RSS

How I Feel for the Week ending 3.21.14……

21 Mar

Well I hope all my Irish friends have long survived Monday the 17th.  Having a splash or so in my system, I quietly celebrated, and didn’t turn any shade of green.  Not being green made the week more pleasant LOL.  Today my excuse is that is that I just got a late start putting this together, and besides knowing that music will be involved. Today we are starting with a classic.  The very first time I heard 1st Vince Gill’s “Go Rest High on That Mountain” was at my Mother funeral, it made me cry that day and every time I hear it now I cry. And when my time comes this song will be featured at my funeral. I have included a link for your pleasure.   Because even songs that reach deeply into your soul can be a pleasure to hear and be touched by.   Sidebar — as much as I love Vince Gill I only have one other song of his on my IPOD, the other is A Satisfied Mind.  Now moving on to music provided by the Dixie Chicks, I am looking forward to “Not Ready to Make Nice!” it is probably one of the most heart-felt songs I have every heard.

http://www.vevo.com/watch/vince-gill/go-rest-high-on-that-mountain/USUV70500229

Last week I gave my health an overall rating of a 2.5.  When I was addressing that rating I said that it sneaking towards 2.75, well it is still sneaking towards 2.75 and if I can get any breathe back I will indeed move it to a solid 2.75, but as long as the SOB is the ruling body, the best I will rate a week is 2.5.  I have no other significant medical issues driving me.  I don’t have any aches or pains, no headaches; all systems seem to be working properly.  Though today I am beat, exhausted, sleeping with one eye open.  I was up until 2 am this morning, watching my beloved U of L barely beat Manhattan Univ in the first round of the NCAA Tournament, it’s a wonder I have any fingernails left.

In the past I have been quite willing to grade on a curve, and equally willing to change my internal scale to accommodate what the disease is doing to me.  I have decided to maintain the grading scale I had before my last hospitalization.  This is my reality, changing the scale each time I need to justify my changing health isn’t fair, and it doesn’t present an honest picture.  When I started my blog, its’ foundation was honesty, and to show how I progressed thru the illness. I have come to realize that changing the scale really isn’t the honest approach.  I suspect there will come a time in the future when a 2.5 week is a damn good week.  I might consider adding a Mental Scale, that reflects how my head is doing dealing with the disease, and other issues that I encounter as it regards to the disease.

This all came about because last week I made an off-hand remark that my brain adjusts much quicker to my disease than my body.  Folks’ there is a lot of truth to that statement.  Attitude is everything.  My attitude has carried the load, and has allowed me to press on.  Sidebar – moving on to Joe Cocker now, “I get by with a little help from my Friends.” Which folks you are, and your help does help (without the getting high part).  The fact remains for COPD or any other traumatic disease the patient’s attitude will do just as much towards their recovery or functionality as taking all the required medicines does for their body. 

Let get the vitals out of the way for the week ending 03/21/14

  • INR = 1.7 taken 02/17/14 – dosage increased to 6mg Coumadin daily

  • O2 level @ 2.5 LPM = 92/93 average O2 for the week

  • Peak Flow = 250 taken 3/20/14

  • BP 128/76 = taken 03/20/14

  • Heart rate = 108 taken 03/20/14

  • Temp = 98.7 taken 03/19/14

  • Weight = 272 taken 03/20/14 – damn it – looks like I ate the gift horse

So ends the general health aspect of my “How I Feel This Week” report for the week ending 3/21/14, moving now to the word of the week discussion aspect.

As we shift to the word of the week, I am still hanging with Joe Cocker, but I can say that George Thorogood is next to hit the imaginary turntable.  We are starting with the live version of “Johnny B. Goode”, and will listen to some “Bad to the Bone” (Terminator 2), then off to “I Drink Alone,” most likely followed by “One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer,” to we see a theme developing LOL. 

This week’s word is PEAK FLOW.  The book definition will be taken from Wikipedia.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peak_flow_meter

The peak expiratory flow (PEF), also called peak expiratory flow rate (PEFR) is a person’s maximum speed of expiration, as measured with a peak flow meter, a small, hand-held device used to monitor a person’s ability to breathe out air. It measures the airflow through the bronchi and thus the degree of obstruction in the airways.

Function — Peak flow readings are higher when patients are well, and lower when the airways are constricted. From changes in recorded values, patients and doctors may determine lung functionality, severity of asthma symptoms, and treatment options.

First measure of precaution would be to check patient for signs and symptoms of asthmatic hypervolemia. This would indicate whether or not to even continue with the Peak Flow Meter procedure. Measurement of PEFR requires training to correctly use a meter and the normal expected value depends on a patient’s sex, age and height. It is classically reduced in obstructive lung disorders such as asthma.

Due to the wide range of ‘normal’ values and high degree of variability, peak flow is not the recommended test to identify asthma. However, it can be useful in some circumstances.

A small portion of people with asthma may benefit from regular peak flow monitoring. When monitoring is recommended, it is usually done in addition to reviewing asthma symptoms and frequency of reliever medication use.

When peak flow is being monitored regularly, the results may be recorded on a peak flow chart.

It is important to use the same peak flow meter every time.

Folks, this ends the technical aspects of the PEAK FLOW meter and measures. This was taken completely from of Wikipedia, but a quick search of PEAK FLOW on line will net you dozen’s inputs and you can feast upon them.  I chose this word this because the Peak Flow Meter is just one of the tools I use to monitor my health.   I am not saying run out and get one, I am suggesting that you talk to your doctor and see if this is a tool t that you should use in monitoring your health.  And as you’re well aware I am an advocate of you being involved in your health, the decisions, and the directions to be taken.  Of course you are consulting your Doctor at each stage of the way, but being aware of the things going on in your body are very helpful.

When I talk to Doc Lungs, I can say on this day my PEF was such and such, and on this day it was so and so.  I have even come to stating the conditions (weather or inside climate, pollen, things like that) if I find it particular high compared to my baseline.  LOL I don’t even know if Doc Lungs cares but he sure acts like he does.  Sidebar, I now have Jeff Beck with Rod Steward playing “Shapes of Things.” 

Smiling, it takes so much time to write this because of all the breaks I take to play air guitar, and sing along.  Lord so I sing terribly LOL, but I am home alone and no one can hear.  I will bring this to an end with Jim Hendrix’s “(I’m Your) Hoochie Coochie Man” 

If you have any questions, concerns, comments, or ideas please feel free to ask away. I hope you have a great weekend, and I will be posting again soon.  Take care, Bill

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

20 responses to “How I Feel for the Week ending 3.21.14……

  1. Brenda

    March 21, 2014 at 7:32 pm

    The Dixie Chicks rock! Glad the U of L didn’t let you down! We all need a little help from our friends. What a great song! I hope you have a great weekend, and continue listening to great stuff!

     
  2. benzeknees

    March 21, 2014 at 7:41 pm

    At least the numbers aren’t going down precipitously fast & that’s a good thing, right? I agree with you, adjusting the scale all the time really doesn’t do anyone any good unless you were trying to fool yourself? Like with me, right now I’m coughing a lot (non-productive) & fighting a sinus infection – I’m blaming it on the season, but just in case I’m going to see the doctor on Monday.

     
    • FlaHam

      March 21, 2014 at 9:42 pm

      Benze, I had adjusted the scale a once before, and that was fine at the time, but as you suggested it didn’t do anyone any good including me. So I will be using this scale for the duration LOL. Well it is the season for stuffiness, but seeing your doctor is the wise move. Take care, and be safe. Bill

       
  3. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    March 21, 2014 at 9:44 pm

    Gill’s song is a very emotional song, now even more so, my friend. Your attitude is the best, Bill. Love you so much for shining that bright bright light into this world. You’re a star! Love, Paulette

     
    • FlaHam

      March 21, 2014 at 9:54 pm

      Paulette, Without my friends I truly am nothing. For what star is bright if there is no one to look. So many of you in the blog world have made my days, and have allowed me a place to chat, entertain, and share the words on that which ails me. The love you all have given me has changed me for the better. Thank you, thank all of you. Please be safe my dear friend. Take care, Bill

       
  4. huntmode

    March 22, 2014 at 4:46 pm

    Dear Bill, love the interplay between you and Paulette! Glad to read the peak flow meter material. I’ve used one for a couple of years and keep a journal of “breath test notes,” doing the same as you, noting things that might have affected the score/rating. One thing, for me, I’ve noticed is that stress plays a huge part in my score. The more stressed I feel, the lower the score. The more I feel good emotionally and mentally, the higher my breath score. Thanks for all you have done, are doing, and all your ongoing work. xxoo HuntMode

     
    • FlaHam

      March 22, 2014 at 7:35 pm

      Hunt, Smiling, Paulette is my sweetie, but being honest, I have several sweeties in blog land, at least I have several that make me feel special whether I am or not. Hunt I had never really considered that stress could be a contributing factor in how I did on a peak flow check. But in review I can clearly see the impact stress could and has had on breathing. I have some old records (4 yrs) that showed me consistently blowing at 375 to 400 on a regular basis. And years before that I was blowing at 450 to 525 regularly. I am truly grateful that you find my “How I Feels” to be beneficial to you. When I started this it was my intent to be as positive, as helpful and informative as I could. It’s the encouragement and “light bulb’s going on” that motivates me and I appreciate it. Thank You, Bill

       
  5. Chatter Master

    March 22, 2014 at 8:10 pm

    First….I can’t blame you for loving Paulette! She is SO lovable! 🙂

    I’m glad your week is ending on a high 2.5. But I will feel much better when it pushes back to a 2.75. I’m so impressed with your open and honest reflection on your health and it’s always changing impact on you. It’s more than education Bill. It’s allowing us in to your world. Your home. Your life. And makes us want more and more for you.

    I hope your teams win and your week heads towards that 2.75. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      March 23, 2014 at 9:33 am

      Colleen, Smiling, I do love her, and I love you, and I love Hunt, and I love Julie, and on and on, and then there is my stalker that I love too. I am full of love, and love completely. I look forward to it pushing back to the 2.75 range as well, because that would be an accomplishment. But each day I get up is see the flowers from the correct direction, I take some guidance from the stick folks, and I am good to go for the day. A guy can’t ask for much more than that. I hope you have a wonderful weekend. Take care, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        March 23, 2014 at 7:35 pm

        Whoa!!! Do I know about the ‘stalker’?

        And Bill, you are love. Pure and simple love. I like how you see the world, share the world, and are part of other’s worlds.

        You make life better. 🙂

         
  6. Marlyn

    March 23, 2014 at 8:25 am

    Music has always been a bell weather as to where our heads are at…. Glad you went from “checking out” to “checking in” 🙂 To some that may be **s backward but for us…..normal! Thank you for explaining PEF & for being soooooo stalkable!

     
    • FlaHam

      March 23, 2014 at 10:50 am

      Hello Stalker, Nice to see you again. You pretty much tell what kind of mood I am in by my music preference at the time. LMBO, I can’t count the times I have been accused of doing things ass backwards, but like you say, it works for us. Take care, be safe. Bill

       
  7. Clowie

    March 24, 2014 at 9:08 am

    The music is beautiful. It’s interesting how music can trigger memories and emotions.

     
    • FlaHam

      March 24, 2014 at 12:08 pm

      Clowie, I recently had that very same conversation about the impact of music with a very dear friend. It was a good conversation, and I am sure if you and I had sat down together we would have had an equally good conversation. Take care, Biped Bill

       
  8. rarasaur

    March 26, 2014 at 5:25 am

    Just stopping by to leave some *hugs* 🙂 and let you know I’m thinking of you!

     
    • FlaHam

      March 26, 2014 at 3:38 pm

      Rara, Thank you!!! hugs are always encouraged, invited and enjoyed. Rara this is very sweet and I do appreciate it. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

