RSS

How I Feel for the Week ending 3.14.14……

15 Mar

Folks I hope you have had a pleasant week, mine has been okay, actually fairly good.  I have all manner of stuff going on today, so I expect this well be done sometime in the late afternoon.  As I have been prone to do recently, making a musical out of my posts, there will be a multitude of songs I will be referencing as I write this.  Our 1st selection comes from The Byrds, with Roger McGuinn, (for the uninformed) he was the frontman for the Byrds (I am such a music snob sometimes LOL).  I have listened to 3 selections including Mr. Tambourine Man and Turn, Turn, Turn.  But I will soon be listening to his solo album “Back from Rio” with King of the Hill, and Someone to Love both I consider to be his best work.  I will say this for Roger, he doesn’t waste a lot of time writing happy songs, LOL.  Below is the link for King of the Hill. Enjoy!  BTW that is Tom Petty singing backup.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jr1ozA6GeRs&list=AL94UKMTqg-9DT-_bHVz2kWurO6uOHuHpx

Last week I gave my health and overall feeling a 2.5 rating.  I am sticking with that score for this week.  While I feel marginally better, I don’t know if it is my head or my body that is taking the credit for that upward push.  Each day I seem to be redefining, what SOB (shortness of breath) means.  I have been diagnosed and dealing with COPD for going on 6+ years now.  As I have said countless times, it is not a disease where you look sick, but you really are.  SOB is one of the very few visible indications of the illness.  Right now if you were to watch me do just about anything sedentary, you would never have a clue I was sick.  Sometimes even that is a blessing.  But if you were the fly on the wall and followed my movements about the house as I do my Domestic King administrations, you would see the very real impact of COPD.  Seeing me stop to grasp onto a table or counter, stopping short of completing any tasks without multiple small breaks, or stretching my neck to catch a breath, are all the indicators you need. It FU…king sucks. My appetite is off a bit, which would account for a bit of my recent weight lost. There have been no changes to my current medicines and my only medical appointments for next week are with Doc Lungs, and my monthly IVIG treatment.  Other news includes that the gut retching cough seems to have to an end, with now only a simple cough, which is non-productive.

Let get the vitals out-of-the-way for the week ending 03/14/14

  • INR = 2.6 taken 02/24/14
  • O2 level @ 2.5 LPM = 93/94 average O2 for the week
  • BP 118/64 = taken 03/12/14
  • Heart rate = 102 taken 03/13/14
  • Temp = 98.4 taken 03/14/14
  • Weight = 269 taken 03/11/14 – I am eating less, and that’s the lowest it’s been for quite some time, I’m not looking a gift horse in the mouth.

So ends the technical aspect of my “How I Feel This Week” report moving now to the word of the week discussion aspect.  I have listened to a variety of songs by the Byrds, Roger Mcguinn, The Nashville Teens, and Zombies clearly it has been OLD SCHOOL today. 

As we shift to the word or phrase of the week, my music selections have change as well.  I am in a particular mood right now, so it seems a few selections from Rob Zombie seem appropriate. This week’s word or phrase is Documents and Documentation.  The reason for these words is quite simple, you need to cross the “T”s and dot your “I”s.  This advice isn’t just for the terminally ill, it isn’t even for the sick, it’s for each and every one of us.

As I have been told a million times you never know when your end is coming.  To protect yourself and those you love, you need to take care of the paper work.  So with that said, I will provide the book definitions for Document and Documentation, and then offer my 7 cents (up because of inflation).

Our definition of Document is brought to us courtesy of Yahoo at dictionary search yahoo.com

https://search.yahoo.com/search;_ylt=AkydiHiX_sDa7BSky2P2TxGbvZx4?fr=yfp-t-901-s&toggle=1&cop=mss&ei=UTF-8&p=document%20definition

Document Definition — n. noun – 1. A written or printed paper that bears the original, official, or legal form of something and can be used to furnish decisive evidence or information.  – 2. Something, such as a recording or a photograph, that can be used to furnish evidence or information. – 3. A writing that contains information.

Document Definition – tr. verb – 1. To furnish with a document or documents. –2. To support (an assertion or claim, for example) with evidence or decisive information. – 3. To support (statements in a book, for example) with written references or citations; annotate

Documentation Definition – n. noun – 1.  The act or an instance of the supplying of documents or supporting references or records. – 2. The documents or references so supplied. — 3. The collation, synopsizing, and coding of printed material for future reference.

I truly hope that me adding these book definitions to the words I choose to talk about is not overly offensive, I realize you’ll are very very smart, probably  smarter than me, but writing them out allows me to focus and not stray from my objective.  So if I have offended you, please understand it is more for me than you.

I am going to list the base line documents that I have signed, sealed and stored in a place that is easy to access in the case of an emergency.  Ease of access is really my key point in this.  You, your loved one, your spouse, significant other, your kids, care giver, and any other individual that is important to you must know where these documents are, and they need to be easy to access.  It does no one a lick of a bit good, if you are the only one that knows what documents you have, and that you buried them under a rock in the backyard.    — This has spilled into Saturday so now I am a day late and a buck short, but it will soon be wrapped up. — Music selections start today with selections brought to you by Melissa Etheridge, off her “Greatest Hits! The Road Less Traveled” she is another artist I am extremely fond of, and her rendition of Refugee ranks up in my TOP 100 favorite songs.

I have a 3 ring binder in my office that lists each document and in many cases the original of the document.  In the case of an emergency you just walk into the office and grab the “Bill’s Emergency Documents & Stuff” book (btw—this is a living document and as information changes so I make the appropriate changes to the book — you would need to get into this habit as well).  This book contains the following documents: A copy of my will, my DNR (Do Not Resuscitate Order) for the State of Florida, my OPM (Ofc of Personal Management) retirement handbook (which provides the needed instructions on who to contact and when to contact them after my death), my durable Power of Attorney, cover page and POC (point of contract) for each life insurance policy I have.  The list of documents also contains my personal account information for my ITunes and Barnes and Noble accounts. It also contains a list of my signons and passwords for the digital world I live in.  It also tells my wife which are important to me (or her) and why at the end of my retirement.   As I said this is a living document and changes and additions will be made as needed and as I get closer.  This is not meant to be an all-inclusive list; your list of documents will be slightly different.  Also if you’re reading this and you think I missed something please send me a note.

Before we get into Documentation, the music has move to Peter Gabriel, with a couple short stops with Phil Collins, Travis Tritt, Nickelback (surprise) and Muddy Waters.   It is incumbent upon you to leave behind all the useful documents that run your household.  Names and telephone numbers for the various vendors you use such as; telephone company, Cable provide, the handyman, lawn care provider, and on and on, you get the point.  If you’re anal retentive like me, you have all the warranties for the things around the house; stove, TV’s, ceiling fans, wine cooler, and on and on, again you see the trend. You’re other half has come to depend upon you over the years to have that information available, for the most part they don’t even have a clue, so setting it aside in some neat container will make their life much easier.  This folks is not repeat not gender specific.  Each individual in a relationship collects, maintains, updates, and disposes of household information on a regular basis.  One of them may do 99 percent of the family finances with the other pretty much clueless.  So when you start to gather your documentation remember this, and package in a neat and orderly way to help your other through what will be a difficult time.  I just spoke to finances; it would make things a ton easier if there were a whole separate binder just on checking, saving, investments, and all other money matters.  If the bulk of your banking is done electronically, and you’re doing 99 pct (like my wife does) detailed instructions should be provided so your partner doesn’t have issues getting into the accounts after your gone.

Again this week I have managed go on and on.  So with Garth Brooks filling my headset, I will bring this to an end.  If you have any questions, concerns, comments, or ideas please feel free to ask away. I hope you have a great weekend, and I will be posting again soon.  Take care, Bill

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

25 responses to “How I Feel for the Week ending 3.14.14……

  1. Helen Devries

    March 15, 2014 at 10:13 pm

    You make a good point…leave things tidy!

    A friend told me of a couple he knows where the husband had a stroke…and only he knew all the passwords to his online accounts: he could not communicate with his wife and she had a real pain getting it all sorted.
    The man is, thankfully, recovered…but everything is now down in a book.

     
    • FlaHam

      March 16, 2014 at 1:00 pm

      Helen, Thank you, I do try and provide quality info on these posts, and I should have used your line “leave things tidy.” That would have been a fitting conclusion to the post. Take care, Bill

       
  2. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    March 15, 2014 at 10:14 pm

    Sure do hope and pray you don’t need to have anyone going to that notebook with the documents in it. Liked the songs. Love to you!

     
    • FlaHam

      March 16, 2014 at 12:58 pm

      Paulette, soft smile, we all know to some level what our future holds. I am sure in time that book will come in quite handy. I am so so glad you like the music references. This comment is being brought to you by Eric Clapton and BB King. Thought I think my weekly “How I Feel” is becoming a rolling music review LOL. I hope the rest of your Sunday is Great! Take care, Bill

       
  3. huntmode

    March 15, 2014 at 11:34 pm

    Dear Bil, THANK YOU for this! I’ve been the one coming up from behind and even so, I’ve been slack on my own stuff – shame on me!

    While you mention the Other, with a capital O indicating significant or wife or husband, it is even more important when you are single and a friend or relative has to come in and make heads or tails out of it. And, for crazier-making style, some of us are security conscious and don’t want to leave passwords out and about… Helen, above, described it perfectly…. gives me goosebumps. In my case, I’ve a dog and a cat – if it’s just a short stint, I’d want my pet sitters to come in as they already have a key, they know the “kids,” their feeding schedule, etc. – my friend who is my attorney in fact lives an hour away. I would not ask nor expect her to try to take care of the kids as well as everything else that would hit her shoulders. I have an agreement with my pet sitters, even though I’ve been unemployed and not having to use them for quite a while, that if they get a call, they’ll be there for my kids.

    God bless you for this, Bill.

    Best ~ HuntMode

     
    • huntmode

      March 15, 2014 at 11:37 pm

      Agh! Bill, it is your lucky, lucky day – “Bil” should have read “Bill.” Huge grin. Enjoy me eating my own crow. Grin! or.. caw!, caw!,

       
      • FlaHam

        March 16, 2014 at 12:37 pm

        Hunt, I didn’t feel Bill, I only felt Bil yesterday. Besides they say the mind is the 1st thing to go. Also if I don’t make obvious spelling mistakes how are you ever going to find them? LOL LOL, Take care, Bill (clearly spelled correctly)

         
    • FlaHam

      March 16, 2014 at 12:44 pm

      Hunt, I used Other in my post to capture all the relationships that were not just a man and wife. Other was used for any 2 folks living together, and in all honesty when I used it, I meant for it to include singles that had to rely on a friend or neighbor during tough times. I could have been clearly, but my intentions like the road to hell were paved in gold. I can’t imagine going thru this alone, and each time I think of you, my heart goes out. Because you were one of the “Other” my post referred too. Please take care, and know that your thought of all the time. Bill

       
      • huntmode

        March 16, 2014 at 5:37 pm

        Bill, I reread the post and you are right. You did include singles inasmuch as “….You, your loved one, your spouse, significant other, your kids, care giver, and any other individual that is important to you must know where these documents are, and they need to be easy to access. …”

        I love the idea of the binder and will set one up this week. Thanks as always, Bill. Best ~ Hunt

         
        • FlaHam

          March 16, 2014 at 6:44 pm

          Hunt, I am glad your starting a binder, as you said in previous posts and comments, you live by yourself without a clear “other” and your potential care giver is an hour away. Please be careful, and take care. Bill

           
          • huntmode

            March 16, 2014 at 7:20 pm

            Well, cough, I did have everything in folders in my top left hand drawer of my 2 drawer filing cabinet – all neatly labeled. I just like the idea of the binder – easy to grab up for my friend to take with her. (Can’t have you thinking I was wholly slacking, Bill – 🙂 ! ) AND, I need to update those Estate docs, which have been in slow progress.

             
            • FlaHam

              March 16, 2014 at 8:10 pm

              Hunt, laughing my ass off, I didn’t say or assume that you didn’t have your documents at close and neatly at hand. All I said was that I am glad you like the binder idea. Still laughing you my dear are never slacking. I am sure you will keep your ducks in order. Take are, Bill

               
              • huntmode

                March 17, 2014 at 12:11 am

                I am so lovingly busted… there might be a smigen of gottabeperfect in the loop here…. grin.

                 
                • FlaHam

                  March 17, 2014 at 5:59 am

                  Hunt, smiling, You Think?!?! Take care, Bill

                   
  4. jmgoyder

    March 16, 2014 at 4:07 am

    Your positive spirit never ceases to amaze me – beautiful Bill!

     
    • FlaHam

      March 16, 2014 at 12:24 pm

      Julie, My dear all you need to do is look in the mirror and see why one of the reasons I am inspired. As much as I may amaze you, you weld that same power over me. Please take care, Bill

       
  5. Chatter Master

    March 16, 2014 at 9:13 am

    As always Bill you make us pay attention, with your humor and insight, to what we need to be doing. We have our passwords written down….but not sure I remember where they are! I’m glad you’re feeling better. Wish it would work it’s way back to a 3…..

     
    • FlaHam

      March 16, 2014 at 12:15 pm

      Colleen, Smiling, if the post helps you it a little better organize then the post was a success. I am doing the best I can with the tools I have, and I am not complaining. I woke up this morning with the sun in my eyes, that makes me the winner for the day. Who know’s maybe next week will in fact be a 3 week, and that is what I am shooting for. As always thank you so very much. Bill

       
  6. benzeknees

    March 16, 2014 at 6:10 pm

    I like your idea of having a binder with all your information on hand to take to the hospital, etc. Hubby & I have been discussing all these pertinent facts as well to make sure we are covering all our bases.
    Also, to look at me sitting in my recliner, you would also never guess I am disabled. Not until you see me huffing & puffing as I walk to the bathroom or leaning on the kitchen counter to catch my breath & rest my back to overcome the severe pain in my lower back. Invisible disabilities are a pain – because no one believes you are as sick as you are.

     
    • FlaHam

      March 16, 2014 at 6:53 pm

      Benze,

      I am glad you and hubby are working together to pull the necessary pertinent information to create a binder. It is never to early to start, and once you get it together updating periodically will make the transition easier. Take care, Bill

       
  7. Wanda

    March 21, 2014 at 4:29 pm

    So much good advice here. I advise family members to be sure they have a will, but the things you have done are so much more comprehensive. It’s a shame there isn’t a CAC card for regular folk–all the credentials one needs in one handy device. Of course, the security issues around that are huge–but you haven’t seen my password list either…

     
    • FlaHam

      March 21, 2014 at 6:55 pm

      Wanda, I have so dang many passwords and I am sure most other folks do as well, and yes they are written down. Because I couldn’t remember half of them if I tried. Smiling, as always thanks for stopping and commenting I do appreciate it. Please take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

