RSS

Movies with Allison…. A Grandpa Tale

12 Mar

This story comes to mind because yesterday my wife and I when to the movies, us going to the movies is a rare event, but the movie (Monument Men) was great, and I give it a solid 2 thumbs us.  But sitting in the theater with Steph reminded me of the hundreds of times I went to the movies with Allison.  Allison and I love movies and truly enjoy going to them together, though we haven’t been able to coordinate a movie together in months and months.  But this grandpa tale isn’t about today it’s movie or the wonderful date with my wife, it is about all those other movies I saw with Allison and I am sure more to come.

 

I can’t begin to tell you with any degree of accuracy what movies we saw together. But here is a partial list, Terminator 2, Harry Potter 1; Lord of the Rings 1, there had to be a drama or 6 and a few dozen comedies, and a sprinkling of horror (Maybe Scary Movie 1).  I can’t say how old she was our first movie date.  Though to be honest I suspect it was while she was in junior high that it really began in earnest.  Our movie dates always ensured we got to the theater in plenty of time to get some junk food and a soda’s before the flick, it allowed for perusing the billboards for coming events, making initial determinations of which movies struck our fancy, and finally going into the theater so we had 1st choice in seat.  Sidebar – today at the movie theater I most often use they have assigned seating, which is the single biggest piece of crap idea I have ever heard, especially when only 5 people are in the theater to watch a given movie.  Allison was of an age that we normally saw PG-13 movies, I don’t believe we saw our 1st “R” rated movie together until she was at least 16 or 17, that’s not to say she didn’t see them at home when we rented a blockbuster or 4 for a weekend, or managed to see one or more with her friends.

 

Folks, my daughter Allison is a giant chicken, she is the 1st one to cover her eyes when the blood starts to flow, if you pinch her at the right time in a movie she will come a foot out of her chair (I know, I have done this to her successfully dozens of times), blowing on her ear makes her shiver likes someone is walking on her grave, and saying BOO! Works real good even to this day.  It is for all of these reasons that I love going to the movies with her.  Another truth is that she acts the same way now (at 34) as she did when she was 12, she just slaps me harder now, when I get her.

 

Smiling, but if there is a downfall to taking my daughter to a movie, she has this single nasty habit, which is probably payback for all the antics I play on her. I have this one nasty, despicable, horrid, unscrupulous, and nasty, let’s just say bad habit when I go to the movies, I hog the armrest, and I am not a good sharer.  Allison doesn’t really care if I am hogging the armrest or not, she makes her claim, and will put her arm directly on top of me if she finds it necessary.  She also plays with the hair on my arm, twirling it or softly pinching it, just to let me know that she is not in total approval of my hogging the armrest.  But the minute she becomes intense, or feels something is about to happen that she will not appreciate, she does two things.  One she immediately takes her free hand and covers her eyes (like that’s going to help), and two (and much more important to me) is that soft twirling or pinching of the hair on my arm where her other hand rests becomes ten times the level of intensity.  And that soft twirling and pinching ends up being the Vulcan Death Grip on the hairs of my arm.  I will swear on a short stack of bibles that over the years I have most likely lost 4 square inches of hair on each forearm    from my daughter pulling it out during intense parts of movies. Hell she will do it during the credits LOL LOL.  Also trust me slapping her hand away does not save you.  Yes I always get that “gee Dad, I am so sorry!” line of BS, and you can tell its BS because of silly her grin on her face as she says it.  But I love her so I tolerate it; probably even relish it a bit.

 

In past years we have shared a meal after the movie, and chat like dad and daughter, these are the moments father’s live for, and I have been so fortunate to have shared so many with my daughter.  I hope you have enjoyed this story.  I am sure that when Allison reads this she will call and tell me for the umpteenth time how my memory differs from hers, and I will respond for the umpteenth time “that’s because they are my memories.”

 

Folks as always if you have any comments or questions please feel free to ask, you know I will answer each of them.

 

Also I have an announcement to make my daughter Allison Poindexter has started her own blog, Burning Candles, Perspectives from a wife, mother, and teacher who burns candles at both ends. She will be launching her blog on April 1, 2014 (how appropriate). If you get a chance, give her a look-see.  She is a hell of a lot smarter than me, she has written a book, and she spells and proof reads tons better than I do.  It should be quite good if I do say so myself.  Here is the link for her upcoming blog. http://burningcandlesblog.wordpress.com/

 
37 Comments

Posted by on March 12, 2014 in Grandpa Stories, Humor, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

37 responses to “Movies with Allison…. A Grandpa Tale

  1. addercatter

    March 12, 2014 at 1:30 pm

    What a great, endearing story! I wish so much that I would have had the same kind of relationship with my father, it sounds wonderful! I look forward to reading her blog, please post the link again when she makes her first post, I will likely forget! 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      March 12, 2014 at 4:47 pm

      Addercatter, Thank you for your kind words, I have been extremely fortunate as a dad. Allison and I have enjoyed a wonderful relationship and still do, in time I will share other stories about Putt Putt and go cart racing to name a few. Trust me, come April 1, 2014, I will be posting a blog re- announcing her blog. Take care, Bill

       
  2. Brenda

    March 12, 2014 at 2:11 pm

    I laughed really hard at the loss of all that arm hair, you poor man. I will be happy to check her out when she’s up and running. You sound like the best kind of dad. Huge smiles, Brenda

     
    • FlaHam

      March 12, 2014 at 4:50 pm

      Brenda, Smiling that’s the God’s truth, and Allison even posted an acknowledgement that it was true. She even admits that because she knew it bugged me she did it more. LOL LOL. She is still a brat. But I love her. Thank you for laughing with us. Take care, Bill

       
      • Brenda

        March 12, 2014 at 9:04 pm

        Well, at least she wasn’t boring. LOL

         
  3. benzeknees

    March 12, 2014 at 3:16 pm

    I don’t have any memories of movie watching with my daughter since I have always been night blind (so I can’t see to find a seat in the theater), have regular vertigo (so trying to walk down the dark ramp of a movie theater is like trying to walk a tightrope over Niagara Falls to me) & BPV (benign positional vertigo) which makes me dizzy at inopportune moments.
    Make sure you remind us when your daughter starts posting, I’ll never remember until April 1st!

     
    • FlaHam

      March 12, 2014 at 5:10 pm

      Benze, I am sorry your health issues prevented you from having that experience. It was a joy for me, and I am sure you would have cherished the opportunity. LOL trust me I will be reminding everyone come April 1 of her blog. Take care, Bill ps, would you prefer I address up as Lynda or Benze?

       
      • benzeknees

        March 13, 2014 at 12:51 pm

        Benze please! I thought I was keeping myself rather anonymous – until I googled myself yesterday! I was reading another person’s blog & they talked about how much information about them is on the internet, so I tried – guess what? There is a link there that says “Lynda —– is Benzeknees” So much for anonymity! At least my stalker doesn’t know my married name!

         
  4. apoindex

    March 12, 2014 at 4:27 pm

    At least you were honest about my age! And you’re right, fussing at me about your arm hair doesn’t really help you any.

     
    • FlaHam

      March 12, 2014 at 4:58 pm

      Allison, Thank you for admitting you did pull, twist, and find other ways to abuse the hair on my arms when we went to the movies. I have some good friends here in the blog world that will protect me, and come to my defense — LOL LOL LOL. Take care, Love Dad

       
  5. writetowag

    March 12, 2014 at 5:54 pm

    As always, love your stories!!!! I will definitely follow your girl’s new blog…great blog name she chose!!!! Our little one will be going to his very first movie theater movie to see The Muppets…We are so pumped!!!!

     
    • FlaHam

      March 12, 2014 at 6:50 pm

      Writetowag, I am so happy that you are enjoying my stories, I have as much fun digging them out of my way-back machine. But more importantly your taking your little one on his 1st Movie Adventure, think of the memories you will have, and stories you will have to share in years to come. Please take care and enjoy the Muppets. Bill

       
  6. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    March 12, 2014 at 6:12 pm

    What a great post. So happy to hear Allison has a blog site. I just stopped by and am now following her. Way to go father and daughter team!!! Loved going to movies with my parents. Lot of great memories. xoxo

     
    • FlaHam

      March 12, 2014 at 6:55 pm

      Paulette, LMBO trust me I am going to pump up her Blog LOL. Thank you so much for jumping on her bandwagon. She’s the smart one, it should be quite interesting. She tells me she has 3 posts staged already, so she will come flying out of the gate, unlike me who stumbled, fell, got up, fell, and finally got started. It will be fun watching her. And I have no doubt, that along the way she will tell a story or 6 about me. LOL LOL. Take care, Bill

       
  7. jmgoyder

    March 13, 2014 at 12:12 am

    I love your stories about Allison.

     
    • FlaHam

      March 13, 2014 at 6:55 am

      Julie, I love sharing them with you. LOL More to come. Take care, Bill

       
  8. huntmode

    March 13, 2014 at 12:18 am

    Ah, Bill, I had to scroll down so I wouldn’t see any of the other comments (13) before giving you my genuine reaction. LOVELY! I would have killed to have a story like this from my Da. She’s a lucky girl. I love the interaction between the two of you at the movies. Is your granddaughter the same style? Curious minds want to know…. Grin. HuntMode

     
    • huntmode

      March 13, 2014 at 12:19 am

      P.S. – the color scheme is changing much these days here on the Blog. Good on you, Bill!

       
      • FlaHam

        March 13, 2014 at 7:03 am

        Hunt, thanks for noticing, I was getting bored with the old colors and I am equally bored with the theme. But I have checked 100 other themes and can’t find one that suits me to the degree this one does. But I will accept suggestions. Take care, Bill

         
        • huntmode

          March 14, 2014 at 4:03 am

          Hopefully, your other fans will chime in on this, Bill. I picked my theme and it’s about as boring as it gets. I marvel at some I have seen, Rara’s in particular. She is so far out of my tech weight class, we’re not in the same galaxy. I want to write, not fidget with widgets. Grin.

           
          • FlaHam

            March 14, 2014 at 6:38 am

            Hunt, You have seen the complete range of my tech skills. I changed the colors, LOL LOL, I have seen some I like but Lord have Mercy, when I do the trial, I can’t say OH CRAP fast enough. So I guess you all are stuck with this theme. Take care, Bill

             
    • FlaHam

      March 13, 2014 at 7:01 am

      Hunt, I have only been to 4 of 5 movies with my granddaughter, and the first couple of times she wasn’t ready for the action on the big screen. So we bailed out before the movie really got started (it wasn’t just her and I). But the last couple of movies I went with her to she was great, no yaking, no wanting to run get more treats, at least if she did, her parents controlled it. And I never got to sit right next to her, so I don’t know if she is a hair twirler or not, but at home, watching something on TV she will curl up and enjoy. I know I would love going to the movies with her. Take care, be safe, Bill

       
  9. Chatter Master

    March 13, 2014 at 9:17 am

    Of course I’ll check it out Bill. And I can’t help but laugh at her “antics”. But in all fairness….if you did share the arm rest she may not have that opportunity. But then again…if you did that, it wouldn’t be as much fun. 😉 So it all works out.

     
    • FlaHam

      March 13, 2014 at 10:06 am

      Colleen, Trust me I had to fight to get the armrest, and as we have aged together I have lost more and more of those fights. But even when she wins she still screws with the hair on my arms. Damn kid. But I love her. Take care, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        March 14, 2014 at 6:46 am

        Bill you make me smile. “Damn kid” was the best thing I read all day! I can see you smile with memories when you say it!

         
        • FlaHam

          March 14, 2014 at 6:54 am

          Colleen, Any day or any of my posts that makes you smile makes me extremely happy. And clearly you have a window into my home, because I did smile as I wrote that, and I do have buckets and buckets of wonderful memories. Thanks — Bill

           
  10. Clowie

    March 15, 2014 at 8:39 am

    I’ve made a note of her blog address. I look forward to reading her version of events!!
    One of my bipeds covers her eyes during the scary bits in films!

     
    • FlaHam

      March 15, 2014 at 10:05 am

      Clowie, Thank you very much, I am sure you will enjoy her blog, she is quite creative. Smiling, I bet you give her comfort when she does, and I know she appreciates it. Take care, Biped Bill

       
  11. Marlyn

    March 15, 2014 at 4:37 pm

    The first time we took the boys tuna fishing we all slept on the boat the night before. We had a VCR on the boat so being a very good Mommy, I bought a movie for them. JAWS…. I’m still paying for that one:) Rest assured I will follow your Allison’s blog but I will always stalk you!

     
    • FlaHam

      March 16, 2014 at 1:12 pm

      Stalker, I think taking “Jaws,” which btw caused me nightmares when I was 30 LOL, on the 1st boating vacation you take your young sons is just pure evil LOL. If I were one of your sons you can bet your butt you would still be paying and paying and paying LOL LOL. In all honesty I had a “Jaws” related nightmare about 4 days after I saw it. And my wife still shares the story, and that happened 35 years ago. I am sure Allison will appreciate you following her, she is the smart one, and a much better writer than me. Take care, Bill

       
  12. Marlyn

    March 16, 2014 at 8:03 pm

    The boys/men are now teaching our Grandbabies the “family song”…. “I’m tired & I want to go home, sleepy and I want to go to bed. I had a little drink about an hour ago…..” You get the picture:) We took Sophie & Ella on there first boat ride when Joseph brought them to Fl. & sure enough he relayed the story & song. We’ll compare our evil legacies privately:) LMSAO

     
    • FlaHam

      March 16, 2014 at 8:57 pm

      Stalker, I think that is a great story, I can see it and it just makes me smile. I will hold you to it regarding the comparisons LOL. Take care, Bill

       
  13. Wanda

    March 21, 2014 at 4:19 pm

    Bill, another great post, and I’m really looking forward to Allison’s blog. I love the title and can’t wait to read what she comes up with.

     
    • FlaHam

      March 21, 2014 at 6:52 pm

      Wanda, I am looking forward to it as well. She is extremely talented, and she hasn’t given me a hint (other than her about me page) as to what to expect. But I am sure this, it will be well written and edited, unlike her fathers’ blog LOL. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

Life and scribbles on the far side of SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

