RSS

Moving the Household Step 2… A Grandpa Tale

27 Mar

Please refer to Moving the Household Step 1 for volumes (the 1st 2 paragraphs) of background information, posted on March 27, 2014.

 It needs to be understood at this point my wife had already departed Alexandria VA for Tampa because her new job required her to be in town and available for in processing for new teachers.  In addition new teachers were required to participate in at least 8 or 10 days of pre-school year instruction.  I had been left to attend to the closing of the sale of our home, the managing of the move from this end, and the final cleaning of the house before we turned over the keys at closing. 

Step 2:  The moving truck and crew would show up at the allotted time and begin loading. The truck and crew consisting of the driver who was an older guy not skinny but not fit, with cigarette stains on his fingers and bright yellow teeth, and his crew, who were, his cousin and nephew (Darrell and his other brother Darrell), both big burly ex-football lineman kinda guys who were quite capable of lifting and carrying a small 3 bedroom house belonging and all, had driven an empty truck 600 miles to pick up this load and take it to Florida.  They showed up two days before the scheduled pack date, which was not scheduled for 2 more days (in essence 4 days early), calling me at the office demanding I allow them into my home to start loading the truck.  I explained to them that the packers hadn’t even got there yet so they would have to wait.  

Apparently the truck driver called the parent company to complain that the customer wasn’t ready.  The parent company then explained to the driver he was there over 2 days early and would have to park his ass somewhere while the packers got the house ready.  The only reason I know any of this is because the truck driver explained to me in quite graphic terms that he and his crew had been parked at a local motel for 2 days waiting to load the furniture and boxes into the truck. 

The driver must have been in direct contact with Josey because not 15 minutes after Josey and her crew departed he and his crew showed up.  The driver demanded that he be able to start loading the truck, to which I said, “Why are you in such a hurry, you can’t deliver the load at the Florida address until July 18, and it was only the 10th of July.” He responded “Well shit! I will have this stuff in Florida in two days.” To which I replied, “The contract I signed mandated that delivery would take place 5 days after scheduled pickup, you’re trying to pick the load up two days early, take it up with your company”. Grumbling he got back on his cell phone with the company office and again was told to cool his jets.  I allowed him to start packing the truck on July 11th, and he completed the packing that afternoon. I told him I would see him on the morning of July 18th in Florida.  He said okay, and they took off.  

I will admit that they seemed to know how to pack a truck, and they didn’t destroy any of our stuff.  After they were done clearing the house of all the boxes and furniture, I cleaned the house from top to bottom.  Having been in the Navy I had a lot of experience cleaning, that house was spotless when I was done.  Next on my agenda was closing the sale of the house.  Then I went to closing and completed that task. I then took off for Florida on the 14th of July.  I arrived early on the 16th of July, and that evening while having dinner with my wife my cell phone rings, it’s the driver from the moving company, he said he was parked in front of the house and needed access so he could unload the truck.  I told him that it wasn’t going to happen, that we hadn’t even closed on the house yet, and we didn’t have keys.  I also reminded him that he wasn’t even supposed to be here until the am of the 18th.  This redneck truck driver finally lost his patience with me, started cussing and telling me how time is money and how he and his crew were losing money on this deal, and on and on and on.  I told to take it up with his company, and that I would see him am on the 18th, and hung up and turned off my phone.  At 5pm on the evening of July 17th, again the driver called and asked if they could come and start, the driver’s tone was different and I said sorry but no, not until the 18th.  He asked what time could they start, I told them I would be there no later than 7 am, they were parked in front of my new home at 630 am when I arrived with 4 cups of coffee and a dozen donuts.  After the coffee and donuts, the 3 man crew began the unloading process.  So ends Step 2 of Moving a Household.  

As always if you have any questions or concerns please feel free to ask. If you have any comments I would enjoy hearing them.  Step 3 (the final step) will be short and sweet compared to steps 1 and 2.   Please take care, Bill

 
24 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2014 in Grandpa Stories, Humor, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

24 responses to “Moving the Household Step 2… A Grandpa Tale

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    March 27, 2014 at 7:06 pm

    They’re two days early and blamed you. Luckily that one was sorted out. Glad they didn’t break anything. phew! Dare I ask what’s next?

     
    • FlaHam

      March 28, 2014 at 7:01 am

      Paulette, Smiling, because of circumstances beyond my control Step 3 most likely won’t get out until Sunday. Today is extremely busy, and U of L and U of K play basketball at 10pm eastern time, GO CARDS ! ! ! !, still another reason for the delay. But when I complete Step 3, laughing they got their ounce of skin when they unloaded the truck in Florida. Sweetheart, have a wonderful weekend. Take care, Bill

       
  2. Chatter Master

    March 27, 2014 at 7:55 pm

    Apparently this guys “listener” was broken. And kudos to you for being the gentleman and bringing donuts and coffee!

     
    • FlaHam

      March 28, 2014 at 6:55 am

      Colleen, I have found out over the years that the beast rarely eats the provider of food and beverage. Also I have found out over the years I managed, if I just let them vent, and was honest with them, they generally got over it and got back to work. It seemed to work this time. Take care, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        March 28, 2014 at 5:28 pm

        That’s a good lesson for me to remember Bill. For as much grief as they gave you they should have given you donuts!

        I hope you’re doing well. Looking forward to your “how your doing’ post. 🙂 Be well my friend.

         
        • FlaHam

          March 29, 2014 at 9:58 am

          Colleen, Smiling I figured a donut and coffee bribe wouldn’t hurt, and it didn’t. As you well know some folks just don’t get it, nor do they want to get it. The trucker was one such person. I am running late on my “How I Feel This Week” post and it may not even get out until tomorrow. But as a preview, the score remains the same. Take care, Bill

           
  3. Brenda

    March 27, 2014 at 11:10 pm

    Hi Bill, I’m guessing yelling at people usually works for him. At least he didn’t take his frustrations out on your stuff. What a story!! You’re a good memoir writer. I’m glad you are writing this down. Warmly, Brenda

     
    • FlaHam

      March 28, 2014 at 6:51 am

      Brenda, Thank you for your very kind words, I don’t know what the drivers back story was, and never really cared. He had a job to do, and I had a contract. But even with him grumbling and all the intimidation he tried, he and his crew did a great job of loading the truck. Nothing was broken, nothing scared, and they worked fast. I have come to really enjoy writing and in creating these memoirs (Grandpa Tales) it will be how I share them with my Granddaughter after I am gone. I appreciate that you think I write the stories well and that is important to me, thank you! Please take care, Bill

       
  4. Helen Devries

    March 28, 2014 at 10:25 am

    What happened to ‘the customer is always right’?

    Time in the services usually means that the skill of cleaning is learnt fast and well.
    We used to rent out houses for holidaymakers and when one family departed, the grandfather – ex RAF – had cleaned the house from top to bottom…better than a spring clean!

     
    • FlaHam

      March 29, 2014 at 10:01 am

      Helen, I and a good cleaner, I do big stuff real good, but I am not so hot on little trinkets and stuff like that. I am a bull I in the china shop kinda guy with the small cutesy kinda stuff. But give be a big empty house and some time and I can make it sparkle. Or used to be able to do so LOL LOL. I know it was a great surprise to you when you came in after those renters. A great big nice surprise. Take care, Bill

       
  5. jmgoyder

    March 29, 2014 at 12:10 am

    What a nightmare!

     
    • FlaHam

      March 29, 2014 at 6:55 am

      Julie, It was much more a PIA than a nightmare, and once they drove away, they were forgotten for 12 years, and became characters in a story for my Granddaughter. So they finally became quite useful. Take care, Bill

       
      • jmgoyder

        March 29, 2014 at 10:33 am

        Useful indeed – good point!

         
      • jmgoyder

        March 29, 2014 at 10:33 am

        What the hell is PIA?

         
        • FlaHam

          March 29, 2014 at 10:47 am

          Julie, smiling come on? you don’t know what PIA is? It really is quite simple LOL LOL, and you will kick yourself in the butt when I explain it. P = pain I = in A = ass Told you, you would kick yourself in the butt. Take care, Bill xoxo

           
  6. benzeknees

    March 29, 2014 at 4:04 pm

    You can see from Julie’s comment why I use PITA (pain in the ass) more often. Glad you stood up to the bullying driver Bill!

     
  7. DeeDee Granata

    March 30, 2014 at 8:39 am

    Haha, love your Darrell and his other brother Darrell reference.

     
    • FlaHam

      March 31, 2014 at 9:44 am

      Dee Dee, Yes I am a Bob Newhart fan, so of the early years of that show had me crying in laughter. Take care, Bill

       
  8. Marlyn

    March 30, 2014 at 3:06 pm

    And Step 3? I’m waiting….LOL

     
    • FlaHam

      March 31, 2014 at 9:46 am

      Dear Stalker, Step 3 will be published today or tomorrow. That being the 31th of March or in your case April Fool’s Day. LOL LOL Take care and be safe, Bill

       
  9. Wanda

    April 2, 2014 at 8:21 pm

    Our move from our RI house wasn’t quite that eventful–except that Art was the one at home the day the packers were there. They somehow managed to miss packing the contents of half of the lower kitchen cabinets, so we had to argue with the movers the next day to get them to pack up the remaining household goods (the blame game on steroids!).

    Did I mention that the movers didn’t get there until like noon?? They didn’t finish until loading until after 8 p.m., and we needed to have the house cleaned for the next day’s early walk through in advance of a mid-morning closing. So…we were there until very late cleaning, vacuuming etc. (yup, the Navy training came through again).

    Our buyers were a young couple with, I think, three, maybe four, young children. The only bit of conversation I remember from the walk through is that young mom saying something to the effect “this is the cleanest this place will be while we live here!”

     
    • FlaHam

      April 3, 2014 at 6:34 am

      Wanda, I have been moved twice professionals, once when I got out of the Navy and Steph and I had so little it was impossible to screw up, and they didn’t, and when we moved to FL. With the exception of the lack of professionalism on the part of the packers, and the scheduling issues with the actual movers, I suspect that my FL move was typical in so many ways. Smiling, that remark about cleaning, LOL, that is so true, my skill as a compartment cleaner sure came in handy, and really still do. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

