RSS

How I Feel for the Week ending 04/25/14……  

27 Apr

For the week ending 04.25.14 and actually the post is being started on 04/27/14, and I am beat, and my brothers don’t leave until tomorrow. There will be no jukebox until such time I am alone, and the brothers to bed.  Like some of my readers my choice in music is beyond them, and they have no real appreciation for my choices.  Wearing the headphones allows them the opportunity to sneak up on me and make me flinch. That would be the game to see who can Bill flinch the most.  Lord have mercy are we childish or what. (there is a post in here somewhere) I am going to rate the week at 2.75; I have a tooth ache that has been getting progressively worst.  It started before the weekend and being honest I didn’t do anything about it, so now I am paying.  Tomorrow morning after I take the brothers to the airport I will be stopping at the family dentist and seeing about starting the process of getting it better.

This week I have had only 1 doctor appointment, that being with Doc Head.  I didn’t get any homework assignments, but we found a discussion point just as I was walking out the door.  For the week of April 28 I have no doctor appointments at all, but I will be preparing to move out of the house for a week while the restoration company puts in the new flooring.  So wife and I will be moved into a hotel for the week.  LMAO the preparation and the actual installation of the new flooring may put me in the nut house.

Let get the vitals out of the way for the week ending 04.25.14 (report date 4/27)

  • INR = 2.1 taken 04/08/14 – next INR reading scheduled for 05.12.14

  • O2 level @ 2.5 LPM = 95 taken on 04.27.14 — several times this past week random checks have found my O2 level in the mid 80’s 

  • Peak Flow = 2500 taken 04.27.14 – avg for week 218.

  • BP = 124/76 taken

  • Heart rate = 102 taken 04.27.14

  • Temp = 98.3 taken 04.24.14

  • Weight = 272. taken 04.26.14

So ends the technical aspect of my “How I Feel This Week” report for the week ending 4.25.14, moving now to the word of the week discussion aspect.  This week I have chosen Pacing oneself as the word for the week. The definition used in today’s post comes to us via

http://www.thefreedictionary.com/pacing

v.  paced, pac·ing, pac·es

1. To walk or stride back and forth across: paced the floor nervously.

2. To measure by counting the number of steps needed to cover a distance.

3. To set or regulate the rate of speed for.

4. To advance or develop (something) at a particular rate or tempo: a thriller that was paced at a breathtaking speed.

5. To train (a horse) in a particular gait, especially the pace.

For so long my schedule has been so routine, my chores so lined up, that scheduling, hasn’t been an issue. When scheduling isn’t an issue you really don’t have a need or requirement to pace yourself through your activities.  Your schedule is in fact your pace.  The flow of activity is acceptable to both your head and body. Your schedule allows you time to rest when you’re tired.  You are less likely to overdo or overextend yourself.  And because you’re not overextending, you’re not placing any additional stress on yourself. 

But, I have been playing old bachelor since Steph left to go on her bucket list trip, and by saying Old Bachelor I am saying, I stayed home, minded my own business, stayed out of trouble, and was in bed by 11 or 1130 each night. Having said that I have had a lot of stuff going on, and while I’m batching it, and I wasn’t pacing myself.  I have been exhausted all week.  This is a lesson, I had long since forgotten about pacing.  If you don’t pace yourself correctly you may be harming or stressing your physical limits.

I knew long before my brothers got here that this week would be busy.  I had some Domestic God issues to be resolved, I had shopping to do, I had to prepare for my son-in-law’s birthday, and of course some medical issues to attend, I had to prepare the house for my brother’s arrival, and on and on.  I didn’t have a schedule, so it became was catch as catch can.  Not having a schedule didn’t allow me the opportunity to set a good pace early in the week.  Without that good pace, I put myself into a position where I was destined to overdo it, and I did.

Any of us who have continual health issues, need to keep pacing in mind.  We can’t allow our good intentions to become our mistakes.  Nor can we afford to allow our bodies to become so worn out that we become more susceptible to infections and other issues which invade our systems.  We need as much energy as we can muster to manage our ongoing health issues.  When we know that we will have additional requirements beyond our norm, we need to find ways to conserve, find ways to relax and rest, and find ways to prevent ourselves from running down.  In other words we need to pace ourselves.  If you look at all you have on your plate and realize that you don’t have the resources to complete them, then call in for some backup, get the help you need.  And don’t be afraid to say “I can’t do all this by myself.”   That simple (or not so) statement may allow you to gather the resources you complete the tasks at hand.  I will not sit here and tell you I am good at this, I am far from it.  This is a more like a “Do as I say, not as I do,” kinda remark.  But I am getting better, during my brothers visit I had to just stop, look them in the eye and say “guys, I am beat, I am going to go take a nap.” I did, and I felt better.  So you can teach an old dog a new trick from time to time.

As always thank you for indulging me as I have rambled on.  I hope you have a great weekend.  If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to ask, if you want to comment those are appreciated as well.  Take care, Bill

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

34 responses to “How I Feel for the Week ending 04/25/14……  

  1. apoindex

    April 27, 2014 at 10:23 pm

    Now you need to take care of yourself so you can catch up. Love you!

     
    • FlaHam

      April 28, 2014 at 6:29 pm

      Honey, doing the best I can, trust me. Love Dad

       
  2. Chatter Master

    April 28, 2014 at 5:41 am

    For having a toothache, and not having paced yourself, it sounds like a 2.75 week was pretty good. Hopefully a week at the hotel will be relaxing and when you return home…. no problems to deal with regarding the new floors. Here’s to hoping for that! 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      April 28, 2014 at 6:39 pm

      Colleen, Smiling, I am giving myself a lot of credit, but then I am grading on a semi-curve, LOL. I suspect my brothers would give me a solid D for my performance over the weekend, but they showed their support and love, and I couldn’t ask for more. Take care, Bill

       
  3. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    April 28, 2014 at 11:54 am

    Ditto what your lovely Allison wrote. Please take care. No going out and dancing tonight! ❤

     
    • FlaHam

      April 28, 2014 at 6:46 pm

      Paulette, LMFAO, there isn’t a chance in hell I will be out dancing, it’s all I can do to get the laundry done. LOL LOL Take care, Bill

       
  4. kanzensakura

    April 28, 2014 at 8:57 pm

    Yes Bill, when I hit the disco inferno this weekend, I’d best not see you there. I hope when the brothers leave, the old dog will take some nice long snoozes, sit back and crank up the tunes. If your brothers showed you love and support during the visit, then all of you deserve an A+. Take care of yourself and chill. My mom tells me it is getting hot and humid down your way. I’ve already given her the lecture about behaving and staying indoors as much as possible. ❤ ❤

     
    • FlaHam

      April 29, 2014 at 6:31 pm

      Kanzen, LMBO Kanzen, even on my very best day, you would be had pressed to catch me in a disco. I damn near quit listening to music because of DISCO. I got the brothers out yesterday and have been busy ever since getting ready for my wife’s return. Next step having the flooring finally replaced. That process begins tomorrow. At some point I am going to crash and burn. LOL LOL Take care, Bill

       
      • kanzensakura

        April 29, 2014 at 8:42 pm

        I was a disco queen. and this from the one who went to Woodstock and rocked out on Jeff Airplane, the Who, Jimi Hendrix….but it was fun, frothy, and stylish. I still love dancing to it. I like making my younger husband tired and lose his breath teaching him steps. He never ceases to be a-mazed. And of course you’re the cute one of the brothers!

         
        • FlaHam

          April 30, 2014 at 9:26 pm

          Kanzen, Thank you, thank you, finally someone agreed I was the cute one LOL LOL. When disco came I was lost. Then I found the “Blues” and was found again. The “blues” carried me through grunge rock, but I have returned to my roots. I am clearly a heavy medal guy. I am amazed that you still disco dance, I do remember it being hard work to be a good disco dancer. More power to both you and your hubby. I can visualize you going thru your steps. LOL LOL. Take care, Bill

           
  5. Brenda

    April 28, 2014 at 9:39 pm

    I can understand your not wanting to wear headphones amongst your jokers, I mean brothers. And yes, you are all children. LOL I’m glad you’re still a 2.75 despite the rehab, the brothers, the tooth and your wife’s bucket tripping. LOL I can’t help playing with words. It’s a real cross I bear. As do people who have to read what I write. Uh oh, rambling and cracking jokes is a definite sign of being overtired. Who knows what I’ll say next…. Better get some rest. Cheers, Brenda

     
    • FlaHam

      April 29, 2014 at 6:36 pm

      Brenda, There is no doubt in my mind had I had my headphones on I might as well put a big red target on my back, because they would nail me. Laughing yes in spite of it all I did manage a 2.75 week. Which I will totally agree that is a good week. Brenda I completely understood your rambling and cracking jokes, what does that say about me?? Take care, have a good day. Bill

       
      • Brenda

        April 29, 2014 at 10:41 pm

        And you, my friend. We are on the same wavelength, despite our many differences. 🙂 Bear hug, Brenda

         
  6. benzeknees

    April 29, 2014 at 3:27 am

    I can understand how this can affect you – I have finally gotten all my appointments lined up to get some support for my health issues & it seems like almost every week for the next 6 weeks I will be visiting one doctor or another. Because of my incontinence issues (a result of surgery) I have to plan any visits outside the home very carefully – dehydrating myself to keep accidents to a minimum. So besides wearing me out I also have to worry or dehydration & rehydration issues. But I plan on being kind to myself & taking lots of rests to get through this time.

     
    • FlaHam

      April 29, 2014 at 6:47 pm

      Benze, And continue to find ways to maintain your attitude. So many different parts of our existence wears and works with other parts. It is hard to get out of balance. But having the hydrate – dehydrate issue can wear a body down quickly, I do hope your talking to your doctor about this, maybe he has a solution which isn’t quite as drastic as what your putting yourself thru. Something to think about. Please take care, Bill

       
      • benzeknees

        April 29, 2014 at 7:48 pm

        I have seen a urologist regarding my incontinence issues & basically they can’t do anything for me because I am such an anaesthetic risk. So I just have to do the best I can.

         
        • FlaHam

          April 30, 2014 at 9:24 pm

          Benze, Well as long as you don’t give up I will be happy. I to am an aesthetic risk, I have been fortunate the only procedure I have had in years was the inserting of the Mediport, and that was done under a heavy local. You just keep hanging in there. Take care, Bill

           
  7. DeeDee Granata

    April 29, 2014 at 8:15 am

    Good timing for me on this post. Thanks for the “do as I say” advice. What kind of floors are you putting in? We stayed home while we had ours done. Going to the hotel is a great idea. I definitely did go crazy, but I love our floors! Wood and slate tile for us. Don’t ever want to go back to carpet ever again. And don’t ever want to remodel ever again either. I used to think I was a people person but since we moved up here I’ve realized not so much. How did Bode Miller say it? I think it was him. I like people but I like them better far away. Anyways, hugs to you my friend.

     
    • FlaHam

      April 29, 2014 at 6:55 pm

      Dee Dee, It is always a pleasure to hear from you. Sometimes I am pretty damn good at saying “do as I say, not as I do.” I try to lead by example but sometimes, I just don’t. We are replacing the lament we had with another, but the new stuff is about 2 grades higher. We are quite happy with our selection of flooring, and won’t ever go back to carpet either. It just wouldn’t work for us. Dee Dee it really is the people if they are good, then your a good people person. LOL LOL I know exactly how that works. LOL. Take care, Bill

       
  8. huntmode

    May 3, 2014 at 11:16 pm

    Bill, I thought this was so good, I forwarded the link to a new virtual friend who stopped by my blog. She forgot to pace herself and ended up going down for the count, as you do. You being the universal you. I did this myself yesterday with tackling rolling up an old 6.8 x 10 foot rug that covers the original, very destroyed, 10 year old carpet. Spot botted the heck out of a particular area, vacuumed, and put down the new rug as far as it would go before running into furniture I couldn’t or wouldn’t lift… about 8 hours of work with enforced rest periods between…. blah-blah – just about everything has to have an extra hour tagged on to it, if only to be on the safe side in getting it done. I am glad you got some visiting time with the brothers; very sad to hear about your tooth (hopefully resolved by now, as I am late in reading). Y’all take care of my friend, Bill. He’s a good man. Smiling, Hunt

     
    • FlaHam

      May 4, 2014 at 8:46 pm

      Huntie, The tooth thing will not be resolved until 9am Tuesday morning when the friggin thing is pulled and the hole packed. And maybe then I will be back to almost or as close as I can get to normal. Of all the things we have to content with Pacing ourselves is probably one of the most difficult. Things like ego, need, want, desire, and the need to complete started task all play a major role, and they are all very difficult to overcome especially when you have 3 or more of these traits you’re dealing with. I am sure you learned a good lesson, that if your anything like me, things goes in one ear and usually out the other. You will become better acquainted with this trait as you have more experience dealing with pacing issues. Smiling, I love your learning from me and my mistakes. Take care, Bill

       
  9. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

    May 4, 2014 at 4:59 pm

    Hello, Bill. It’s nice to finally meet ‘the Bill Hamilton’ I’ve seen referenced in 4 new blogs I picked to follow. I especially liked what I read and saw with ‘Huntie’ and look – she even sent me your direct link about laying yourself flat out and forgetting to care for yourself. You have a great blog and I so forget self-pacing. It’s natural when I suggest to my disabled husband that he’s over-extending himself and that he must take a break. I on the other hand seem to always have in the back of my mind a group of little hammers, sometimes not so little, and they pound away until I tackle chores I need to accomplish.

     
    • FlaHam

      May 4, 2014 at 7:02 pm

      Sherdi, I am glad to have you as a follower, I hope that as time passes you continue to find something of worth from my writing. Huntie is good people, and suffers from COPD as well, and talks me up at every opportunity and I love her for that. But I was surprised to hear you say you had found reference to me in 4 blogs in the same day. While I hope to reach out and touch as many as possible, I am always surprised when I touch one. When I started my blog it was to be my soapbox to preach about COPD and the impact it has on an individual, I was also going to use it a forum to bitch that not enough was being done on the 4th biggest killer in the US and World. But as time passed my blog has changed. I post once a week on how I feel, this is a detailed narrative just as the title implies, but I add something each week a word or phrase to speak to and to preach about, and pacing (smiling) was a recent topic. I am extremely wordy and will talk your ear off, I have started following you and liked one of your recent posts. You have a lot on your plate, and I admire your handling of it. Please take care, and we will talk again I am sure. Bill

       
      • sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

        May 5, 2014 at 1:00 pm

        Bill – It’s interesting to me how this blog business works and I’m thrilled when a quality blog finds me or I stumble onto it. You were my blessing yesterday.
        You’ve probably figured out by now that I’m a full-time caregiver for my husband and I also try my best to get a blog up once a week. It doesn’t always happen. I write a lot about mental health, some about our military drawdown as I firmly believe we will end up with no defense at all and then there’s my slices of life. I have a few blogs here and there about my cat Mortichi and our adventures around the world. I’m looking forward to getting to know you and having time to explore your blog at my leisure. However, today is all about taking my husband to the doctor and that’s a full day right there. We’ll be talking soon, Bill. Your writing is excellent and provides a great narrataive.

         
        • FlaHam

          May 5, 2014 at 4:03 pm

          Sheri, Thank you for the additional information. I generally post 2 or 3 times a week. More if I have something to say. Each week I do my how I feel for the week post (generally on Fridays). I try to post a personal story sometime midweek, and then I spend the rest of my time responding to comments. I try to respond directly to the person. I also capture an individual’s email address and try to add them as a CC so they don’t have to go back to the original post. Soft smile, yes I did figure out immediately you are husband care taker, and it is a full time job, it takes a ton of strength to do what you do, and by your own admission it does wear you down from time to time. But it also shows the great love you have for your husband. Sheri, I look forward to seeing you, know your schedule will help me understand why I don’t see you so thank you for sharing that. Take care, Bill

           
          • sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

            May 7, 2014 at 8:14 pm

            Bill – I’m listening to one of Tom’s play list at this exact moment and it’s Ann Murray’s ‘Could I Have This Dance.’ Tom loves music the same as you and I. Tom also listens to a lot of oldies and instrumentals such as jazz, oldies, rock ‘n roll. Neither of us like the heavy rock ‘n roll stuff. I’m partial to piano music (only the truly talented need apply) as I’ve had 12 years of classical piano. Take good care, my friend. Sheri

             
            • FlaHam

              May 8, 2014 at 8:48 am

              Sheri, LOL 1st I need to apologize, I forgot to mention in my last response I am all for getting together for a drink or 3, and a bunch of snacks, that would be so so much fun. Smiling, I am glad we share the love of music, though our tastes are poles apart LOL LOL. I am 64 and love the hard pounding ear hurting music the kids enjoy. It goes back to the days of my youth. So while I will know as I recite songs I am listening to you make not like them or might not be able to tolerate them, at least you will love the fact that I am listening to them. I am sure a compromise is there someplace in the world of Jazz, another genre of music I enjoy because it is so complicated. Take care, Bill

               
              • benzeknees

                May 8, 2014 at 4:40 pm

                When I was young I used to sing soprano, now after years of smoking, I can only sing tenor (like Anne Murray), so the song “Can I Have This Dance for the Rest of My Life” is one of the few songs I can still sing & is often in my head!

                 
                • FlaHam

                  May 9, 2014 at 5:08 am

                  Benze, Sing what is in your heart, and don’t give a crap how it sounds coming out of your mouth. Enjoy relax explode with it. Don’t keep it bottled up inside. Take care, Bill

                   
              • sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

                May 9, 2014 at 2:11 am

                How about the Squirrel Nut Zippers? They are no longer together but they are also on Tom’s playlist. There’s not much music I don’t enjoy. I will weigh in and say I don’t care for steel guitar. Jazz is good.

                 
                • FlaHam

                  May 9, 2014 at 4:26 am

                  Sheri, You got me, I have never heard of the Squirrel Nut Zippers, that group actually sounds kinda of painful to me. I will have to trust Tom on this choice. I am sure we can find the common ground to sit upon as far as music, as we are sipping our drink of choice, and munching away on our snacks. Take care, Bill

                   
  10. Wanda

    May 5, 2014 at 5:19 pm

    Bill–I’m sorry to be so far behind and so uninformed about everything that’s been going on for you. I knew about Steph’s trip, your brothers’ visit, and the floor business, but I was completely unaware of the problem tooth. I’m so sorry you’ve had to deal with pain on top of everything else. Are you OK for Thursday a.m.? Do you need a driver or anything else?

     
    • FlaHam

      May 5, 2014 at 9:05 pm

      Wanda, Smiling, I am all caught up and good to go, the tooth comes out tomorrow, at 9am what a mood setter for the day huh. But it should be simple, it’s my 2nd in 3 yrs. Seems I am just going to hell in a hand basket LOL. But as always I appreciate your continued concern, your thoughts for my well being, and how you just always make me feel good. Take care, Love Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

