RSS

Moving the Household Step 3… A Grandpa Tale

31 Mar

Please refer to Moving the Household Step 1 for volumes (the 1st 2 paragraphs) of background information, posted on March 27, 2014.  Step 2 was also published on March 27th.

For those who have not been following along my wife and I moved our household from Northern Virginia to Florida in 2002.  To me it seemed like it would be a simple task. You contract with a moving carrier, they come on a defined day and pack your belonging (Step 1), then on the next defined date they come and load all your belonging into a truck and move it to the new address (Step 2), and finally at the new address they would unload the truck, setting up furniture, and putting clearly marked boxes in the appropriately marked rooms in the new home (Step 3).  The process as written here would appear quite straight forward and relatively simple, “NO NO NA NA’ to quote John Pinette.  Enjoy parts 1 and 2 to see what I mean.

We finished part 2 with me sharing coffee and donuts with the truck driver and his crew, who were, his cousin and nephew (Darrell and his other brother Darrell). Sidebar, we just finished listening to Five Finger Death Punch’s “Bad Company.”  That seems so appropriate. So without further delay let’s wrap this up.

Step 3: on scheduled move in date, the truck would arrive and unpacking and set up would begin and finish.  After coffee we discuss the plan for unloading the truck, we walked the house (each room clearly marked with big RED signs).  The furniture was to be brought in 1st and set up, followed by the boxes. I had an inventory of the boxes and would check them off as they were brought into the house. My job was to be the traffic cop, I would direct traffic, I would say this piece of furniture goes in this room or that room until all the furniture was off the truck and set up as I defined, and (of course I was working from orders from my boss).   Because the movement and placement of furniture was quite specific it was really hard to screw this up, but I will give Darrell and Darrell credit they tried their very best and were quite successful in many instances.  But after butting heads a few times the furniture was placed where the boss wanted it placed.  Sidebar we now have Gemini Syndromes “Stardust” playing. 

Now the difficult task was to start, each box had a number that corresponded to the packing list.  The list had a box number, and the room from which it came from the house in Virginia.  For instance the fancy plates and stuff were packed in boxes marked dining room.  The everyday plates were in a box marked kitchen. Loose stuff that was drawers of end tables in the living room were marked “Living Room” and on and on.

In my role as traffic cop, I stood at the front door, and as a box or 6 came thru the door I would mark it off the master list and direct it to the proper room.  I would look at the list if the box came out of the master bedroom I would mark the box 1 to correspond to the sign on the door of the master bedroom, bedroom 2 would go to room 2, and on and on.  This process seemed to work real well or so I thought.  Sidebar, we are now listening to 3 Doors Down. When they took their first smoke break, and I used that time to do a walk about the house to see how things were going, and I would find a box 3 in room 2 or a box 1 in the family room, and when smoke break was over I had them move those boxes to the proper room.  But with the sheer quantity of boxes and the furniture in the rooms, the rooms were becoming impassable. So I made a command decision that the overflow go into the garage. That first smoke break was the last time they took a smoke break together, from that point on at least 2 of them were bringing things into the house.  If I needed a break they just stacked stuff in the garage.  The problem was I was 1 guy with a list dealing with 3 guys trying to empty a truck as fast as possible. In all my years in management I had never really dealt with gentlemen with these skill sets and inability or desire to follow direction.  But then I was dealing with Darrell and Darrell.

As the unpacking continued I recognized a serious problem in the process. The problem was; that the boxes were marked by one person by which room they were packed. But they were packed into the truck by 3 guys according to weight and size without regard to what room they came from.  They come off the truck last box on, was the 1st off the truck. So rarely did 2 boxes come pass me going to the same room. Sidebar we have been listening to a selection of songs from the Byrds, CSN&Y, Buffalo Springfield and Charlie Daniels.  This kept me jumping all over the inventory list.  When the final box was off the truck, my checking of the inventory found there to be about a 20 box difference from what I checked off, and what was to be delivered.  So we had to painstakingly find those 20 boxes, after 45 minutes of searching I was satisfied that we had accounted for all of our belonging.  What a major P I T A!!!!

The driver and Darrell and Darrell started unloading the truck at approximately 7:15am they were pulling out of my driveway a little after noon. I was never happier to see someone leave my home as I was that day when they left.

This concludes Step 3. In the future I may actually write about unpacking over 100 boxes and the process for getting rid of all that cardboard and packing paper, not to mention what I discovered opening each box, it was like Christmas LOL LOL.  As always if you have any questions or concerns please feel free to ask. If you have any comments I would enjoy hearing them.   Please take care, Bill

This is my 250th post since starting my Blog in June 2012,  and it gives me great pleasure to remind you that my Daughter’s Blog “Burning Candles” debuts tomorrow April 1, 2014. It can be found at the link below.  Thank you for giving it a look. Take care – Bill

 http://burningcandlesblog.wordpress.com/

 
22 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2014 in Grandpa Stories, Humor, Observations, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

22 responses to “Moving the Household Step 3… A Grandpa Tale

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    March 31, 2014 at 8:29 pm

    What a great post to mark your big 250. Thank goodness it felt like Christmas, lol. What a good sport you are. xoxo

     
    • FlaHam

      April 1, 2014 at 6:48 am

      Paulette, Smiling, I just tackled it as I would anything else on box at a time. Music was blaring in the back ground, I was kinda meeting the neighbors, and the work was steady, one box at a time. At least it wasn’t 250 boxes. Take care, Bill

       
  2. apoindex

    March 31, 2014 at 9:04 pm

    Did I miss where you’ve been commenting what you’re listening to? You’ve been doing that more lately. It’s kinda funny, like listening to you think 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      March 31, 2014 at 10:33 pm

      Allison, Since I got these great headphone for Christmas I have been really firing up the IPod, and quite loudly to boot. Yes my music selections go with my mood, and I sit here and write, and I am in my own little world. I started reporting what I was listening to about a month or so ago, and some folks like it, and I don’t think I have offended anyone with my music selections. Some folks comment purely on the music. That’s great too. Take care, Love Dad

       
  3. Chatter Master

    April 1, 2014 at 5:43 am

    Ah Bill. Every time I move I say I will never do it again. This last time I doubly meant it. Over three years ago we moved, there are still things we move that have never been unpacked since the last time I moved before that. 😉 At least now they have left the house. Now all that’s left is to put everything away. 😉

     
    • FlaHam

      April 1, 2014 at 6:44 am

      Colleen, We have been in the place for 12 years now, and there are things (plastic binds and drawers), I haven’t looked in because I don’t need to know or see what I have done without over those 12 years. Moving is difficult at best and only gets more difficult. At least I know I am not moving anymore. As for putting things away, for 6 months after the movers left my driveway, every time I came to Florida for a long weekend, or vacation, involved unpacking, or reorganizing, or yet some other move related job. YUK! Take care, and have a great day!! Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        April 1, 2014 at 8:08 pm

        That’s a long moving in process. I keep telling husband that if he throws things out or gets rid of them without telling me I’ll NEVER know I’m missing it!!! But if I go through it I’ll find a reason to keep it!

         
        • FlaHam

          April 2, 2014 at 6:30 am

          Colleen, I think that works for most couples me and my wife included. And I actually think that might have taken place many years ago during this move, things just didn’t get down here from Virginia for whatever reason. But that being said, that as close to an admission as you will get me. Take care, Bill

           
          • Chatter Master

            April 2, 2014 at 8:25 pm

            Hahahahahahahaha! No admissions needed here!!! I wouldn’t want husband here admitting either. Because then I would lament over what I found out he threw out or gave away ten years ago even though I never knew I missed it! 😉

             
            • FlaHam

              April 3, 2014 at 6:35 am

              Colleen, Sometimes us husbands actually learn when to keep our mouths closed. I am not saying it is often but sometimes LOL LOL. For just the reasons you stated. Please take care, Bill

               
  4. Clowie

    April 1, 2014 at 7:03 am

    Moving is hard work. My bipeds also have unopened boxes and have no idea what items are in them that it was necessary to move, but they haven’t needed for a few years!

     
    • FlaHam

      April 1, 2014 at 11:47 am

      Clowie, Indeed it is very difficult, and I am not the least bit surprised that you bipeds have unopened boxes. Smiling, it is clear though that they haven’t missed much of what they unpacked. I know for a short time as I was unpacking, if I really really needed something I knew was in one of the boxes, I would lose my patience and go buy a replacement. That raised the price of moving LOL. But I am glad I won’t have to do that again. Take care, Bill

       
  5. Helen Devries

    April 2, 2014 at 11:56 am

    When we moved from the last house in France we had boxes unopened from the previous move nine years before….

     
    • FlaHam

      April 2, 2014 at 1:56 pm

      Helen, My dear I am afraid if I hadn’t opened them in 9 years they would have stayed in France. Smiling, but that is just me. Take care, Bill

       
      • Helen Devries

        April 2, 2014 at 8:44 pm

        They’re down at the house in Spain now….and proved to be very useful – kitchen stuff I’d forgotten about!

         
        • FlaHam

          April 3, 2014 at 6:42 am

          Helen, Smiling, a positive outcome to a moving (or lack there of) project. That’s like having your own Christmas. Take care, Bill

           
  6. Wanda

    April 2, 2014 at 8:31 pm

    Our move had the additional wrinkle that our goods arrived in FL before we closed on the house. As a result our movers had an easy job of it–things either went into an air-conditioned unit (upholstered furniture, mattresses, etc.) or into an outdoor unit (either what wouldn’t fit in the AC one or what we hoped would survive the FL humidity).

    Once we finally closed on the house, Art and I spent several days going back and forth between the storage place and the house, little by little bringing our things home.

    Remind me sometime to tell you about the adventure of getting the top half of our china cabinet in place…

     
    • FlaHam

      April 3, 2014 at 6:40 am

      Wanda, You and Art amaze me!! Had that happened to Steph and I, I am sure there would be little pieces of Steph stuck to all manner of things after the explosion. I look forward to hearing this. Take care, Bill xox

       
  7. benzeknees

    April 8, 2014 at 4:34 pm

    Having moved a number of times, I can appreciate your pain Bill.

     
    • FlaHam

      April 9, 2014 at 12:33 pm

      Benze, Laughing out loud, I will gladly accept all of your appreciation. Take care, Bill

       
  8. DeeDee Granata

    April 9, 2014 at 7:30 am

    Congrats on post 250! And you are way too organized. I’d have ripped up that list of boxes long before I even finished making it.

     
    • FlaHam

      April 9, 2014 at 12:42 pm

      Dee Dee, I am so anal about somethings. During the process I wanted to rip the guys unloading the truck, they were so unorganized in their approach it was making me insane. But they waved their rules at me, so damnit I followed, and they couldn’t leave until they had a signed copy of the inventory. So once they figure that out, they were quite happy to dig in and help find the unaccounted for boxes. And I took my time checking them off. Take care, thanks as always for you continued support, comments, and well wishes. — Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

Life and scribbles on the far side of SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

