RSS

It’s a matter of Sense …. A Grandpa Tale

24 Apr

Most of us have or should have the 5 basic senses, some of may not be so fortunate.  They are sight, hearing, smell, taste and touch.  For the most part these senses are all self-explanatory and don’t really need to go into them.  But to further the explanation I am calling on Wikipedia (in part) for a slightly fuller definition.   

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Human_senses 

A broadly acceptable definition of a sense would be “A system that consists of a group of sensory cell types that responds to a specific physical phenomenon, and that corresponds to a particular group of regions within the brain where the signals are received and interpreted.” There is no firm agreement as to the number of senses because of differing definitions of what constitutes a sense. Sidebar;  the music today is being brought to you via my IPOD being featured today include, Alice in Chains, Stone Temple Pilot, Gemini Syndrome, Van Halen, and Puddle of Mudd, I almost forgot yes, Nickelback is pounding away too!!!!

Smiling, I am done with definitions (at least for this post), I want to talk about that 6th sense, or the 7th sense, or and 23rd sense. It’s the one each of us have, that is not recognized as one of the common senses (nor is it common sense).  Some of us know when to hit on 17 at the blackjack table and are successful more times than not (especially if they are playing 5 decks), others wouldn’t know if they had a guide-book. Some will hear a phone ring and answer it knowing who is calling.  Some of can sense when a friend is sick or needs us from thousands and thousands of miles away.  Others of us know when not to get on an airplane.  Some of know when it is really the right time to give that beggar something more than a dirty look.  Moms are extremely good at knowing when their child needs a tiny bit more attention, and even more importantly when their child truly needs to be left alone.  Some of us dads can figure it out with our daughters, but have more issues trying to figure it out with a son.  These extra senses don’t stay with us a lifetime, sometimes they are only one time events, but that event stays with you the rest of your life,  you remember your little miracle, you remember that special time and it gives you a good feeling, it does warm your soul. Sometimes these extra senses, come with maturity, and are honed as we age.  Yet other times they happen for no definable reason, at no particular age. Case in point: the young man who found the 20 dollar bill in the Cracker Barrel parking lot and felt it was the right thing to do by passing it on with that now world-famous note to the soldier, who has in turn passed it forward. 

I think that another word we need to consider is premonition. It is exactly like a sense only different. But just like that oddball sense you from time to time I am sure you have had a premonition.  You know that feeling you get just before a storm hits, or a view just outside of your vision that something bad is going to happen. Notice the 2 examples I gave for premonitions were negative, but being honest I don’t remember having a good premonition.  If I thought I was going to fail that math test, it was a pretty foregone conclusion I was going to fail that test. But what about your premonitions, have the outcome always been bad?  

 I suspect you’ll are awaiting my announcement as to what my special skill or talent may be, or if I have some superpower I haven’t shared with you.  Oh and I do have one, but I am not going to share it with you (at least not yet). 

Yet be it a premonition or an extra sense.  I do believe we all have one or more.  Some stay with us for a lifetime, others only for an incident.  I also think a person can talk themselves into having an extra sense, and by the same token talk ourselves out of a special ability.  In my opening sentence I stated that most of us have or should have the basic 5 senses, and that others might not be as fortunate.  Let me be very clear, I truly believe that the folks that do not have those 5 basic senses, utilize the senses they have to a much finer degree than we do, they hear better or see better or smell better or have extremely good taste.  But these folks also have special senses and utilize them much more so than us burdened with the basic five. They are not handicapped, they are empowered. 

This post while playful is also somewhat serious.  Please take a moment to think about yourself, and if you’re willing please share with us your special ability. 

As always if you have any questions or concerns or if you have a comment please feel free to ask or post it.  Take care, Bill.

 
27 Comments

Posted by on April 24, 2014 in Grandpa Stories, Humor, Ramblings, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

27 responses to “It’s a matter of Sense …. A Grandpa Tale

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    April 24, 2014 at 2:35 pm

    Brilliant and insightful post. Love and relate to this, especially the part about talking myself out of… If I would just shut up my inner critic and listen to my inside voice of reason more, my intuitive heart, I think my life would be a lot more peaceful, lol. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      April 25, 2014 at 7:26 am

      Paulette, Smiling, sometimes my head just goes in different directions all together and it’s posts like this that explode from my fingertips. I had seen several movies or tv shows over the last few months that triggered this internal look at my own special abilities. Nice to see there are a lot of us “special” folks around!! Take care, Bill

       
  2. Chatter Master

    April 24, 2014 at 8:17 pm

    I love this Bill. I don’t know about any special ability. But at odd moments and with no understanding of why, I just know things. One little example…. My husband and I were taking an extended weekend ‘vacation’. We were in Kentucky. In a town we had never been to. We went exploring. We went to a diner. It was “Sue’s DIner” or something like that. We sat at a table and David nodded at a busy woman working in the diner. He said “I wonder if that’s Sue”. I didn’t even look and said “no, it’s her sister in law”. When she made her way over he asked her if she was Sue and she said “no, I’m her sister in law”. I think I freaked him out a little bit. But I just knew. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      April 25, 2014 at 7:21 am

      Colleen, Soft smile, but just the fact at odd moments “you know things” gives you the sense I am speaking of, and it doesn’t always have to be spot on. The freak part is fun when you happen to expose this ability. Take care, thanks for playing along. Bill

       
  3. jmgoyder

    April 25, 2014 at 10:06 pm

    This is so interesting. I was on the other side of Australia when my father died. When the phone rang at the place I was staying, I knew. That is my only experience of a premonition to date. I was 19.

     
    • FlaHam

      April 26, 2014 at 9:38 pm

      Julie, Smiling, you have had yours and you recognize it for what it is. Who knows but you may yet have another. Don’t rule it out. Take care, Bill

       
  4. Marlyn

    April 26, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    I found only you to stalk….now that’s a special power:)

     
    • FlaHam

      April 26, 2014 at 9:34 pm

      Stalker, It is so nice to have a name for you. It has been so much fun being stalked LOL LOL. Smiling I am also glad you have that power. Take care, Bill

       
  5. Brenda

    April 28, 2014 at 9:46 pm

    Hmm, so many powers, so reluctant to discuss any. Oh, yeah, and overtired. Um, I have an unerring ability to find the weak spots of others and stick my fingers right in them. I often don’t know I’ve done it until I did it, and then they are hyperventilating. I can’t say I like this about myself, but it is a good defense. People don’t usually toy with me more than once. And I know when I’m being lied to. Most always. Another uncomfortable sense. Both are probably just a matter of observation and intuition, but who knows. Perhaps I’m super-irritating woman, complete with red spandex. Okay, I really will say almost anything when overtired. Signing off now!

     
    • FlaHam

      April 29, 2014 at 6:41 pm

      Brenda, So are you a super witch or something? Just curious, trying to figure out just how much space I need to give you. Smiling, knowing you can immediately find my weak spot and dig and probe it means I need to give you a lot of space. LOL LOL. I have had folks look for and find my last nerve and twist it, that wasn’t fun at all. But I suspect your not quite a rough and evil as you imply, not with all those beautiful photo’s and poem. That is a contradiction that produces to much of a gap, and I don’t see it. I am sure you give as good as you get, but I suspect you have to be pushed hard to fire back. Take care, Bill

       
      • Brenda

        April 29, 2014 at 10:45 pm

        I have to admit, I try hard not to hit people in their weak point, I really do. I must admit, I am not so kind to bullies. I learned to not say what I see or call people on their words. I hide these abilities most of the time. I was pretty tired when I wrote this or I doubt I would have admitted it at all. Your post was a pretty cool one, it resonated. And I still have secrets. 🙂

         
        • FlaHam

          April 30, 2014 at 7:07 am

          Brenda, I am glad to have reached into you and touched that special place. When I 1st started my blog about COPD that’s all I wanted to accomplish is to reach out and touch folks. As the blog has moved into a even more personal realm, I like it even more when my words reach out to folks and touch them. Now to dig a little deeper and pull from you other secrets. That has some potential for fun in it. NO not completely but a bit of fun. Take care, have a great day. Bill

           
          • Brenda

            April 30, 2014 at 7:42 am

            I hope we all touch each other’s lives. In person, we have so many barriers, but on-line, it’s easy to let those slide. Hugs, Brenda

             
            • FlaHam

              April 30, 2014 at 9:27 pm

              Brenda, I do agree, the cyber world does allow for friendships and even more to develop. I sometimes believe that because they all start as anonymous and grow. For whatever reason it seems easier to be honest with a stranger. But online we don’t seem to be strangers for long. Take care, Bill

               
              • Brenda

                May 1, 2014 at 6:56 am

                Bill, I agree that friendships online can be just as honest as in person, and maybe more so, you’re right. I enjoy ours, Brenda

                 
                • FlaHam

                  May 2, 2014 at 1:32 pm

                  Brenda, Social media gets slapped around a lot, but it won’t by me, it has opened an entire new universe to me, and has allowed me to explore, play, and touch folks. I have been able to express myself without anyone telling me to shut up, and most importantly it has open up the world for many a new real friend. Sure I won’t meet most of the folks I have online friendships with but that makes them no less my friend, and yes I value the friendship we are developing. Take care, Bill

                   
                  • Brenda

                    May 2, 2014 at 6:00 pm

                    You take care also.

                    I’m at a writer’s conference. People have been telling me to monetize my blog or give it up. I hate hearing that. I consider you all my friends, and I can’t ask friends for money.

                    I love blogging, but they are so right that I have less time for other writing.

                    Confused and unfocused here. Sorry. Big hugs, Brenda

                     
                  • FlaHam

                    May 3, 2014 at 3:07 pm

                    Brenda, I would never have thought to monetize my blog, but then it is not nearly as good as yours. But I don’t believe for a second that you got into blogging for the money. I know I didn’t. I also know you won’t be confused or unfocused for long. You will do what you need to do for you, for your best, and for those you care for best’s. Take care, Bill

                     
                  • Brenda

                    May 3, 2014 at 7:10 pm

                    Oh, my goodness, such a lot of nice things in your comment, and I only have 3 minutes left to get to the next speaker! For now, I have decided to not decide while away from home. 🙂 I will have to give it a lot of thought. And thanks!! I’m happy you like my blog. Your blog is just right for you, and full of caring, sincerity and humor, what could be better? Mine could use more humor. I’m trying to figure out how to add some in. 🙂 I went to a writing humor seminar. I hope it seeps into my writing when I am less tired.

                    Hugs, and thanks for listening.

                    Brenda

                     
                  • FlaHam

                    May 4, 2014 at 9:21 pm

                    Brenda, I believe you are being wise not making such an important decision while on the road. While it is your decision, you will want input from those important to you. Please take care, be safe, enjoy the conference. Bill

                     
  6. benzeknees

    April 29, 2014 at 3:17 am

    Unfortunately, I have the power to know when someone is in trouble. As soon as the phone rang, I knew my grandfather was in trouble the night he died. I used to work for my parents part time when they owned a cafe to help them out. I had to phone in sick one weekend because of food poisoning. It was 5 a.m., my father answered the phone, sympathized with me, asked if there was anything they could do to help & assured me they could get along without me for the day. As we were hanging up the phone a thought popped into my head – something was wrong with my father. Four hours later he had to be rushed to the hospital with a collapsed lung. When I talked to him he was perfectly fine, it was a freak thing, but somehow I knew.

     
    • FlaHam

      April 29, 2014 at 6:43 pm

      Benze, That ability is one of the most difficult to come to grips with. So much heartache is involved, so much difficulty, and when you know rarely if ever is it good news. It takes a strong person to absorb and deal with that. Please take care, Bill

       
  7. huntmode

    May 3, 2014 at 10:55 pm

    Ah, Bill, I am late to reading your blog and it looks like I’ve got the joy of reading much good stuff. Grin.

    This is an outstanding post – you whisper and sort of crook your finger, asking us to come out with our hidey senses…. Deep breath, okay. I know when to call because somebody starts pinging either my head, my heart, or my gut and they all say, “How do you do that, Hunt?!” Another one is based on good memory for odd details, so I can remember other peoples’ lists and remind ’em…. Or, I can remember the times they did good things and when they are down, I can remind them. Almost always, I can look at someone and see/know something is going on and either give them space or probe a bit when they need to talk. Generally, I can tell when something has happened within a house or a building, I also will frequently see items from past owners that are no longer there…. clocks, for some bizarre reason. I have no idea why and only find out after commenting on something and the person looks at me strangely and says, “Ah, Hunt, what are you talking about?” Okay, that’s enough of strange skillsets for the mo. Good post, Bill!

     
    • FlaHam

      May 4, 2014 at 9:17 pm

      Huntie, Soft smile, I am not the least bit surprised by your hidden sense. I would have nailed it had someone asked me to guess what yours would be. But the depth of your ability is really amazing, and I think it is pretty damn cool. I would love to watch you, as it worked but, I am also glad you’re the one with that ability and not me. My fear would be if I had your skill I would be seeing the things that Stephen King writes about, and would be the end of any useful sleep I would have had the rest of my life. This has been a fun post, and I have truly enjoyed the responses to folks other senses. I have seen some interesting and responses, and have had a lot of responses that spoke of their special sense. I will admit that I have seen a real ghost during my life, maybe I will write a post about it sometime. Take Care, Bill

       
      • huntmode

        May 4, 2014 at 9:34 pm

        Oh, Bill, when I was younger this was an awful gift, exactly what you feared would happen if you had it. On the upside, it was eventually one of the ways I came to study spirituality and metaphysics, and got the darn thing under control. Well, okay, most of the time.

         
        • FlaHam

          May 4, 2014 at 9:39 pm

          Huntie, The ways to inner peace come from many sources. I know from talking to you, and our months of friendship you are indeed a very spiritual, and that you actively seek ways to find your inner peace. I am glad this is a tool that helps you get there. Please take care, Bill

           

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

