.

    P.S. Seeing you in the hospital, especially during the restraint period, was one of the most sobering experiences of my life. There was, as you know, doubt whether you would survive. I am so, so, so glad you did, and that you’ve gone on to thrive (in different ways, probably, than you ever imagined) despite the fact that COPD limits too much of what you would like to do. You truly do make the best of what you have!

     
    • FlaHam

      January 31, 2014 at 8:20 pm

      Wanda, You truly make me smile, I can see Shatner running around Brandon Regional with his butt fully exposed shouting “Beam me up Scottie!” And would there ever be back story after back story, and what about sequels? On a more serious note. I can say I don’t remember a single visit when I was bound to the bed. I don’t remember Steph or Allison, but I know they were there, I kinda remember folks around the bed, but I truly apologize I just don’t remember any specific person during that period. But I know that if anyone visited besides Steph and Allison, it would be you and Art. For that there isn’t enough thanks in the world. Soft smile, you know what, I am kinda glad I made it too !! LOL LOL Please take care, Love Bill

       
  11. huntmode

    January 31, 2014 at 11:45 pm

    Dear Bill, I am late in coming to read this…. My apologies. I like Brenda’s analysis and I feel for Wanda visiting during that time period – scary for friends and bystanders. I love the inventiveness of your brain to motivate you by having you responsible in Captain Kirk’s stead – “all is lost without you, Bill Hamilton. Your crew need you. You must find the Bridge!” Nothing like getting someone motivated to find the missing key. I liked you got the door “shush” sound as well. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      February 1, 2014 at 7:12 am

      Hunt, I am really glad that folks are enjoying this, I wrote this piece because it was the fun experience during the episode. The only memories I have of this period are the dreams. I don’t remember what was going on in my body, nor who visited. I guess I am holding on to the dreams because that was my reality at my sickest. Smiling and laughing, the inventiveness of my mind was helped and motivated by some strong drugs proscribed by the team of doctors. As smart as I am I couldn’t think of something like this on my own. Take care, Bill

       
  12. livingwithshadows

    February 3, 2014 at 3:48 am

    While i adore Star Trek, especially the Shatner era, those dreams sound frustrating! i hate those on the hunt dreams! however they do sound more entertaining than most of my recurring dreams! i have one where i wake up on christmas morning and realise i have nothing done, no pressies, no food, no decorations and i wake up in such a panic! lol! Then there is the one where i am attempting to punch a phone number into the keypad and get it wrong over and over, it’s usually an emergency situation where speedy action is needed! again panic! very mundane really, not an alien to be seen! i think i have an issue with failure lol! have enough to deal with during the times i’m awake without bashing myself in my sleep, perhaps i need your Doc Heads contact details! hahaha!

     
    • FlaHam

      February 9, 2014 at 6:39 pm

      Living, Yes the dreams were making me nuts on a nightly basis, but were a lot of fun to recount weeks and months after I was hospitalized. The waking up on Christmas morning dream, I actually think I shared that with you once years ago. I have no real recollections but just the outline. Your dream of not being about to properly respond in an emergency situation would be very scary. I don’t know how much of that one I could handle. One and I would be done.

      We share the weird dream syndrome. LOL LOL I will ask Doc Head about your dreams LOL. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

