RSS

How I Feel for the Week ending 04/11/14……

11 Apr

For the week ending 04.11.14 I am actually starting this post in a timely manner, that’s not to say that it will be finished in a timely manner. It sure was nice to see Kentucky lose the National Championship Game, that’s all I am saying on that matter. Sidebar, we are going cover song to start today, “Bad Company” by Five Finger Death Punch, very true to the original. For the past few weeks I have felt like I was in the early stages of yet another exacerbation. I have been coughing (mostly nonproductive, but slightly milky otherwise) so hard my chest hurt, my nose has been running a marathon and winning, I have been weaker than normal, and of course the SOB is always present.  And like a dumb ass I kept it to myself, I fretted, I worried, I let my attitude slip a bit, but I hadn’t gotten to the point of actually having a pity party. Finally I sucked it up, and saw my nurse (as I advised last week). This week I am giving its due. On by the way, this is the March/early April time frame, if I had even paid a lick of a bit of attention to the local weather, even I might have picked up on a potential cause to all my recent problems. With the patience of a saint, she explained to me that the bulk of my problems have come from the “P” word POLLEN. Folks the Pollen level here in the Tampa area of Florida where I live has been either High or Extremely High, with the exception of 2 days, for going on 3 weeks. Being honest I never even considered POLLEN to be the issue. But Doc Lungs confirmed my nurse’s diagnoses and I have been told pretty much too just “suck it up” and deal with it. And BTW! STAY INDOORS as much as possible. Sidebar, the last 4 songs I have listened to in this order are: – 1. This Means War by Nickelback, 2. Possession by Sarah McLachlin, 3. Gotta Get Me Some by Nickelback and 4. Stairway Way to Heaven by Heart. No wonder it takes so long for me to write a post. BTW if you are a Led Zeppelin fan and have not heard Heart’s cover of this song you need to give yourself a treat.   Having said all of that about pollen, and the multitude of issues it brings with it, I am going to still rate my week as a 2.75, and at the same time increase my stock in Kleenex.

This week has been relatively painless regarding Doctor appointments. I saw Doc Head, Monday and that is such a positive impact on me. She is having me read a book called When Bad Things Happen to Good People, by Harold S. Rushner. The book is only 111 difficult pages LOL LOL. I am half way thru the book, and he (btw he is a Rabbi) is finally starting to make good sense. And while it may be a difficult read for me, it may not be for you. If you or someone you care for is trying to play the blame game, for whatever ails you, this could be a very helpful book. I haven’t finished it, but I will, and already I am getting something good from it. It is just a suggestion. Also this week I saw Doc Lungs, when I spoke to him about the nurse’s diagnoses about the Pollen, he gave me that patented “DUH” look. He said “honestly I never thought to talk to you about this, of all my patients I thought you had this one figured out.” I really expected him to have me sit in the corner with the dunce cap on. He listened to my lungs and stated they were as a clear as they would be for me, and that he would see me again in 4 weeks, and that at that time he wanted to do a breathing test (oh joy!). The only appointment I have lined up for next week is my monthly IVIG treatment.

Let get the vitals out-of-the-way for the week ending 04.11.14

  • INR = 2.1 taken 04/08/14 – next INR reading scheduled for 05.12.14

  • O2 level @ 2.5 LPM = 91 taken on 04.11.14 — avg daily is 93 for week

  • Peak Flow = 225 taken 04.11.14 – avg for week 220.

  • BP = 112/62 taken 04.10.14

  • Heart rate = 102 taken 04.11.14

  • Temp = 98.5 taken 04.10.14

  • Weight = 273.5 taken 04.11.14 – beginning to have some belly creep

So ends the technical aspect of my “How I Feel This Week” report for the week ending 4.11.14, moving now to the word of the week discussion aspect. This week I have chosen Challenges. The definition used in today’s post comes to us via http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/challenge

 Challenge – Noun

1. call or summons to engage in any contest, as of skill, strength, etc. 2. something that by its nature or character serves as a call to battle, contest, special effort, etc.: Space exploration offers a challenge to humankind. 3. a call to fight, as a battle, a duel, etc. 4. a demand to explain, justify, etc.: a challenge to the treasurer to itemize expenditures. 5. difficulty in a job or undertaking that is stimulating to one engaged in it.

Challenge – Verb — verb (used with object), challenged, challenging.

11. to summon to a contest of skill, strength, etc. 12. to take exception to; call in question: to challenge the wisdom of a procedure. 13. to demand as something due or rightful. 14. Military. to halt and demand identification or countersign from 15. Law. to take formal exception to (a juror or jury).

Challenge – Verb — verb (used without object), chal·lenged, chal·leng·ing.

21. to make or issue a challenge. 22. Hunting. (of hounds) to cry or give tongue on picking up the scent.

Challenge — adjective

23. donated or given by a private, corporate, or government benefactor on condition that the recipient raise an additional specified amount from the public: a challenge grant.

Origin: 1175-1225; Middle English chalenge  < Old French,  variant of chalonge  < Latin calumnia calumny

Folks I choose to talk about challenge or challenges today because we all face them. Our 1st day at school, or earning that final degree, in the prime of health or on our death-bed, standing over a 5 foot putt for a 12, holding our newborn child, or our grandchild, choosing a career or changing careers in mid-stream, we all face a variety of challenges. Some challenges are humongous; some are no more than an ant hauling one grain of sand. What challenges one individual may have absolutely no impact on another. Sidebar, I have listened to tons of music as I have put this together, Van Halen, Tom Petty, The Wallflowers, BB King, and then some old school Kinks and Zombies, and Rob Zombie to name a few. But that being said because each challenge is different we are allowed to handle each challenge differently. For me I have a simple process, I start at the most difficult part of the challenge for me, at that time, and work back from there. Example, my wife cooks a great meal and it has a ton of different ingredients. When the meal is presented to me I eat the things off the plate that I like the least, for instance, if peas (YUK) were on my plate I would gag those down 1st, unless I was allowed to push them aside, and use the taste of the next ingredient to cleanse my palate. This is easy because I usually only encounter this challenge when she cook Asian. Until the remaining ingredients were all to my liking, then I would just kinda graze through them. This is the approach I have used to deal with most challenges my entire life. But it’s not for everyone. I will admit that some challenges you just can’t attack head on, so I have had to change my approach from time to time to accommodate the challenge presented. Overall it has worked well for me. You choose the method or methods that work best for you to deal with the challenges you encounter. And remember to find what works best for you, given the situation.

As always thank you for indulging me as I have rambled on. I hope you have a great weekend. If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to ask, if you want to comment those are appreciated as well. Take care, Bill

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

32 responses to “How I Feel for the Week ending 04/11/14……

  1. benzeknees

    April 11, 2014 at 6:18 pm

    Glad you are having a bit better week Bill! I have been having the same problems, but I did put it down to the season, so did not fret about it. If it gets worse I will look for help.

     
    • FlaHam

      April 12, 2014 at 12:05 pm

      Benze, For years pollen has had such a little impact on me, even the last few years, very little true impact, but this year, without a doubt pollen has kicked my but. I am sorry you are experiencing issues with it, as I am sorry anyone is. Please take care, and be careful. Bill

       
  2. kanzensakura

    April 11, 2014 at 7:18 pm

    Hi Bill!!! Glad you are doing better. Pollen is always hard for me. We had a big huge heap filter put on our air system and it has helped so much. I don’t have COPD but I do have asthma and horrible allergies. I have a co-worker who graduated from and was a cheerleader (basketball team) for U of K. She has a mug she uses with the slogan “I still hate Christian Laetner”. Talk about holding a grudge! LOLOLOLOL

     
    • FlaHam

      April 12, 2014 at 12:15 pm

      Kanzen, Thank you for your kind words and concerns. A little as 2 years ago pollen rarely if ever kicked my butt, but it sure has this year. Kanzen, I can’t tell you how glad I am you don’t have COPD, asthma is bad enough but COPD is a butt kicker, so count your blessings. As for your friend, with the exception of her tastes in schools, she seems like a pretty good friend to have. You can tell her I thought that shot by Laetner was pretty good. You have to remember my two favorite teams are U of L and anyone beating Kentucky. LOL LOL Please take care, Bill in a message dated 4/11/2014 7:18:38 P.M. Eastern Daylight Time,

       
  3. Helen Devries

    April 11, 2014 at 9:53 pm

    Pollen! It’s so often the simple things….
    And eating what you least like first reminds me of when I was a child…reserving the Yorkshire pudding until last on a Sunday lunch…and I still do it.

     
    • FlaHam

      April 12, 2014 at 12:17 pm

      Helen, Smiling, I approve of your eating process, LOL LOL. Yes pollen is a butt kicker, I will have to mark this period on my 2015 calendar just so I don’t forget how miserable I have been this past month. Take care, Bill

       
  4. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    April 11, 2014 at 10:30 pm

    Hello my friend. Pollen can wreak havoc with respiratory things. Hope that right now it’s getting better and you’re doing better. Am glad it went well with Doc head, and talking about that and what you wrote about challenges and the book you’re reading: I learn more from posts like this, from you, about courage, facing challenge, what it is to have an attitude to help sustain me through rough times, than any book could ever teach. You’re an ever expanding inspiration for me and I love you for that and all you continue to give to your friends and the world. I’m holding you in my heart and sending good thoughts that you stabilize and stay that way and your days are happy with peaceful nights. Sending lots of cyber hugs & love to you, Bill.

     
  5. jmgoyder

    April 12, 2014 at 12:02 am

    Pollen – argh and yes! It is Autumn here and yet my hayfever has gone mad due to wind and, yes, pollen. Nothing like what you go through but enough to make me want to cut my nose off! Love your definition of ‘challenge’!

     
    • FlaHam

      April 12, 2014 at 12:21 pm

      Julie, Clearly I said a bad “P” word. I had no idea how much conversation pollen was going to stir up. We have even had a couple of good rain storms, but it has come back. I is my understanding that we have a couple more weeks of this level of pollen, before it eases. I am glad your enjoying (or seem to) my word or phrases of the week in this weekly post. A couple times I thought about dropping and just giving my how I feel. Take care, Bill

       
  6. Chatter Master

    April 12, 2014 at 5:22 pm

    I’m glad the week ended up being a 2.75. Considering the fear that ended up being pollen. I can tell when the pollen is on the ‘move’ because of how I feel. Horrible allergies. So if you are staying inside a good bit of the time I hope you have a filtered house. My house is just as bad as the outside without a decent filter system. Be well William!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      April 13, 2014 at 6:56 pm

      Colleen, I wish there were better ways to say thank you! You have been so so supportive of me since the 1st time we shared comments, and you continue to be. Thank You. Yes I am trying to stay in more, and yes we have a great electronic filtering system and because the AC is running most the time it works most the time. I really have to avoid going out when it’s in the High or Extreme mode. Yes Ma’am I will be well as I possibly can. Again thank you. Bill

       
  7. rarasaur

    April 13, 2014 at 12:55 am

    I’m glad it was just pollen! 🙂 Air filters for inside the house do wonders to fight off the stuff.*hugs*

     
    • FlaHam

      April 13, 2014 at 6:50 pm

      Rara, I am quite happy that the issues were pollen related. I preach a good story, but sometimes I don’t always follow my own advice. This time I took my time but I did get it checked. We installed great flitters in this place as well, and this is the 1st spring we have to test them out. Thanks for your continued support and well wishes. Please take care, Bill

       
  8. Brenda

    April 15, 2014 at 3:31 pm

    Pollen, ugh! I struggle with it, too. I had to fill out forms today, and I was leaning forward, and my nose kept running. I do better when I can sit up. I love BB King and the Kinks. Warmly, Brenda

     
    • FlaHam

      April 16, 2014 at 5:28 am

      Brenda, Smiling, I am glad you enjoy the taste of my music. Smiling, I feel your pain, the pollen has been kicking my butt to such a degree that I am actually paying attention to the pollen count part of the weather forecast. Never did that before LOL. Take care, Bill

       
      • Brenda

        April 16, 2014 at 8:20 am

        The pollen count up here will be rising when the trees leaf up. Any day now. 🙂 I find I do better when I’m out walking in it. Sitting in the house or sitting on my deck is not so great.

         
        • FlaHam

          April 16, 2014 at 10:09 am

          Brenda, The pollen has really only been a factor this spring, at least I don’t ever remember having springs so so terrible. I realize my compromised breathing makes matters worst, but still it is kicking my butt. I am so looking forward to a few good days of nice strong rain to wash it away, and to give my lungs, eyes, and nose a break. Take care, Bill

           
          • Brenda

            April 16, 2014 at 2:05 pm

            Lots of rain around here. And probably heaps less pollen. Today we woke up to snow. 🙂

             
            • FlaHam

              April 17, 2014 at 11:03 am

              Brenda, I am so sure you are completely tried of snow for the season. Wishing you warmer and sunnier days. Take care, Bill

               
              • Brenda

                April 17, 2014 at 2:09 pm

                I am now officially tired of getting those little plastic eggs to stay closed, but I am not ready for the egg hunt on Sunday!! Woo-hoo!

                 
                • FlaHam

                  April 17, 2014 at 4:12 pm

                  Brenda, I won’t even take part in an Easter Egg Hunt, at least not one I have been warned about. But I am taking care of Easter Dinner. I am sure your eggs will all be found. Take care, be safe, Bill

                   
                  • Brenda

                    April 17, 2014 at 5:24 pm

                    Oooh, Easter dinner! Yum! I’m going to a steakhouse tonight! 🙂

                     
  9. Wanda

    April 15, 2014 at 5:04 pm

    Don’t tell Art I said this…

    I give him a “honey, do” list when I really, REALLY want him to accomplish a lot in a short period of time. It’s a stream of consciousness list, so the items are in random order. BUT…I make sure there’s a decent mix of easy tasks mixed in with the more challenging ones. My rationale is that knocking a couple of the easy items off the list will be sufficient motivation to convince him to do the harder ones too. Obviously the opposite of your culinary approach, but it’s worked for us so far.

     
    • FlaHam

      April 16, 2014 at 5:37 am

      Smiling, Wanda, Do not worry I won’t drop a dime on you. Besides I truly believe that most women have a method to their madness that ensures they get what they need accomplished. Clearly if it has worked for you and Art for 30+ years then mission accomplished. I am fortunate too, because after 30+ with Stephanie I don’t see peas on my plate. And even more lucky cause I know I can just dig in and find something I am really going to enjoy. Heck it is even more better because my friends know my likes and dislikes and accommodate me, I have great friends. Take care, Bill xoxo

       
  10. huntmode

    April 16, 2014 at 11:49 pm

    Bill, you and me, bud, pea pushers (off the plate). Unless they have cocktail onions – then they are palatable. I was surprised as I read, because I would just say “no” to anything I don’t like, unless I was a guest, then I’m better behaved…. Yep, good ol’ pollen – about every other day, I’m sneezing 13 times in a row. Here, people are out washing their car windows because they’re coated in the stuff. The upside: everything is in gorgeous bloom. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      April 17, 2014 at 11:25 am

      Hunt, LOL even with the cocktail onions (which I love) they don’t help peas. I often wonder who 1st decided what was food, and what wasn’t. Whoever on customer zero on PEAS sure got it all wrong. Smiling it is nice to know we also share sneezing in series as a common trait, and yes I can rum them out to almost 13. LOL LOL, but along about 11 I am starting to get dizzy. I am running with the a/c on all the time just to keep the inside of the car as free as possible. On well, I understand it’s only going to last a month or so longer here. Take care, Bill

       
      • huntmode

        April 17, 2014 at 5:56 pm

        You know, there are websites that cite the pollen level for the day and four days out – checked it yesterday – curiously, it doesn’t appear affected by the rain, which I would have thought would tamp it all down, but nnnnnooooooo! We’re on High today. You can check your state and area here:

        http://www.weather.com/outlook/health/allergies/drilldown/florida

        They also show air quality as well….

         
      • huntmode

        April 19, 2014 at 4:09 pm

        Hi Bill, I came by to snag the weather site link I wrote below and reread your post. About Kleenex – just a thought here – are you using the Kleenex or whatever make that has aloe vera and E in it? Kleenex refers to it as Aloe & E – just looked at my box. If not, GET SOME. It is so much gentler on your nose, there is no comparison.

        Funny story: I had a boss who was very self-sufficient and wanted no “mothering,” thank you verra much. One day he came in with a vicious cold. I mentioned the Kleenex Aloe & E. He just glared at me and dismissed it. Every time I walked in, he was more miserable and cranky. I walked in, smacked the box down on his desk and barked, “Use it!” … the next time I went in, he stopped what he was doing, looked at me with grateful spaniel eyes and said, “Deez are wonderful! Thank you, Hunite!” lalalalalala ~ grin.

         
        • FlaHam

          April 22, 2014 at 2:12 pm

          Hunt, Being honest we just loaded up on regular Kleenex at CostCo, and we have a ton of boxes LOL. So it will be sometime before I get any with Aloe, besides I’m a guy, I can rough up my nose with the regular stuff LOL LOL. But next time I am in the market for more Kleenex I will keep this post in mind. Just so you know the Pollen Count for the next few days is in the moderate range, almost safe to go outside. Take care, Bill

           
          • huntmode

            April 22, 2014 at 4:30 pm

            Bill, so glad your pollen count is down, that will make your life easier. As to Costco, that’s exactly where I picked up my Aloe & E kleenex. You’re right, that many last forevah! Grin. I’m on my last few tissues, which is why it’s on the forefront of my mind!

             
            • FlaHam

              April 22, 2014 at 8:02 pm

              Hunt, Smiling, yes I can tell the eyes don’t burn quite as much, the river flowing from my nose isn’t as deep nor the same rapids it has been these last few weeks, and the next time I am in the market for Kleenex I will surely upgrade to the ones that make my nose feel so much better. Thank you for your kind suggestion. Take care, Bill

               

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

Life and scribbles on the far side of SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

