RSS

Beast, Beauty and she has Brains! …. A Grandpa Tale

05 Mar

In so many of my posts to date I have poked fun at my daughter, I have told stories about teaching her to drive, about her college friends invading our home, about her tattoos, and about our boating adventures at Disney.  I know I have accused her of being beautiful (cause she is), and I have talked about how smart she is. Now I want to just say she was a beast in High School and her freshman year at college. 

Allison is an only child, and she has enjoyed all the trapping of being an only child.  Yes she was spoiled and still is, but not as badly as some.  But this isn’t about being spoiled, though I may have to write about that at some point.  This is about her being a beast.  Allison got her brains and beauty from her mom, there is no doubt about it, she is as lovely as her mom, and just as smart.  But she got her competitive edge and desire to win from me.  She plays Monopoly like she is a slum lord.  And competitive doesn’t even begin to describe how she tackles Yahtzee, especially a friendly (ha) family game.  My wife can barely stand playing me Yahtzee one on one, but if Allison is involved the wife runs and hides.  But this isn’t about that. It’s about her just being a beast.  My daughter played basketball her freshman year in High School, she was so so at best and it pissed her off, she was taller than 95 pct of the girls she played against, but she didn’t have any natural talent, and she sure didn’t inherit any from me.  So after her freshman year, she chooses to move on from basketball.  Out of the blue she choose Lacrosse, I had never seen a game played, I didn’t know what the equipment looked like, I didn’t know the rules, heck at the time I didn’t even know it was played outside. Allison moved me completely away from my comfort zone, I knew basketball, I loved basketball, but like Allison I had no skills. Unless having the ability to foul out in less than 10 minutes is a skill, because that was my specialty. 

But Allison wanted to play Lacrosse, and both my wife and I became her biggest fans. I remember taking Allison to the sporting goods store to buy her 1st Lacrosse stick, I let her choose which one, but probably steered her away from the most expensive.  We also got her the cleats and the pads, which I probably didn’t steer her away from the most expensive.  We wanted her protected, and were more than happy to eat those costs. 

Before 1st season started I remember playing catch with Allison in the backyard.  I had my ball glove on, and Allison was equipped with her stick.  Remember that sound in baseball when you hear the ball pop as it was caught.  That was the noise my glove made. I always tried to catch her throws in the web of my glove because if I caught in my palm, my hand would sting for days. Allison was firing the lacrosse ball at me sometimes I thought faster than the speed of sound, because I felt the sting long before I heard the pop. I remember manning up and throwing that ball as hard as I could, throwing my best fastball and Allison snatching it out of the air like I threw it under hand to her. Then she would whip it back at me, yes I said at, not to, and sometimes I just had to duck and let it bounce off the fence.  She scared the crap out of me.  It was so natural, so fluid; she was beauty/beast in movement.  And I remember thinking and she likes me, what about those poor slobs she doesn’t like.  Her passes were pinpoint, and made me look a fool, but it was worth it. I could throw it anywhere in her general direction, and she caught it, I could bounce it to her, she caught it, I could try and throw it over her head she caught it. She was a beast.  She worked as hard at learning how to be a great player as she ever worked at anything before or since (well maybe she has worked a lot harder being a great mom).  But all of her efforts paid off. Did I say she was a beast at lacrosse, well let me say it LOL.  She was a beast. 

Allison was not a good Lacrosse player she was GREAT.  When Allison started lacrosse it would be fair to say I didn’t know squat about Lacrosse.  But I would be the 1st parent hoarse screaming at a game, cheering her team on in the loudest voice I had.  One time her coach a very fine lady name Amy Newell came into the stands to tell me the referee was going to call a bench yellow card on her team if I didn’t shut up. So I bit the end of my tongue off and the team didn’t get the yellow card. Allison played “attacker” for her team, and damn was she good.  She played the game with such intensity, such determination, and with skills I only dreamed of having. She played Lacrosse for 3 years in high school and one year of college.  She made the all-county teams all 3 seasons she played, one year she made second team all-county and spent the last half of the season on the bench with a broken leg. I can only imagine how great she would have been had she played a year without a significant injury.  Another season she sprained her ankle so bad that it kept her from performing at her peak but it didn’t prevent her from playing.  I was so damn proud of her, hell I am still proud of her.  In college (she made the team as a walk on), but she broke her back playing Lacrosse and that pretty much ended her Lacrosse playing days. 

During the 3 years Allison played Lacrosse, I think I missed maybe 3 games, four at the most.  I went to home and away, I was the passionate one about half way up the stands.  I would watch Allison race, back and forth, I would watch her carry her stick high, and pass sharply; I would see shots on goal and be amazed.  Then I would see her race to play defense.  Folks to this day I don’t know the rules of Lacrosse, but I will say it is more intense, more physical and more demanding than any other team sport I have ever watched with the exception of field hockey, her other choice in sports, which she was also a beast. 

Folks, I imagine that somewhere in the way way way back of her brain Allison would consider coaching Lacrosse.  If she were to choose that there is no doubt in my mind she would be a damn good coach.  But she has chosen to be a Teacher, and your kids would be damn lucky to have her.  I call her a beast because of what a great jock she was in High School and in College, but now folks she is a BEAST because of how she teaches, for the care she  shows her students, for the skills she passes on to them, for the encouragement she provides and for the love of teaching she clearly displays.  She takes great pride in her abilities, and her kids reap the benefits.  They don’t have all-star teams for teachers but maybe they should.  Allison would be a 1st team all-star every year.  Smiling proudly, she has been nominated for Teacher of the Year several times, and has been awarded that for her district.  

Folks, thanks for taking a few moments and listening to me brag about my kid.  Someday Cari (my granddaughter) will read this and have a great conversation with her mom, and they both will smile. 

As always if you have any questions, thoughts, concerns or comments please feel free to share them.  Thank you, Bill

 

 
29 Comments

Posted by on March 5, 2014 in Grandpa Stories, Humor, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

29 responses to “Beast, Beauty and she has Brains! …. A Grandpa Tale

  1. huntmode

    March 5, 2014 at 3:45 pm

    Hi Bill! This is one of those you want a LOVED button, not a liked button to plunk. The ladies in your family are going to treasure each and every story you write – ah, they probably already do!

     
    • FlaHam

      March 5, 2014 at 4:31 pm

      Hunt, That is so sweet of you to say, and I will be cranking out more personal stories about Allison and Cari. From time to time maybe about Steph, but she is a much more private person, and I will not disrespect her. Take care, Bill

       
      • huntmode

        March 5, 2014 at 6:54 pm

        Rather say, you honor Steph’s privacy. LOL – still correcting you, Bill – grin, sorry. HuntMode

         
        • FlaHam

          March 5, 2014 at 7:23 pm

          Hunt, I love you in spite of the almost constant corrections to my verbiage and lack of polish. I guess if I made fewer errors we would have less to talk about LOL LOL. If I remember correctly the very 1st time you corrected me I asked if you wanted to be my editor, you declined, so it is what it is LOL LOL. Please take care sweetheart, Bill

           
          • huntmode

            March 6, 2014 at 12:12 am

            You would take my temperature, Bill, if I stopped. Grin. (visual: sticking my tongue out at you). 🙂

             
            • FlaHam

              March 6, 2014 at 7:43 am

              Hunt, I am so so glad that I provide you opportunities to smile and giggle at my expense. If I remember correctly I once wrote a post on my poor performance in high shool a plaec where I could have learnt some of the nneded toosl to effectively write a blog. But I have you to correct me along the way, what more could a gyu need. So plaase don’t stop, I don’t want to be responsible for your temperature spiking. Besides you have a lovely tongue. Take care, Bill

               
              • huntmode

                March 6, 2014 at 10:39 pm

                Whoa, Nellie! You have to acknowledge you have no idea re my tongue – you are a flirt, mayhap even a scallawag – though, I’m reaching on that word.

                 
                • FlaHam

                  March 7, 2014 at 10:45 am

                  Hunt, You make me laugh my ass off ! ! ! Just how much of that vodka did you have before posting this. I hope you have a wonderful day. BTW — I will take full and complete credit for being a flirt. Take care, Bill

                   
  2. rebecca2000

    March 5, 2014 at 6:15 pm

    I love this post. It sounds like you were a fantastic dad. I can read in your words how much you love her. She is so blessed to have you.

     
    • FlaHam

      March 5, 2014 at 7:13 pm

      Rebecca, You have that so wrong, I was the one blessed, and yes I love her with all my heart and soul. Thank you, Bill

       
      • rebecca2000

        March 5, 2014 at 7:21 pm

        How’d I’d know you’d say that? I understand though, I feel that about my kids. I wish I could bottle the feeling I have toward them and share it with the world. I know there’d be world peace.

         
        • FlaHam

          March 5, 2014 at 7:25 pm

          Rebecca, You knew I would say that because your a very smart lady, with kids of your own, that makes you feel the same way I do about Allison. Thank you for your constant encouragement. Please take care, Bill

           
  3. Chatter Master

    March 5, 2014 at 7:29 pm

    Bill I laughed most of my way through that and said “awwwwww” as only a proud parent knows how to say. This was one of my favorite posts of yours!!!!! 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      March 6, 2014 at 7:34 am

      Colleen, Imagine her surprise, she doesn’t know I wrote this. But as a Dad I reserve the right to write as I choose. And especially for Cari to she can yak at her Mom in the years to come. Take care, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        March 6, 2014 at 9:53 pm

        🙂 It will be a wonderful conversation they get to have. 🙂

         
  4. Clanmother

    March 6, 2014 at 2:10 am

    Wonderful post!!!

     
    • FlaHam

      March 6, 2014 at 7:09 am

      Clan, When you write from love, the words come so easy. Take care, Bill

       
  5. jmgoyder

    March 6, 2014 at 4:16 am

    This Allison of yours sounds a bit like a clone of you Bill!

     
    • FlaHam

      March 6, 2014 at 7:08 am

      Julie, God I hope not, LOL LOL, poor thing. She is her own person, and I am truly proud of what she has grown into. The best part is that when I see her, I do see a part of myself, and I see how she has made it better. Take care of yourself sweetness, Bill

       
  6. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    March 6, 2014 at 9:37 am

    Agree with hunt, LOVED this! The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree, you and she=two great and talented people. xoxox

     
    • FlaHam

      March 6, 2014 at 12:49 pm

      Paulette, Thank you and I am sure Allison thanks you. My description of my daughter is only half as good as she really is. She has done so many things that I am proud and if I were to try and list them that post would probably be the longest post I ever wrote. Thank you and take care, Bill

       
  7. Helen Devries

    March 6, 2014 at 1:42 pm

    The love shines through in that post….so glad you have so much to celebrate in her.

     
    • FlaHam

      March 6, 2014 at 2:35 pm

      Helen, I have been blessed with a lovely and talented daughter, and I love her more than anything. Thank you for your sweet and kind words. Take care, Bill

       
  8. benzeknees

    March 6, 2014 at 3:30 pm

    It’s nice to get to know a little bit more about your family Bill!

     
    • FlaHam

      March 6, 2014 at 3:52 pm

      Benze, Thank you so much, I am so glad you enjoyed the story. I have shared many a story about my family, myself and my history, which you are more than invited to go explore and enjoy. Please take care, Bill

       
  9. Clowie

    March 7, 2014 at 9:12 am

    I think she’ll be very touched when she reads how proud of her you are.

     
    • FlaHam

      March 7, 2014 at 9:29 am

      Clowie, Trust me she knows, I tell her every chance I get. Your note makes me smile, because it makes me think of her. Take care, Biped Bill

       
  10. Wanda

    March 21, 2014 at 4:01 pm

    I think the only thing I knew about lacrosse before I read this post is how to spell it. I was shocked at the severity and frequency of Allison’s injuries. Then I went and looked at a couple of online videos–yikes! It was soon apparent why someone could get injured. All that said, I enjoyed this post because I know how much pride and pleasure Allison gives you, and I can imagine how much fun you had at her games.

     
    • FlaHam

      March 21, 2014 at 6:46 pm

      Wanda, Smiling, Allison when to her Junior Prom with a case on her foot, and I am sure we have pictures of her posing for her dance. She attacked the sports she loved and played hard to win. I was always proud of her efforts, and even though I didn’t get it originally (and still don’t know all the rules), I enjoy watching Lacrosse. Sometimes I would be quite obnoxious, but other times Steph was louder and more mouthy than me. LOL LOL As always thanks for visiting and commenting. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

