RSS

A COPD Video — A good death

19 Feb

As you know my blog is about COPD a disease I suffer from.  Some of those that follow or read my blog from time to time also suffer from the disease or they may know or love someone who does.  This video is for all of us.

I have never made the disease out to be pleasant, I haven’t highlighted any good points because there aren’t any, but I rarely take a negative position.  This is a much watch video.  It isn’t gross, but it isn’t pleasant either. This is 100 percent about reality.

One of the individual’s in the Daily Strength Discussion Group to which I am an active member shared this video.  It is touching, it is moving, and it is in the future for many myself included. It makes some very strong points, and it is something that needs to be shared, talked about, and thought about.

It will take 30 minutes of your time, but it will be a very worthwhile video.  Please consider it.

http://vimeo.com/39258619

As always if you have any questions, thoughts, concerns or comments please feel to ask me.  Please take care, Bill

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

28 responses to “A COPD Video — A good death

  1. kanzensakura

    February 19, 2014 at 4:11 pm

    My mother has COPD. thank you for this video. You take care, Bill!

     
    • FlaHam

      February 19, 2014 at 5:17 pm

      Kanzen, This is one of the most pointed and helpful video’s I have seen to date on COPD, and the final stage. I hope in some small way this helps you and your family when the time comes. Please take care, Bill

       
  2. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    February 19, 2014 at 7:32 pm

    Thank you for posting this. It’s good to know it’s here for any referrals. Hugs to you my friend.

     
  3. Clanmother

    February 19, 2014 at 10:14 pm

    A powerful, life-affirming video! I felt the love and compassion of a supporting and connected community. Thank you for sharing.

     
    • FlaHam

      February 20, 2014 at 7:16 am

      Clan, Thank you for taking the time and for your kind words. I am doing what I can to get as much info out about COPD as I can. The info takes many forms, and comes in many fashions this was a good one. Take care, Bill

       
  4. Brenda

    February 19, 2014 at 10:49 pm

    Thanks for your education of us! Warmly, Brenda

     
    • FlaHam

      February 20, 2014 at 7:12 am

      Brenda, All I am trying to do is shed enough light on COPD and it’s impact of the individual and the love ones with as many tools that are made available to me. Take care, Bill

       
      • Brenda

        February 20, 2014 at 9:40 pm

        I’m just appreciating you. 🙂 You take care, too! Brenda

         
        • FlaHam

          February 21, 2014 at 10:48 am

          Brenda, I appreciate you a great deal, you are a much enjoyed addition to my blog family. Take care, Bill

           
          • Brenda

            February 21, 2014 at 1:31 pm

            And you are welcome in my blog family, too! Cheers, Brenda

             
  5. jmgoyder

    February 19, 2014 at 10:51 pm

    Just watched the video, Bill. Thank you for posting this – I don’t have words to describe my feelings at the moment because too teary (as usual!) Julie xxx

     
    • FlaHam

      February 20, 2014 at 7:09 am

      Julie, You don’t need words, you don’t need actions, you are living this each day. I know you watched it and saw/see yourself in every scene. What I hate is that I also see myself in a lot of it. Take care, love Bill

       
      • jmgoyder

        February 20, 2014 at 8:56 am

        I hate that you see yourself in that video – that would take a lot of courage, Bill.

         
        • FlaHam

          February 20, 2014 at 4:02 pm

          Julie, Oh but I do see myself, it is the reality of my world, that is the direction I am going, and there are no exits off the freeway. Heck there is even a physical resemblance between myself and Mr. Cavanagh, which made it that much more difficult the 1st time I watched it. Julie, as you well know there are things we can’t hide from. We want to, we beg to, we sometimes even try to deny it. But we know it just the same. I am choosing to face these issues face to face as best I can. I don’t mean to make folks uncomfortable, I truly don’t, but sometimes shit happens. Julie, you have your own video, you see it every day, you live it everyday. You are much stronger than I, your courage knows no limits. I am so lucky and proud to have you as a friend. Take care, Bill

           
  6. huntmode

    February 20, 2014 at 1:24 am

    Bill, been a tough couple of days breath-wise and I admit to wanting to duck this as soon as I saw your words. I thought, “I’ll come back later….,” then I read the comments, as well as your own, and am ginning (chinning?) up my courage. I promise to report when I’ve watched the whole thing… Best and truthfully, HuntMode

     
    • FlaHam

      February 20, 2014 at 7:06 am

      Hunt, there really isn’t any pressure nor is there a test at the end. It is perspective, caring, and dignity. Relax in the grand scale of things, it is pretty low on the list. Take care, Bill

       
  7. livingwithshadows

    February 20, 2014 at 2:16 am

    i wish i was able to watch this, no sound on my pc at the moment. if/when i get it back i will return to watch it. for now i have bookmarked it to find it easier.

     
    • FlaHam

      February 21, 2014 at 10:40 am

      Shelley, Soft smile, it is by no means mandatory viewing. But it is a stirring and very realistic view of what having COPD means, and how it takes you. Please take care, be safe — Bill

       
  8. Chatter Master

    February 20, 2014 at 6:41 am

    Bill, I can’t wait to see this. I will watch it this weekend friend.

     
    • FlaHam

      February 21, 2014 at 10:42 am

      Colleen, I won’t say enjoy, because you can’t. It is a moving 30 minutes, and anyone who suffers from COPD or knows of someone who does should watch it. Take care, Bill

       
  9. Alice Keys

    February 25, 2014 at 5:58 am

    Thanks for bringing up end-of-life here. Much love. Alice

     
    • FlaHam

      February 25, 2014 at 6:24 pm

      Alice, I have tried to be open and honest about all that touches me in regard to the disease. In prior posts I have touched briefly on preparing for end-of-life, and it has been well received. This video moved me immediately, I saw in it the potential to help other sufferers, so I shared it. Thank you for seeing the positive in that action. Much Love to you Alice, please take care. Bill

       
      • Alice Keys

        February 26, 2014 at 1:06 am

        Keep doing what you’re doing. 🙂 Alice

         
        • FlaHam

          February 26, 2014 at 5:27 pm

          Alice, Yes Ma’am I will, and you too :>} Bill

           
  10. rarasaur

    February 26, 2014 at 1:09 am

    I appreciated the video very much, Bill– it gave me a good deal of perspective on COPD. *hugs*

     
    • FlaHam

      February 26, 2014 at 5:29 pm

      Rara, Thank you, that is exactly what I wanted to happen when I shared it. Please take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

