RSS

How I Feel for the Week ending 3.28.14… (sorry for delay)

30 Mar

The week ending 3.28.14 has come and gone, and it 725am on Sunday morning. But I am going to write this as if it were still Friday the 28th of March.  So the crushing defeat of the University of Louisville to the damn WildCats of Kentucky will not play in the assessment of my health for the week.  As I have been stating the SOB (shortness of breath for my new readers) is the dominant factor in how I evaluated my health in recent weeks.  Given that I will rate the week a weak 2.75.  This week has been particularly stressful mentally and therefore physically (which makes stress the word of the week). Sidebar musically we will start with the Allman Brothers Band “Statesboro Blues.”  

Last week I gave my health an overall rating of a solid 2.75, even with the stress of the week, I am only going to downgrade my overall health to a weak 2.75.  All things considered even considering a visit to my Dentist the week still gets a 2.75.  Last week I didn’t complain of headaches or any other aches and pains, this week again no out-of-place difficulties that I can define.   Also last week I briefly discussed adding the mental health factor into my weekly assessment, I am still noodling this around.  The more I think about the mental component of one’s health, the more I see the validity of addressing it on a regular basis.  I am pretty sure I can say, and that you would agree, a happy head helps the body stay happy. Sidebar, of course we had to have some Nickelback, so “Next Contestant” is blasting away.  

Last week I touched on attitude does help carry the body thru difficult times, but please don’t think for a second that I advocate attitude over medicine.  But a great attitude and good medicine is a very difficult combination to beat.  I truly believe this and as I said last week “My attitude has carried the load, and has allowed me to press on.”  This also bears repeating from last week “The fact remains for COPD or any other traumatic disease the patient’s attitude will do just as much towards their recovery or functionality as taking all the required medicines does for their body”.

Let get the vitals out-of-the-way for the week ending 03/28/14

  • INR = 2.0 taken 03/24/14 – level is therapeutic no changes in dosage
  • O2 level @ 2.5 LPM = 95 taken on 03/30/14  
  • Peak Flow = 225 taken 3/30/14
  • BP = not take recently enough to chart
  • Heart rate = 98 taken 03/30/14
  • Temp = 98.6 taken 03/30/14
  • Weight = 272 taken 03/30/14

So ends the technical aspect of my “How I Feel This Week” report for the week ending 3/28/14, moving now to the word of the week discussion aspect.  This week I have chosen Stress, for two reasons, one I have been under a ton of it this week (this was the prime reason) and 2 one of my good blogger buddy’s wrote a post about stress.  I have not read her post or commented yet so while we listen to some “Big and Rich,”  I am going to read and comment on her post.

There is the text book definition of stress.  Taken from: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/stress

Origin:
1275–1325;  (noun) Middle English stresse,  aphetic variant of distresse distress; (v.) derivative of the noun

Stress as a Verb

verb (used with object)  1. to lay stress on; emphasize.  2. Phonetics . to pronounce (a syllable or a word) with prominent loudness: Stress the first syllable of “runner.” Stress the second word in “put up with.”  Compare accent (  def 18 ) . 3.to subject to stress or strain. 4. Mechanics . to subject to stress.

verb (used without object) 1. to experience stress or worry: Don’t stress about the turkey; I promise it will be delicious. Dad is always stressing out over his job.

Stress as a Noun

noun 1. importance attached to a thing: to lay stress upon good manners. Synonyms: significance, meaning, emphasis, consequence; weight, value, worth. 2. Phonetics . emphasis in the form of prominent relative loudness of a syllable or a word as a result of special effort in utterance. 3. Prosody . accent or emphasis on syllables in a metrical pattern; beat.  4. emphasis in melody, rhythm, etc.; beat. 5. the physical pressure, pull, or other force exerted on one thing by another; strain.

The soundtrack has moved on just like time, we now have some Toby Keith playing “Beer for my Horse” which is a great tune and you can check it out on UTube, BTW as you can tell I have been all over the juke box today.  Okay back to the subject at hand “STRESS.”  Last Saturday my wife and I left the house briefly to go pick up a pizza.  We walked out of the house with the washing machine starting a load of laundry; we were gone for 25 minutes.  Now think about your home, ours is a single level.  Went we came home we saw water coming from beneath the garage door.  Stress level went to Decon 3, as the garage door opened, the water cascaded out, DECON 4, my wife jumps out of the car, races into the house and the utility room is flooded, the water is working its way down the hall, the water has seeped into the dining from by going under the wall, DECON 5 and we are at war with the water.  Within 2 minutes of coming in the house the water was shut off, but the damage done.  I spend Saturday evening thru Friday evening talking to the water cleanup company, our insurance company, the claims person, the folks that checked the washing machine 2 weeks prior to the accident, the insurance company lawyer, and the insurance company contractor who will repair the damage.  Not to mention the many levels of scheduling I had to do.  My day and week went from ho hum, to pulling my hair out stress.  It didn’t impact me, I really didn’t feel much, for 30 years I worked in that type of environment, it really had no impact on my head at all, and actually it was like old home week.  But my breathing took a beating, each day the situation, the calls, the meetings, the calls from the wife wanting updates, all played a part and my breath got shorter and shorter, by the weekend I was having issues pushing air.  That my friends is a clear result of stress.  Mentally it was no challenge, physically it abused me.  

In response to my friend’s post I wrote in part the following: “I really think it is in the makeup of the individual, their soul for a lack of a better term, in how an individual deals with stress.   Taking your example a touch further if those same two individual encountered 10 identical “stressful” situations, that there is a good chance that you could get completely different reactions from the individual depending on which situation occurred.  In some cases neither of the individuals would be affected at all, while in others both could react the same way.

To further muddy up the water, I feel that in addition to an individual’s soul an individual’s environment plays a significant role in how they react to a “stressful” situation.  Life experiences, age, sometimes their sex may have an influence, but these are all just contributing factors.

In the past year you have been pulled in so many directions, you have had so many outside influences impacting you and your world.  It is easy to see how stress can impact you.  It is easy to see how some influences impact you more than others.  And for all of these reasons it is easy to see how you could react differently.  But your own answer is clearly one of the keys “Perhaps the answer to the stress question is this:  Accept what is; make the most of every single hour of every single day; and get back on that bicycle!” “

If you notice not once did I mention the physical impact stress has on an individual, I spoke at length to the mental component but again failed to get into the physical.   It wasn’t until I came back to this post and start writing again did it dawn on me the very real impact that the stress of dealing with washer issues had on my body and my ability (or lack of) to breathe.  But my friend didn’t address how stress had physically impacted them. But you can bet in the future I will pay closer attention to stress as it relates to my breathing.

I really didn’t answer a question, I just put this out for thought, maybe as a reminder to all of us, that when we are in a stressful time not only is our head affected but so is our body.

Trust me a lot of music has played since I started this, but it has gone on long enough, so no more sidebars today on music. If you have any questions, concerns, comments, or ideas please feel free to ask away. I hope you have a great weekend, and I will be posting again soon.  Take care, Bill

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

21 responses to “How I Feel for the Week ending 3.28.14… (sorry for delay)

  1. onewayhealthier

    March 30, 2014 at 7:08 pm

    Here is to a better week my friend

     
    • FlaHam

      March 31, 2014 at 11:58 am

      Oneway, The week has started great! I woke up! Smiling, thank you for your good wishes, I truly appreciate them. Not every day is stressful, nor they all good or bad. I take them one at a time, and make the most of whatever comes my way. Take care, Bill

       
  2. Brenda

    March 30, 2014 at 8:07 pm

    Bill, glad your health has not declined. Love the Allman Brothers. Hate stress. I hope your breathing recovers again. Sorry to hear about the Great Flood. Here we are dealing with rain and mud, but at least it’s outside. Hugs, Brenda

     
    • FlaHam

      March 31, 2014 at 12:02 pm

      Brenda, Laughing, well maybe not. We had a ton of water damage, but it made me realize just how terrible it is for folks who do get flooded out. It was a second learning lesson. And I am happy we had the proper insurance to take care of it. I think the main aspect of stress is over, now the waiting game begins. My breathing is pretty much back to normal (my normal) already, so I am good to go. Take care, Bill

       
  3. Helen Devries

    March 30, 2014 at 9:07 pm

    You are so right about your own mental attitude and about the physical effects of stress…and it is something my husband’s doctors enquire about when they see him…how is he approaching the state of his health, is he monitoring it, is he making observations and records, is he making adjustments to his life…is there anything bothering him and if so how can it be dealt with.
    I tell you, these Costa Rican doctors are something else!

    I have a feeling that you could still build an ark if necessary should the washing machine play up again…

     
    • FlaHam

      March 31, 2014 at 12:06 pm

      Helen, It sounds like your husband is in good hands and that you’re extremely glad about it. He is getting great advice. Smiling, the wife and I have discussed a million things, trying to come up with a plan should the unthinkable happen a third time. Try we might, we can not come up with a viable plan to lessen the damage, without spending thousands upon thousands to do it. So we are going to do the best we can and pray it doesn’t happen again. Take care, Bill

       
  4. jmgoyder

    March 31, 2014 at 5:03 am

    Great minds think alike, Bill and thanks for the above comment on my blog (which I haven’t replied to yet). Yes, stress is a complicated thing for sure and I am certain this skin disease I’ve acquired is 90% due to stress and I’m not surprised your SOB got worse with the water catastrophe – hell! I hope you feel a whole lot better next week. xx

     
    • FlaHam

      March 31, 2014 at 5:28 pm

      Julie, So far so good, I have only been called twice today for a status check LOL. Stress as we have discussed is a hidden factor, because it can manifest itself in so many ways. and cause so many ills. And sometimes we become so used to the stress causer, we lose sight of it. And I am sure we are both guilty of that from time to time. My week is going good, it is only Monday and there are so many opportunities for it to become FUBAR. Take care, Bill

       
  5. Chatter Master

    March 31, 2014 at 5:48 am

    That was quite a crapload of stress Bill. Physical or mental. Throughout all of it I’m glad you maintained a 2.75, even if it was weaker.

    I do notice a my physical well being is affected with stress. It either pushes me more to be physical, or I have no energy to be physical. It is one or the other…very demanding of using up energy or very demanding that I do absolutely nothing. It depends on the kind of stress. Angry stress usually puts a lot more energy in to me.

    And this is my favorite line of yours today: “But a great attitude and good medicine is a very difficult combination to beat.” I so very much agree Bill.

    I hope everything gets dried out, fixed up right, and your numbers increase with that fabulous attitude of yours.

     
    • FlaHam

      March 31, 2014 at 5:37 pm

      Colleen, Smiling most of the hoops have been jumped thru and most of the “T”s crossed and “I”s dotted. Tomorrow we meet to discuss scheduling, which will be only a minor inconvenience. So most things are good. As I was telling Julie, sometimes we have stressor’s in our lives that we become so used to them that we don’t take them into account when we have an ailment. I will go so far as to say that if I am not specifically asked I don’t even think to bring it up to my doctors. And I suspect many are that same way. Colleen, it is friends like you that keep my numbers elevated to begin with, you’ll make it so easy for me. Can’t thank you enough. Smiling, yes my attitude is right for me, and allows me to get pass a lot of things. Take care, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        March 31, 2014 at 7:52 pm

        🙂 Bill if there is anything at all that I do that makes your day brighter or smile greater, I am thrilled. It is amazing what positive feedback and support can do for someone.

        And my standing rule of thumb for my doctor? I tell him what’s wrong and remind him that his job is to 1-tell me it’s not serious and 2-tell me I can still ride my bike.

        🙂

         
        • FlaHam

          April 1, 2014 at 6:51 am

          Colleen, Each of your posts has a positive impact on my day. Each time I read your comments to my posts has a positive impact on my day. Trust me my lady you, you are doing a great job of keeping a smile on my face. I like your rules for the doctor, I wish I could ask those same questions. But I don’t have a bike. Take care, Bill

           
          • Chatter Master

            April 1, 2014 at 8:08 pm

            No bike? No worries. I have enough for all of us!

             
            • FlaHam

              April 2, 2014 at 6:31 am

              Colleen, Okie Dokie, I will need one with a little basket between the handle bars for my oxygen machine. Then I would be a sight. Take care, Bill

               
              • Chatter Master

                April 2, 2014 at 8:25 pm

                I would do that for you Bill. 🙂

                 
                • FlaHam

                  April 3, 2014 at 6:36 am

                  Colleen, Thank you, you make me feel so special. Take care, Bill

                   
  6. benzeknees

    March 31, 2014 at 12:29 pm

    Bill, since I suffer from Anxiety & Panic Disorder, I am well aware how stress can effect your body. I have “soldiered on” for many years, but I think it is playing a huge part in how I am handling COPD. With our money troubles, the worries about disability, etc. there have been many days when I have felt quite bad (according to the disability people worse than I should be feeling). Disability may try to convince me I am not “sick enough” but they fail to account for the stress adding to the mix.
    Another thing adding to my poor health is something I have again added to my experience. While I was using Flovent I noticed my breathing would get worse during the time when my inhaler was getting low. Even though I might have half a dozen puffs still available in the puffer, those last few puffs never seemed to have the same strength for me to help with my breathing. I have now noticed the same thing with Advair. My SOB increased over the last half dozen puffs left in the inhaler (even though Advair has a handy “counter display” of the number of puffs left). This morning I started a new puffer, so I expect I will feel better in the next day or so. Have you noticed this as well?

     
    • FlaHam

      April 1, 2014 at 7:00 am

      Benze, You have a ton of issues you are dealing with on a day to day basis, I am very proud of how you keep it together. Health and financial issues are giant stressors, coupled with the continuing battle over disability would keep many a folk in a deep rut. I have not encountered any SOB issue that I could relate to the last few puffs of my Advair inhaler. I know sometimes the slot may not have any medicine in it, because I don’t get that tiny grainy taste in my mouth. But otherwise, I take as prescribed, and I haven’t had any of the issues you outlined. That is clearly something you need to address with your doctor asap! Please keep hanging in there and keep fighting the good fight. Take care, Bill

       
  7. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    March 31, 2014 at 8:40 pm

    Sending you a very special cyber hug in hopes it helps reduce some of the stress you’ve been experiencing. BIG BIG BIG HUG TO YOU MY SPECIAL FRIEND. ❤

     
    • FlaHam

      April 1, 2014 at 6:45 am

      Paulette, Cyber hugs and real ones gladly accepted LOL. The stress is starting to diminish, and the house should be back to normal soon, I hope. LOL Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

