RSS

Pictures of Vanity and other fine shots…. A Grandpa Tale

16 Mar

I am 64 years old and have a wonderful head of hair, it’s about 95 percent white, and it is a flowing mane.  Yes I am extremely vain about my hair.  For years and years it was the only aspect of myself that I really really liked.  But as lovely as it is now (or so my stylist tells me), it had a much more powerful impact when it was a deep red.  No I was never a strawberry blonde, when I was younger it was RED with a capital RED! 

What brings this up you ask.  Well my wife and I have spent the last weeks shredding old documents, things that have been stuff in boxes, hidden in drawers, and stuffed in filing cabinets.  It was spring break for my wife, and this is a project she has wanted to tackle for months and who am I to argue with the boss.  I had suggested we just gather them up and have a professional company handle, but I was overruled, and to her credit she must have shredded at least 4,000 pages of documents that should have been destroyed years ago.  OK OK I know get to the friggin point Bill…. In a file cabinet in my office in one of the last folders we were going to search we came about a bunch of pictures, 1 of these I had been searching over the last 10 years.  Others are pictures of me in the Navy in my late 20’s.  I am going to share these photo’s for 2 reasons, 1) it shows my long RED hair, and 2) they show me almost skinny.

This 1st picture is my wedding picture, the very beautiful woman next to me is my wife of 35 years.  My hair is a deep RED and over the collar of my suit.  We were married on 10/07/78, I had been out of the Navy since March of 78, a week before this picture was taken was the 1st time I had gotten a haircut since that March.

Wedding Pic

 

This next picture shows me sitting on the deck in the cubicle where my rack was located, again it shows my RED hair.  BTW you have to back to my bootcamp picture to find a photo of me without facial hair.

Bill approx 28 (Navy)

This picture is of my rack onboard the USS Independence, I slept in this space for the better part of 2 ½  years.  In a posts a couple of months ago I spoke of this space, and I commented on how neat and tidy it was.  This photo was taken in a rare moment.

Bill Sailor in bed

This next photo was taken somewhere in the Mediterranean most likely in 1977, I am the stud in the middle with the hat. I wore that hat when departing the ship to hide the length of my hair.  I remember both the guys standing with me, and the guy taking the picture, and at the time of the picture we were as thick as thieves. But as each of us left the ship we never stayed in contact.

Sailols on Liberty

This picture was most likely taken in Hawaii in 1982 or so while I was in the Navy Reserve.  If I remember correctly my 1st two week active duty period was for 17 days in Hawaii.  I remember working my ass off and not really getting to do much tourist stuff.  I was working 12 hours a day from 7pm to 7am, and only had 3 days off during the period.  I would visit Hawaii 2 more times as a civilian with my wife.  We had a truly fantastic time.

Bill approx 31 . 2

The final picture below was most likely taken the same day as this, I appear to be wearing the same cloths with that same lost look.

Bill approx 31

This is just a goofy post to show off my red hair and skinny body, either of which I have today.  It is also intended to show off my wife.  She is just as pretty today as she was then.

Thank you for indulging me today.  If you have any questions or comments please feel free to ask.  Take care, Bill

 
27 Comments

Posted by on March 16, 2014 in Grandpa Stories, Pictures, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

27 responses to “Pictures of Vanity and other fine shots…. A Grandpa Tale

  1. DaydreamsInWonderland

    March 16, 2014 at 5:44 pm

    These are lovely photos & so are the stories that go with them.

     
    • FlaHam

      March 16, 2014 at 6:47 pm

      I am glad you enjoyed the photos, though the only one that was lovely featured my wife. The rest were of a guy with red hair. LOL Take care, Bill

       
      • DaydreamsInWonderland

        March 16, 2014 at 7:03 pm

        Oh stop! lol All memories are precious. 😉 Even the bad ones. Ask someone that has a relative with Alzheimer’s.
        P.S. You were a handsome young lad. Don’t be ashamed of that red hair. ♥

         
        • FlaHam

          March 16, 2014 at 9:07 pm

          Daydreams, I have loved my red hair, and I am happy it has aged to a nice white. Handsome no not really, but I was cute and still am LOL. On a more sober note, I have some experience with dementia, after several minor strokes, my mom developed dementia which worsened over the last 18 months of her life. I am assuming you have 1st hand knowledge, and my heart goes out to you. Please take care, Bill

           
          • DaydreamsInWonderland

            March 17, 2014 at 2:48 am

            I’ve known a few people along the way that had it towards the end of their life. None of them were relatives but it always breaks my heart.

            One of my aunts, however had brain cancer & that attacked a large portion of her brain – of course effecting her memory. So it mimicked Alzheimer’s – just not quite the same.

            On a lighter note, you have this warmth, Bill that comes straight through in your writing. I know I’ve told you this before. It can be felt in your comment responses too. Take care as well. ♥

             
            • FlaHam

              March 17, 2014 at 5:52 am

              Alzheimer’s reaches out a touches a lot of folks along its path. I am sorry you were touched even from a distance. Your welcome to visit as often as you like, and I hope that my future posts make you smile from time to time. Take care, Bill

               
  2. benzeknees

    March 16, 2014 at 5:54 pm

    It’s good to have memories to go back to, from time to time. There must be something in the air – hubby & I were looking for a certain document to help with my appeal this week, so we went through a lot of files & shredded a lot of old documents too!

     
    • FlaHam

      March 16, 2014 at 6:50 pm

      Benze, Smiling I am glad you and hubby were working together, though you didn’t say if you found what you were looking for or not. I hope so. Take care, Bill

       
      • benzeknees

        March 16, 2014 at 8:58 pm

        Unfortunately we didn’t find it, so now I am in contact with my former employer trying to get a copy from them but they’re being less than cooperative

         
        • FlaHam

          March 16, 2014 at 9:16 pm

          Benze, That’s to bad. Sorry to hear you having those issues. Take care, Bill

           
  3. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    March 16, 2014 at 6:58 pm

    What a handsome couple in your wedding photo and love all the others. You ARE and WERE SO CUTE!!!!! What a fun walk down memory lane with you. Hugs!

     
    • FlaHam

      March 16, 2014 at 9:12 pm

      Paulette, thank you that is so sweet of you to say, but Steph is the real beauty. I just got lucky. Take care, Bill

       
  4. Marlyn

    March 16, 2014 at 8:14 pm

    Only goes to show I have good taste in whom I stalk:)

     
    • FlaHam

      March 16, 2014 at 8:54 pm

      Stalker, Smiling you may have good taste, but I would suggest a visit to the eye doc LOL LOL. Take care, Bill

       
  5. Brenda

    March 16, 2014 at 9:54 pm

    Love the photos, love the red hair and love the pictures of your wife, she sure is pretty! 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      March 16, 2014 at 10:04 pm

      Brenda, Thank you, and yes she sure is. Take care, Bill

       
  6. Clanmother

    March 17, 2014 at 12:48 am

    It’s great to meet another redhead!!!

     
    • FlaHam

      March 17, 2014 at 5:53 am

      S M I L I N G yes it is indeed. Take care, Bill

       
  7. jmgoyder

    March 17, 2014 at 4:31 am

    More please – I love this!

     
    • FlaHam

      March 17, 2014 at 5:44 am

      Julie, LMBO what a gluten for punishment. I believe that is it of pictures of me with red hair. I will be going thru a bunch of random pictures over the next few weeks to write short posts. As for pictures of Steph and I, those are rare from 30 + years ago. But we shall see what we see, Take care, Bill

       
  8. Chatter Master

    March 17, 2014 at 5:54 am

    THE BELL BOTTOM YEARS! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    You and your lovely wife are indeed lovely! Most times when one looks at the pictures of the past there is LESS color. This time there is more! 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      March 17, 2014 at 5:58 am

      Colleen, It was both of our’s second marriage, so there wasn’t a lot of pomp and circumstance. I believe there is only one other picture of us poised and we were kissing in that one. But one I shared I thought was lost and had been looking for it for over ten years, and just happened upon it over the weekend. So it didn’t have much chance to fade. Take care, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        March 17, 2014 at 6:16 am

        🙂 I love that picture. All of them. And you and lovely wife do indeed look beautiful! I’m glad you found these.

         
  9. DeeDee Granata

    March 18, 2014 at 7:11 am

    Hi Bill! I’ve been kind of a loner lately. It was great to read your post and see your pictures. Hugs.

     
  10. Wanda

    March 21, 2014 at 4:35 pm

    Love the bellbottoms, the hair, the ship scenes, all of it. It brought back lots of memories of the Zumwalt years when the word “uniform” took a real beating, but it was a time when a Navy man had a fighting chance of fitting in with the civilian community. Thanks for the memories…

     
    • FlaHam

      March 21, 2014 at 6:59 pm

      Wanda, I can’t believe I was once that small LOL LOL. Those pictures had to have been taken before camera’s were invented. I remember the guy standing on the step above me, and I remember the guy taking the picture, but for the life of me I can’t remember the guy standing below me. You are 100 pct correct Zumwalt made it easier for sailors to blend, and he made sure we got some decent raises during his years. I will be grateful for that. The pleasure is mine stirring your memories. Please take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

