RSS

Songs on Script

02 May

Here is a very interesting post from a fellow sufferer of COPD, give it a look, the singing is an interesting twist. Take care, Bill

The Departure Lounge

The original 'long cool woman in a black dress', Audrey Hepburn. The original ‘long cool woman in a black dress’, Audrey Hepburn.

In 1972, the year Big Tobacco said it was “a nonsense that smoking causes emphysema”, I was listening to the Hollies ‘Long Cool Woman in a Black Dress’, and smoking Kents that were killing me softly. By 1976 I had my foot firmly on that Stairway to Heaven.

Surprising as it may sound, it has long been suspected that singing can help people with breathing difficulties.

Singing helps your lung capacity, buoys your spirits, refreshes your memory and probably strengthens your immune system. It is free, it’s legal and it’s fun. As we used to say of sex.

The World Health Organization’s shocking outlook is that COPD will be the third leading cause of death by 2030. Around the world today, an estimated 65 million of us are struggling to breathe on a daily basis.

So if there was…

View original post 328 more words

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 2, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Songs on Script

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    May 3, 2014 at 10:32 am

    If I sing really loudly maybe you’ll hear me and we can sing together to help you feel better. It’s a great reblog, Bill. Never ceases to amaze me that the simple, and free, things in life are so amazingly helpful. Have a good day, my friend. ❤

     
  2. huntmode

    May 4, 2014 at 12:13 am

    Bill, this was great and confirmed a sneaking suspicion I’d had. Singing and reblogged! I also think blowing up balloons could help. I read this was one doctor’s solution of rehabilitative care for those who had broken their ribs. He was from Mexico and didn’t have all our wherewithal. Mind, it takes some time – LOL, but letting go of the balloon and watching the dog and cat – priceless!

     
    • FlaHam

      May 4, 2014 at 11:36 am

      Huntie, I think you will enjoy the works of Barbara. I found her to be very interesting. And like so many of us she has a great attitude, and a story to tell. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

Life and scribbles on the far side of SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

