RSS

Our First Halloween…. A Treasure Box Story

03 Jun

Halloween has been a special holiday for kids and adults alike.  In both cases it is celebrated in costume and over indulgence. This is a Halloween story about kids, in particular my daughter Allison’s first where she was going to be the one going to the door, ringing the bell, and saying “Trick or Treat.”  She knew those words were the key, and she truly understood the concept of tons of candy. This was also the first year that Allison understood the concept of a costume, and voiced a significant rant in what she wanted to be. Smiling, she chose to be a cowboy, not a cowgirl, but a cowboy.    In the past she had always gone as a princess, or lady bug, (actually that sums up her past Halloween experiences) and the reality was Allison didn’t really have a say. Steph and I had chosen what she was going to be, and Allison didn’t argue, smiling, she really didn’t understand the concept.  Her prior experience with Halloween was to put on something funny (and most likely she didn’t realize it was funny)  and take a walk collecting stuff her parents ate. Also it was just a walk around the block with Mom or Dad or both, at every open door hold out her bag, maybe mumble something, and an adult would put candy in the bag.  A kid’s concept of heaven I am sure.  I think preschool was a real boost to her Halloween educational process.

For the kids the Halloween costume is something they either painstakingly pick out and create or have their parents do all the work, by either going to the store buying the costume and making the necessary adjustments or by creating something from the tons of cloths and stuff around the house.  Allison is pictured here in her cowboy costume, barely able to contain herself, and about 45 minutes after we got her dressed and the makeup refined to something that Allison could/would tolerate.

Revised Makeup LOL

Revised Makeup LOL 

 Smiling, the effort we put ourselves thru for our lovely children. 

This is round two for the makeup.  Being honest this is 30 years ago Allison was probably 4 or 5. Not the sweet looking cowpoke she looks like in the picture. And you can’t even see the gunbelt she had on.  We couldn’t get a shot of her in the original pre-toned down cowboy make-up, because Allison wasn’t having it. During the first application of makeup, Steph had her more made up as a rough and tumble kinda cowboy, the beard was fuller and not a goatee, the mustache deeper, the eyebrows more arched and much darker. And I think there may have been a scar or two.  I know Steph put a ton of effort into this costume, and even more time and energy putting that makeup on Allison.  

When I carried her to the bathroom, and Steph and I 1st showed Allison her appearance, she totally freaked out, she when totally bonkers, screaming, crying, trying to get out of my hands, looking in the mirror moaning, wanting to know WHO’S THAT, screaming that’s not me. Allison was having nothing to do with the Cowboy she saw in the mirror and she was PISSED because her DAD was smiling and so proud and lovingly at the cowboy.  It was truly like a small thermo nuclear device had gone off in the bathroom.  It took 20 minutes to remove the original makeup and get her calm enough to try again.  If you look closely at the picture, you can kinda tell she is still not comfortable.  But the power of persuasion is amazing.  We told Allison no makeup, no trick or treating.  That was the final hurdle we needed to get over and it worked.  It also helped significantly when everyone we encountered told Allison she looked like a great Cowboy.

I will be going thru the photo albums, and picking out single pictures to share a “Treasure Box” story.  Some will be purely for Cari’s entertainment; others will be for my entertainment.  But no matter when you see them I hope you’re entertained.

As always if you have any questions, comments or concerns please feel free to ask.  Take care Bill

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

24 responses to “Our First Halloween…. A Treasure Box Story

  1. Chatter Master

    June 3, 2014 at 7:35 pm

    Bill….I left a comment but now I don’t see it? I will wait and see if it shows back up….

     
    • FlaHam

      June 4, 2014 at 5:52 am

      Colleen, I didn’t get it, but have your interest instead, so I win. Take care, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        June 4, 2014 at 9:02 pm

        I think I told you about dressing up my oldest when she was two as an oil sheik. We had a local business that had a miniature oil derrick in the yard of their office. We took her picture in front of it and the owner hung in there until he retired, almost twenty more years. 🙂

        And Allison is adorable in a beard! 🙂

         
        • FlaHam

          June 5, 2014 at 10:36 am

          Colleen, I believe this is the 1st time I heard this story, and talk about precious!!! The picture must have been so cool, but the owner hanging in his office for 20 years makes it that much cooler. When I read your response to my wife last night she giggled just like I did. Thank you for sharing this. LOL I think she still cringes when she see’s that picture. I have all manner of pictures that would embarrass her a little bit, and I may dig some out of the wayback machine, others will stay hidden away in the vault LOL. Take care, Bill

           
          • Chatter Master

            June 5, 2014 at 8:32 pm

            Oh geez….I’m scared I can’t remember what I said to your wife!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

            And I am very excited to see new pictures….er….old pictures! 🙂

             
            • FlaHam

              June 5, 2014 at 9:33 pm

              Colleen, to my knowledge you haven’t spoke to my wife, but I know you have shared comments with my daugther Allison. So I don’t think you need to fret about what you said to Steph. Take care. Bill

               
              • Chatter Master

                June 6, 2014 at 5:57 am

                😀 Whew….thought I was losing some grey matter there Bill. I have had a few comments with your daughter indeed. 🙂

                 
                • FlaHam

                  June 6, 2014 at 9:27 am

                  Colleen, Smiling I looked at Steph last night and said “Has Colleen Brown been in touch with you”, to which she replied “Who?” so I knew you had been talking to Allison. Take care, Bill Trust me you have not lost any gray matter. LOL

                   
  2. kanzensakura

    June 3, 2014 at 8:43 pm

    This is just adorable. I think of how my folks were so good about Halloween, my father frequently taken my friends and me to several of the “rich” neighborhoods to trick or treat….wow. I like this story so much. such a proud delighted daddy you are!

     
    • FlaHam

      June 4, 2014 at 12:52 pm

      Kanzen, As a kid I never when to the “rich” neighborhoods to trick or treat, they were to far away, and unlike your dad, mine didn’t see the need. And looking back, Dad was probably right. I was a tricker treater that started early and finished late. And when I went T & T ing that was back in the day when you still got apples, and home made peanut brittle, and no one was worried. The parents picked over our goodies “deeming” some unsafe for child consumption LOL. When Allison was growing up, she stayed in our neighborhood. It wasn’t until we moved to Florida, that I started seeing tons of kids I knew didn’t live in the area trick and treating at our house. We are at the stage where we turn the lights off and don’t answer the door. Take care, Bill

       
  3. Brenda Davis Harsham

    June 3, 2014 at 9:31 pm

    Most preschoolers have trouble with masks and makeup, other than face paint. Some preschools won’t even allow any costumes. Funny, looking back at the pressure we parents put on the kids. Why do we care? Great story. Warmly, Brenda

     
    • FlaHam

      June 4, 2014 at 12:54 pm

      Brenda, It only took that one time to figure out Allison wasn’t much into makeup for halloween. And pretty much after that year Allison chose her own costume. I learn almost as fast as she does. LOL LOL take care, Bill

       
      • Brenda Davis Harsham

        June 4, 2014 at 1:15 pm

        LOL She raised you up to be a good dad! 🙂

         
        • FlaHam

          June 4, 2014 at 1:17 pm

          Brenda, thank you that’s about the sweetest thing to say. Take care, Bill

           
          • Brenda Davis Harsham

            June 4, 2014 at 1:19 pm

            You take care, too. I’m glad to know you had another 2.75 week. I believe in you, you can turn the tide in your favor.

             
  4. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    June 3, 2014 at 9:45 pm

    Love it! What a great post and photo. ❤

     
    • FlaHam

      June 4, 2014 at 12:55 pm

      Paulette, Thank you, I hope your well. Take care, Bill

       
  5. Clowie

    June 4, 2014 at 9:33 am

    What a cute cowboy! She probably doesn’t even remember getting upset about the make up.

     
    • FlaHam

      June 4, 2014 at 1:00 pm

      Clowie, You are most probably right. I didn’t ask for permission to tell this story, so if I greatly off course of if she has any strong memories I am sure she will let me know. LOL LOL. And like I have told her in the past, these are my memories not hers. We haven’t learned the Vulcan Mind Melt thingy yet, so she has to suffer thru me making fun of her from time to time. Take care, your Friend Biped Bill

       
  6. DeeDee Granata

    June 8, 2014 at 7:33 am

    Haha. I was laughing through this whole story – sorry Allison. You are an amazing writer. I was right there with your family. I forgot where I was for a minute after finishing the story.

     
    • FlaHam

      June 8, 2014 at 12:23 pm

      Dee, I truly enjoy sharing stories about my family, my friends, and my experiences. I kinda feel like Walter Mitty from time to time LOL. And poor Allison, being an only child, is the subject of so many of my stories. At some point I must have warned her that this that or the other would come back and haunt her. Damn if it hasn’t thru my stories. I am so so glad you enjoy the stories, and can find ways to insert yourself into them. Take care, Bill

       
  7. Wanda

    June 11, 2014 at 6:15 pm

    What I love best about this photo and story (wiping away the tears…) is how much Allison’s fauz beard looks like yours at the time. You and Steph did a great job with this!

    I don’t know that Art and I were all that creative with costumes when Karen was trick-or-treating age. The only one I remember for sure is that Art’s ex-wife sent Karen a handmade Raggedy Ann and Andy set AND a quilt (!!!) when Karen was about 3 years old (I can’t remember whether it was for b’day or Christmas). Anyway…Raggedy Ann’s dress was a perfect fit for that year’s Halloween.

    You will have to ask Art about his adult Halloween costumes…

    There was the year he was the skating flasher. Art started roller skating in the 1960s when he was stationed in Beeville, Texas, and kept up with it in an on-again-off-again fashion afterward. During the 1980s (TV-wise, think Dallas, Knots Landing, & Falcon Crest), he was a regular at the Thursday night adult skate at our local rink.

    His costume that Halloween: cut-off jeans and t-shirt, his bootcamp-issue raincoat, roller skates, and a battery-operated (camera) flash attachment. Whenever opportunity presented itself, he would open his raincoat and pulse the (strategically placed) flash unit. I wasn’t there, but I suspect he was the hit of the party.

    The other most-memorable costume I remember is when he decided to be a peg-legged pirate.

    His costume that Halloween: jeans and t-shirt and our household’s (well-used) toilet plunger. His plan: tie one leg up behind him so he could rest his knee in the cup of the toilet plunger while the handle of the plunger served as his peg leg. I’m not sure which gave out first–the circulation in his tied-behind-him-leg or the handle of the plunger. Either way, he was soon handing out candy with both feet firmly planted on the ground.

    A fun post, recalling many fond memories…

     
    • FlaHam

      June 12, 2014 at 10:37 am

      Wanda, Smiling, thank you so much, the beard was so much better before the revised addition LOL LOL. I rarely did a custom, I generally walked with Allison with an empty drink glass, which some neighbors filled with a touch of bourbon LOL LOL. So I didn’t need much of Allison’s candy. Knowing Art as I do, there is no doubt in my mind that he went full force, putting a significant amount of effort into his customs. Though him as a flasher skater must have been one of his best. Take care, and we will talk more later xoxo Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

