RSS

How I Feel for the Week ending 04/04/14……

04 Apr

For the week ending 04.04.14 I am actually starting this post in a timely manner, that’s not to say that it will be finished in a timely manner.  The memory of Louisville’s lost to Kentucky has not completely faded and I am not watching anymore of the NCAA tournament in fear that Kentucky may actually win if I watch. I am just saying that my 2 favorite college basketball teams are Univ of Louisville and any team beating the univ of kentucky.  Sidebar, we are starting today with Eric Clapton, from his blue’z times.  SOB continues to be the overriding health issue, also this week I felt I was in the beginning stages of another exacerbation and I was greatly concerned (and still am to somewhat lessor degree).  I did see the nurse yesterday, my lungs are clear, and the drippy nose, the nagging non-productive cough and the scratchy eyes are the result of the damn pollen.  But as anyone with COPD or for that matter any respiratory ailment will attest, these symptoms always cause great concern. My general health is okay, no aches or pains and I survived the dentist last week without even getting a lecture. As stated the most significant issue of the week has been the pollens, and the concern that caused me. Given all the relevant information I am going to rate the week a strong 2.5, or to please some of my readers a very very weak 2.75, you choose.  It’s really only slightly down from last week, but laughing it has been a difficult couple weeks.  All things considered when I woke this morning, I knew I was going to have a GREAT DAY!

Last week I spoke briefly of attempting to add mental health into the evaluation for the weekly rating and I am still pondering that. Sidebar, this talk of mental health has had me reach for Sarah McLachlan, go figure (but she has such a beautiful voice).   As most of you have long figured out I am the eternal optimist, and that alone has helped me so much over my lifetime, but even more so in recent years since I have fought this battle with COPD.  If my weekly rating were solely based on mental health (attitude) they would be around 4.5 on a regular basis, because to my knowledge there is only 1 perfect individual. 

Let get the vitals out of the way for the week ending 04.04.14

    • INR = 2.0 taken 03/24/14 – next INR reading scheduled for 04.08.14
    • O2 level @ 2.5 LPM = 96 taken on 04.04.14  
    • Peak Flow = 220 taken 04.04.14
    • BP = 127/86 taken 04.03.14
    • Heart rate = 108 taken 04.04.14
    • Temp = 97.9 taken 04.04.14
    • Weight = 271.5 taken 04.03.14

So ends the technical aspect of my “How I Feel This Week” report for the week ending 4.04.14, moving now to the word of the week discussion aspect.  This week I have chosen Attitude. The definition used in today’s post comes to us via http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/attitude

ATTITUDE — noun —1. manner, disposition, feeling, position, etc., with regard to a person or thing; tendency or orientation, especially of the mind: a negative attitude; group attitudes.  2.position or posture of the body appropriate to or expressive of an action, emotion, etc.: a threatening attitude; a relaxed attitude.

As much as I would love to share my attitude with everyone facing the challenges this and other terminal diseases brings to you, I can’t but I can and will be your biggest cheerleader, I can and will be the one patting you on the back telling you what a great job you’re doing and to keep it up. Sidebar, moving swiftly away from Sarah we are now enjoying some SRV (Stevie Ray Vaughan) “Crossfire.”   I will be there to pick you up when you fall.  I also believe that attitudes can be changed. But like any other bad habit, changing your attitude takes work.  Smiling I have an abundance good attitude and if I could I would give you some of mine, but (smiling) you really need to want it.

As you know attitude comes from within. But no matter what your, going in attitude is, I think it is something you can improve.  When I played golf I sucked, oh I wasn’t terrible (well maybe a bit terrible), but it didn’t matter to me if I shot 83 (my career best), or 120+, I always found one shot that was good enough to bring a smile to my lips and reason to come back again.  A dear friend on the DS group used to post every day the one thing she found that gave her a reason to be thankful.  By her admission it helped her greatly. I always admired those posts.   Finding that little thing, or that point to be happy are small steps, but they build and build, and as they do so, so does your good attitude.  Clearly this is an over simplification, but it is a start.  But conversely if you have a bad attitude, no matter what you do that attitude shows thru, it shows in your conversation, it shows in your walk, it shows in your illness.  Sidebar, we have moved on to Toby Keith’s “How do you like me now?” We are finishing up our time with Toby with “Weed with Willie.”  And have moved on to Aretha Franklin, Brooks and Dunn, Matchbox 20, and Creed. Maybe I have spent so much talking attitude because mine has been down slightly these last 2 weeks but I see it on the rebound, just talking about it in this manner is a boost. Sidebar, I have my music on the “Random” selection I just went from Lewis Black to AC/DC to Five Finger Death Punch, tell me that won’t perk you up.  Of course you do need to like this stuff!  Okay okay, back to the point, Attitude will carry you.  And you don’t even have to be sick.  A smile and polite word will always get you more than a displayed crappy attitude.  If your attitude needs correction, take it in small steps.  Cause folks notice, 1st curb the old, heck it might even do you good to admit you know you have a shitty attitude and you are working to change it, so a little patience during the process will help. And yes during the change you will display some of that old attitude, smile acknowledge it, and keeping working on it.   If you have a good attitude great!! Smiling we need to work on that as well.  I just think the process is easier, if you’re starting with a good foundation.

Okay folks, most of you are saying he is just typing to be typing.  I will bring this t o an end with the Eagles blasting away.  I hope you have a great weekend.  If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to ask, if you want to comment those are appreciated as well.  Take care, Bill

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “How I Feel for the Week ending 04/04/14……

  1. Chatter Master

    April 4, 2014 at 6:54 pm

    I don’t like it when the numbers go down (except for weight and bp). I do appreciate your attitude and positivity. For all that has been going on I’m glad you’re at a strong 2.5. And have to say I’m glad you aren’t watching those games!

     
    • FlaHam

      April 5, 2014 at 6:44 am

      Colleen, Gosh I wish I reported that my weight and bp dropped every week that would be so cool especially about the weight. BP is normally pretty dang good, she caught me after exerting myself and it hadn’t leveled back. Nope won’t be wasting my time watching KY play, will save my energy to watch the grass grow. Colleen, I am holding my own, and that makes me happy. But you make me smile, which in and of itself makes the numbers go up. Take care, my dear and remember you have a role in the positiveness of my numbers. oxox Bill

       
  2. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    April 4, 2014 at 9:06 pm

    That the nurse said your lungs are clear is a good sign. Got my fingers crossed and heart praying that the dip to 2.5 is from the pollen and your incredible attitude gets you on top of that. And, I second our friend Collen’s comment, stay away from Kentucky stress, 😉 or the potential of it. I’m sure your not watching will sufficiently jinx them! You’re one power to be reckoned with. Love you, my friend. ❤

     
    • FlaHam

      April 5, 2014 at 6:26 am

      Paulette, When the nurse said my lungs sounded clear, that was a relief. As you know anytime one of us with a respiratory issues gets some much as a snuffle, a tickle, a runny nose, our paranoia level kicks into high gear. Her words allowed me to hit the reset button and move on. Laugh out Loud, frigging kentucky one and doners, they may end up winning the tournament, but I won’t be wasting my time watching. LOL LOL. So that will have no impact on my stress level. Paulette, I came to blog central with a great attitude, scared, worried about rejection, fear of not catching on, and on and on. But my attitude carried me. Then you a so many others started following, and my attitude fed off the kind words, those wonderful comments, and has in part allowed it to grow even more in a time when I needed it to grow. Thank you for taking part in the continued growth of my attitude. Take care, Love Bill -xoxo-

       
  3. jmgoyder

    April 4, 2014 at 11:23 pm

    Your amazing attitude is an example to all of us Bill.

     
    • FlaHam

      April 5, 2014 at 6:17 am

      Julie, Smiling your attitude is just as good and as strong as mine, maybe more in some situations. You keep it up, yours serves you very well. Take care, Bill

       
  4. huntmode

    April 5, 2014 at 4:22 am

    One of your best posts, Bill! I’m commenting before reading the ones before mine just so I stay true. To me, attitude is the single most important aspect of a person, especially when it comes to fighting for survival. My experience is that a good positive outlook does more for your health than anything else, be it a vitamin or the latest and greatest cure. Coupled with affirmations and visualizations, I have reversed illnesses, including rashes, infections, ganglia cysts, etc.

    Having a good attitude, as you say, takes wanting one and working on it. It doesn’t come easy, but it stays as you build on it and, man, does it pay off in the short and long runs.

    I will testify that you always encourage, Bill. I thank you for that and for leading by example. Best HuntMode

     
    • FlaHam

      April 5, 2014 at 6:13 am

      Hunt, Thank you for your kind words, and recognizing the value in the words I choose to use and describe. My attitude has allowed me to bounce back for a lot of tough issues and circumstances over the years, I truly believe my attitude has allowed me to continue fighting this dreaded disease, thus allowing me to extend my grip. Yes I have grabbed hold of life, and do my best to not let it slip away. And it is being done with attitude. Take care sweetheart, be safe, always smile. Bill

       
  5. Wanda

    April 5, 2014 at 6:15 am

    Bill, you do have an amazingly positive attitude, even when things aren’t going your way, and I’ve seen its effect on others many times. Even when you reply to a waitress that you’re “grumpy” is presented with a smile and a twinkle in your eye…

     
    • FlaHam

      April 5, 2014 at 6:50 am

      Wanda, A lot of waitresses and check out clerks really enjoy the exchange with me after I reply “old and grumpy” I have seen many a twinkle in an eye because of that comment, and I will continue to use it until I am long gone. My whole life has been focused on a good attitude, and it has worked well for me. Thank you my lady, you have had a vey positive impact on me and my attitude. Take care, Love Bill

       
  6. Marlyn

    April 5, 2014 at 10:48 am

    I just combined your journal entry on stress with this entry on attitude & I’m trying to figure out how to fit the news that our middle son Bryan, will be deployed to Afghanistan for the 4th time May 1st. Think an email is warranted to explain the rest. Prepare your attitude:) LMSAO

     
    • FlaHam

      April 5, 2014 at 12:37 pm

      Stalker, My heart goes out to you and your family. 4 times is enough, I wish Bryan all God’s Speed and a safe return. I will look forward to your email, and we will talk. Take care, Bill — ps my attitude is always prepared, and I will share it with you. Take care

       
  7. benzeknees

    April 8, 2014 at 4:14 pm

    I have to agree with you on attitude Bill. I can feel the difference in how I feel when I have a positive attitude. Case in point: yesterday I was in a fairly positive frame of mind. A friend (who knew I had been having some trouble with SOB lately [my thoughts – all the things in spring I am allergic to]) asked how I was feeling. My answer – not bad, feels like I’m trying to breathe through a clot of phlegm & I can’t seem to cough it out, but otherwise OK. Had I been having a bad attitude day I might have felt sorry for myself when I told her about my breathing difficulties. Attitude makes a big difference on how we interpret our symptoms & how we feel. Thanks for being such a great cheerleader!

     
    • FlaHam

      April 9, 2014 at 1:24 pm

      Benze, Smiling, you are correct attitude can make or break a doctor’s appointment. But what I have found to be useful to me is to create a good one, and let that be your guiding post. If you let it an attitude can be nothing more than a roller coaster ride. The trick is to find ways to level out the big swings in attitude. Sure if your having a crappy day your attitude will reflect it, but again you can’t let your lows get to be so so low. It is the part of me that I work on the most, to not all my attitude to drag me down, and those around me as well. Take care, Bill

       
  8. rarasaur

    April 9, 2014 at 4:14 am

    I love your positive attitude, Bill. I really do believe it’ll take you through the toughest of moments. Smile on! 😀 And if you can’t muster one, call me up and I’ll think of something to make you grin. 😀

     
    • FlaHam

      April 9, 2014 at 12:38 pm

      Rara, Smiling, my attitude is something that has carried me thru more than one rough time. But, sometimes it is hard to smile, so you just might get a call sometime reaching out for that thought that will help me thru a particularly bad one. You are a sweet and very positive person yourself, and you are a good sharer. Please take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

