RSS

 It’s a Matter of Music…. A Grandpa Tale

09 Apr

Good morning folks, I hope your Wednesday is starting off great, mine has.  Per my normal daily habit I was up and about at 6ish this morning. I was nebulizing this nebulizing that, and taking the rest of my morning medications.  As usual during this morning ritual, I was scanning my email accounts and Facebook. As I was scanning Facebook, throwing out some likes, I stumbled upon a post by a dear friend (Huntmode). She shared the following YouTube video.

http://www.thisblewmymind.com/street-musician-tipped-girl-happened-next-blew-whole-city-away/?fb_action_ids=10201782776426970&fb_action_types=og.recommends

Of course it was one of those staged flash mob video’s which I truly enjoy, because they just make me so damn happy.  So I am nebulizing and blasting this flash mob video, it comes to an end I am smiling, already it’s a great day, and I begin to explore.  Originally my intent was to find some more orchestra (flash mob) video’s and just sit and immerse myself in some classical music. So I jumped on YouTube, and immediately encountered the 2 Piano Guys, which if you haven’t discovered them I would strongly suggest you give time a listen. I just wasn’t in the mood for the Piano Guys this morning, but…… if you have spent any time on YouTube, on the right side of the page is a column of what could be related or similar video’s kinda if you like this you may like that…   Well I was going down the column and there were a bunch of 2 Cello video’s available, I had never heard of 2Cellos, but I recognized the title of one song from the get go, “Thunderstruck” by AC/DC, and for those that know me, know that AC/DC is one of my favorite bands (maybe you didn’t know cause I do have hundreds of favorite bands), so of course I had to give it a view, and from that view grew this post.

I have attached (besides the inspirational video from Huntmode Facebook post) 5 additional videos from 2Cellos.  Two are from AC/DC, one from Guns & Roses, one from Michael Jackson, and finally one from Jimi Hendrix.  I know as sure as I am sitting in a black chair, in my office, that some of you can’t stand any of the bands I just listed, some of you love all of them, some of you are too young to appreciate Jimi Hendrix, and some of you are a mixture of all of the above, or for that matter none of the above. I know I now have a new appreciation for Guns and Roses LOL.  But if I could beg your indulgence, please do me this one favor and watch the “Thunderstuck” video. Angus Young (lead guitar for AC/DC) must be beside himself.

If you have any level of vivid imagination you can see the roots of rock: hardrock, grudgerock, acidrock, puckrock, in this video and besides it’s just fun, considering the setting, the music and most importantly the audience.  If this is the direction that elevator music is taking, I may ride elevators the rest of my life.

Thunderstuck – AC/DC – as covered by 2Cellos  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uT3SBzmDxGk

Jimi Hendrix – Purple Haze – as covered by 2Cellos https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ae23y2D8VSI

Welcome to the Jungle – Guns and Roses – as covered by 2Cellos https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3V7EugoweM4

Highway to Hell – AC/DC – as covered by 2Cellos https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qfGggAGITwg

Smooth Criminal – Michael Jackson – as covered by 2Cellos https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mx0xCI1jaUM

Sometimes as adults when we listen to the music our children enjoy we scratch our heads and know exactly why the world is going to hell in a hand basket. Other times we are filled with joy, the fact is, it’s their music.  If for every Foo Fighters, we discover a group like the Piano Guys or 2Cellos, we are all gaining and we are all part of the every growing metamorphosis of music.  I know when I was a kid, my dad had a conniption fit whenever he heard us play the Beatles, or the Rolling Stones, or SteppenWolf (Dad destroyed my copy of their album when he heard the song Pusher Man).  I know I looked at my daughter in sheer wonderment when I found out she enjoyed rap, and even gangster rap, music I detested then and even now, though I will admit I have become a fan of Kid Rock.

Quickly jumping down from my soapbox. The point is I am offering you six videos for your enjoyment, if you don’t like any of them that is your business your choice, and I completely appreciate it.  I get it, I am just saying discovering 2Cellos has made my day, and has satisfied an itch.

As always if you have any questions or concerns please feel free to ask them and as always your comments are greatly appreciated.  Thanks Bill

 

 

 

 
29 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2014 in Grandpa Stories, Humor, Music, Observations, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

29 responses to “ It’s a Matter of Music…. A Grandpa Tale

  1. haddyism

    April 9, 2014 at 10:41 am

    Thanks for sharing such amazing talent. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      April 9, 2014 at 12:44 pm

      I am so glad you enjoyed them. Take care, Bill

       
  2. benzeknees

    April 9, 2014 at 1:31 pm

    Thanks Bill, just not my taste. I prefer the original music because it’s what I grew up with. But then again, I don’t listen to music hardly at all anymore. I used to be a DJ & played weddings, socials, etc. & I think I just got musiced out.

     
    • FlaHam

      April 10, 2014 at 7:04 am

      Benze, It is not everyone’s cup of tea, but I have come to find that I do like a modern approach to hard music, and it doesn’t distract from my liking and enjoyment of the original. So you were a DJ amazing, I can imagine you spinning the records, did you have your own rapper backstyle record jamming move? Just teasing. Take care, Bill

       
      • benzeknees

        April 10, 2014 at 3:07 pm

        Oh Bill, you’ve forgotten how old I truly am! Being a DJ in my day meant cases & cases of cassette tapes! Do they even have those anymore?

         
        • FlaHam

          April 10, 2014 at 4:39 pm

          Benze, Benze, your not old at all if you only go back to cassettes LOL LOL, I go all the way back to vinyl as in REAL records LOL. Yes I am an old fart. Take care and have a great day. Bill

           
  3. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    April 9, 2014 at 1:58 pm

    Wonderful. All of it. Most wonderful, you Bill! ❤

     
    • FlaHam

      April 10, 2014 at 7:00 am

      Paulette, I am glad you enjoyed it. I can see you rocking to the 2Cello’s. Take care, Bill

       
  4. huntmode

    April 9, 2014 at 10:43 pm

    I’m willing to bet the original pieces would not be my cup of tea, but I was already grinning when Thunderstruck (AC/DCi) began, upon spotting the clothing. And, once they kicked into gear and we got a glimpse of the audience (!), great fun and a very good piece of music indeed. Did you notice how many strings broke on their bows?! And one of my favorites were the young kids in the audience grooving out on it! Laughing out loud and forwarding to my nephews who loved the originals. Thanks a million, Bill!

     
    • FlaHam

      April 10, 2014 at 6:57 am

      Hunt, Smiling, I think given time and a few opportunities you could become a AC/DC fan, maybe not a mega fan, but a fan just the same. Though I will admit AC/DC does not have a ballad to their credit. LOL LOL Well your the one responsible for the post, if you hadn’t started my day with that flash mob video, this post would never been written. Take care, Bill

       
  5. Chatter Master

    April 10, 2014 at 5:34 am

    That was amazing Bill. 🙂 I smiled all the way through and imagined the reality of that setting ….. It would have been an interesting show indeed! 😉

     
    • FlaHam

      April 10, 2014 at 6:53 am

      Colleen, Thank you, I am glad you enjoyed the video. When I 1st watched, I paid so much attention to the musicians, but because I love that song, I played it a second time and really concentrated when the video emphasized the audience. It was cool to see the kids getting it and the look (sometimes) sheer terror in the parents (kinda like my generation). Smiling, anyway that is a long thanks. Take care and a great day. Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        April 10, 2014 at 4:35 pm

        🙂 I’m hoping to have a great day Bill. It’s my choice over not having a great day. 😉

        I am going to check out more of these videos. I really enjoyed the 2cellos!

         
        • FlaHam

          April 10, 2014 at 4:50 pm

          Colleen, You know I love you, but sometimes it isn’t your choice, BUT and it’s a big one, YOUR ATTITUDE makes all the difference, it may not make a crappy day into a great one, but your ATTITUDE has a huge impact. Smiling and I know you have a Great Attitude. Take care, Bill — aren’t those some fun video’s. Take care

           
          • Chatter Master

            April 10, 2014 at 8:30 pm

            They are some fun videos. I will use them as a go to now. 🙂 My attitude is my choice isn’t it? I best remember this…..

            😉

             
  6. Rachel T

    April 10, 2014 at 12:29 pm

    Great stuff Bill! I too occasionally indulge in lamenting about the state of music today —but every once in a while, you just hear musicians like the 2Cellos, and see their great passion for music…and faith in humanity is restored once more 🙂 Thanks for the recommendations!

     
    • FlaHam

      April 10, 2014 at 4:35 pm

      Rachel, Thank you. I truly appreciate your feedback. I am a music nut, and have been all my life, but unlike you (and your movie reviews), I never made it a passion. I can talk volumes about why I like some stuff, and other times I just gotta say “cause.” Take care, Bill

       
  7. Wanda

    April 10, 2014 at 6:46 pm

    “Deliverance” on cello? (possibly my least favorite film ever) I enjoyed it because you did; beyond that I enjoyed it for the contrast between the “out there” music and the Victorian garb of the attendees. I also enjoyed the videography–especially the shredded bows (or whatever). Well done!

     
    • FlaHam

      April 11, 2014 at 7:53 am

      Wanda, Thank you for playing along and indulging me. While I truly enjoyed the musical aspect of the performance, what really caught my eye (having watched it 3 or 4 times) was the shift in the audience. As we had discussed the director of the video must have had a great time, having the adults put their game faces on, while the kids rocked. Take care, Bill

       
  8. Marlyn

    April 12, 2014 at 7:54 am

    If you are the conductor of musical wonders…..I want mezzanine seating:)

     
    • FlaHam

      April 12, 2014 at 12:27 pm

      Marlyn, You are more than welcome to take a front row center sit. I truly enjoy my music, and thank you enjoying it with me. Take care, Bill

       
  9. Brenda

    April 15, 2014 at 3:52 pm

    I loved your flash mob. I was listening to it at my son’s violin lesson. His teacher said, “Oh, the Spanish one. I like the Japanese one better.” She emailed me the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QuzKk7upkdE I like them both, but I am not as highly educated as she is. LOL I just enjoy. I thought I’d share with you.

     
    • FlaHam

      April 16, 2014 at 5:31 am

      Brenda, Smiling, Spanish, French, German it makes no difference to me, some I really really like others only so so. If I am flash mob mood I just search YouTube, and get my fill. LOL LOL Take care and have a great day. Bill

       
      • Brenda

        April 16, 2014 at 8:22 am

        My son’s teacher is picky about her music, and I think she liked the Japanese one because of the number of instruments involved and the choral element. I like them both, and I don’t care which country either. Ode to Joy is a great piece, and even I can play the theme on the piano. 🙂

         
        • FlaHam

          April 16, 2014 at 10:14 am

          Brenda, I can’t carry in note in a basket little less play any instrument. But enjoyment of music is all consuming sometimes. The wife and I saw Jersey Boys this weekend. I was never a fan of the group 4 Seasons, and I never understood the fascination with Frankie Vali. But I truly enjoyed the back story. Take care, Bill

           
  10. Clowie

    April 22, 2014 at 5:02 am

    That was fun!

     
    • FlaHam

      April 22, 2014 at 6:45 am

      Clowie, Thank you, I keep learning more and neat stuff about you everyday. I didn’t realize what a fan of music you are, and even more, that you share some of your taste with mine. Thank you. BTW I see you stopped by and visit a few of my older posts as well. That was very kind of you. Please take care, biped Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

