RSS

How I Feel for the Week ending 02.09.14

09 Feb

First off, a grateful thanks to my wife for bringing my laptop to the hospital.  Using the Nook to provide input and to post comments has been a test of each tiny skill I have (I have used the stylist so much I can spell it).

Now on to my weekly “How I Feel This Week” report.  Normally I would have a phrase or word of the week, but circumstances this week have superseded those.  Thank you for your patience, as some of you know I have been in the Brandon Regional Hospital since Monday the 3rd. This has effectively limited my ability to post, and a variety of other things.  I am on the mend and I suspect I will break out of this joint by Tuesday, but please don’t hold me to this.  The official diagnosis is Tracheobronchitis (a fancy way to say Bronchitis) with flare ups of both the MRSA (methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus bacteria) and Pseudomonas which has taken up residency in my body (has been there for a good bit). This diagnosis coupled with the deficiency in my immune system, forced this hospitalization.

Tracheobronchitis — as taken in part from WiseGeek.com (http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-tracheobronchitis.htm), Tracheobronchitis, also known as bronchitis, is a condition involving inflammation of the windpipe or bronchi, both of which carry air to the lungs. This is often the result of an infection, but can also be due to an irritant or allergic reaction. Symptoms include a cough, wheezing, and sore throat. Treatment usually focuses on the symptoms because the condition generally heals itself naturally and relatively quickly, but sometimes antibiotics are prescribed. Rest and lots of water are commonly recommended to speed up the recovery process.

The respiratory tract contains both the windpipe and bronchi. When inflammation occurs in these parts of the body, it is often referred to as tracheobronchitis. This is a relatively common condition that can be the result of a viral or bacterial infection. If a person swallows or inhales an irritant, inflammation can also occur.

Given the situation and the fact that my butt is parked in the hospital I am going to rate this week a 2.25, though it is very close to 2.5.  Clearly it could have been worst.  Upon admittance I was given an immediate jump start with a variety of steroids and antibiotics.  Normally my prednisone dosage is 10mg daily; this was increased to three daily IV injections of prednisone at 125mg each.  Since Monday they have been backing off the steroid dosage and by tomorrow I should be back to the “normal” level.  In addition to the significant increase of prednisone, I have been given at litany of antibiotics to suppress both the MRSA and Pseudomonas which have included: Levofloxacin, Cefepime and Vacomycin to name a few.

The reality is that once they got my breathing back on a “normal” level, I have felt pretty good for the most part.  The overriding (outwardly appearing) issues have been the friggin cough and the SOB (shortness of breath).  I have had that “close the door we don’t want to hear it” cough all week.  But inside of the body the fact that my immune system has deficiencies, the overall impact of the Tracheobronchitis could have had significant more play.  Clearly the monthly IVIG treatment I get to amp up my immune system has paid off in part.  Without the benefit of these treatments, my body would have been much more receptive to the bacteria of both the residence MRSA and Pseudomonas.  Had this been the case, the regiment of antibiotics would have been significantly greater, and for a longer duration.  As it stands now I will only have 1 drug for an additional 10 days (IV feed Merrem {this further combats MRSA}), upon my release from the hospital.

On the lighter side here are a couple of the changes here since my last visit; Valet parking at the emergency room, food service in the tanks, no menus in room, staff has been (for the most part) excellent.  I hospital

Moving from the lighter to the boring information, these vitals were taken at 3pm EST 02/09/14. Even healthy folks would like these numbers.

Blood Pressure = 116/96

Temperature = 96.1

Heart Rate = 88

O2 Level =- 94/95

Folks I want to thank you for your well wishes, thoughts of concern and prayers this week.  Each has helped in its’ own way, and I truly appreciate the outpouring.

Well folks I hope you have a pleasant day.  As always your thoughts and comments are welcomed and encouraged – take care, Bill

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

21 responses to “How I Feel for the Week ending 02.09.14

  1. jmgoyder

    February 9, 2014 at 7:45 pm

    I hate it that you are suffering like this Bill. xxx

     
  2. Chatter Master

    February 9, 2014 at 7:49 pm

    I’m glad you got your laptop Bill. I can’t type worth a diddly on my Kindle. I’m so sorry you’re still in the hospital but very happy you are still feeling pretty good, considering! Best wishes and home wishes soon!!!

     
    • FlaHam

      February 10, 2014 at 3:56 pm

      Colleen, thank you, without the laptop these beige wall could be a very ugly color. I am sitting on the bed pounding away on the keyboard, my mind working faster than my fingers. I best be careful or something will spew forth. LOL Take care, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        February 10, 2014 at 8:07 pm

        Let it spew Bill!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

        🙂

         
  3. Clanmother

    February 9, 2014 at 9:08 pm

    Bill – you really are remarkable! And so is your wife. Really appreciated having an update! You are in my thoughts!!!

     
    • FlaHam

      February 10, 2014 at 3:54 pm

      Clan, thank you so very much, I don’t believe we are anymore remarkable than others in a similar situation. We do as we can, and make the best of it. Take care, Bill

       
  4. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    February 9, 2014 at 10:05 pm

    So glad you got your lap top and praying you are better and get home on Tuesday. Sending lots of hugs and love to you and holding you in my heart.

     
    • FlaHam

      February 10, 2014 at 3:53 pm

      Paulette, thank you for your well wishes and hugs, they go a long long way to making a body better. Take care and have a great day, Who know I may soon be sprung from this place. — Bill

       
  5. littlemisswordy

    February 10, 2014 at 9:49 am

    Feel better!

     
    • FlaHam

      February 10, 2014 at 3:51 pm

      Thank you Littlemiss, I am doing the best I can. Bill

       
  6. kate1975

    February 10, 2014 at 10:19 am

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

     
    • FlaHam

      February 10, 2014 at 3:52 pm

      Kate, Without reservation I will gladly accept well wishes. The make a body feel good. Thanks, Bill

       
  7. benzeknees

    February 10, 2014 at 1:32 pm

    So glad to hear you are on the mend – I have been sending good thoughts your way ever since I first heard! Hoping you get discharged very soon & back to your regular schedule. I have missed your witty remarks & posts!

     
  8. FlaHam

    February 10, 2014 at 3:50 pm

    Benze, Thank you and all the rest of my blogger friends for their kind and supportive words. Smiling as I am sure you know being in the hospital sucks, but without the care of friends and loved ones it is so much more difficult to. I am sure your positve thoughts have helped greatly. Now that I have my laptop, and time to kill I may write a post tomorrow. Take care, Bill

     
  9. huntmode

    February 11, 2014 at 5:20 am

    Dear Bill, I’m late to this post, but had an inside track due to messaging with you and your stylist. So glad to see a post! It’s already Tuesday a.m. Perhaps you’ll be writing from home tonight. Ooorraaahhh! 🙂 Best and hugs ~ HuntMode

     
  10. livingwithshadows

    February 13, 2014 at 10:46 am

    ach that sounds nasty but i’m glad your on the mend. are you home now? let those nurses take good care of you now!

     
    • FlaHam

      February 13, 2014 at 11:06 am

      Living, Yes, came home late Tuesday evening. Still using the IV antibiotics, and will for 10 more days, but it is so much nicer being home. Take care, Bill

       
      • benzeknees

        February 13, 2014 at 12:04 pm

        Welcome home Bill! You have been missed!

         
        • FlaHam

          February 13, 2014 at 12:43 pm

          Benze, Thank you, it is nice to be home and even better to be missed. Take care, Bill

           
        • FlaHam

          February 13, 2014 at 5:38 pm

          Benze, That is so sweet. Thank you. Please take care, Bill

           
    • FlaHam

      February 13, 2014 at 11:09 am

      Living, Having address issues, I will resolve LOL. Take care, Bill ____________________________________

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

Life and scribbles on the far side of SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

