RSS

Handprints

25 Jun

Not long ago Chatter Master wrote a blog titled “Is Will Be What Was” http://bikecolleenbrown.wordpress.com/2014/06/05/is-will-be-what-was/ which inspired me if of nothing else to draw Cari’s (my granddaughter’s) hand superimposed over mine.   If you go to Chatter’s post, you will inspired as well, maybe not to do the handprint thing, but inspired none the less.  Her perspective is a delightfully written little narrative that speaks to generations before and after, now and then and the joys and wonderment that come with it. Something, on even my best of days I couldn’t hope to replicate and this isn’t my intent. 

But I wanted to do something with that visual.  The impact of one generation laid over another.  Hands 2014Here at the Hamilton home we have a “brag wall”.  It is a wall that serves no other purpose that to display family photos. LOL the brag wall is located out of the normal public viewing area of our home, so are friends are not subjected to this on a constant basis. Some of the pictures reflect special moments, but most are of the family at various stages of our lives.  Our wall has pictures that span over almost 40 years of the Bill, Steph and Allison show. But also some of the displayed photos are actually even older because they show me as a child, that alone makes some of these photos 60 + years old, and without doing an inventory I suspect there are pictures there or should be there of our parents with their parents, so now I guess I should say some of the pictures reach back almost 100 years.  If they aren’t on the wall they will be.  

Right at this moment the “brag” wall has only 1 picture on it. That picture was taken last year when we took Allison’s family, on the Disney cruise.  The other pictures were taken down when we had the interior of the house painted, and we were too lazy to put them back up.  One of my missions between now and the end of retirement will be to get the “brag wall” back to its old self.   I want it to be a place that Cari can drag her mom and ask who was this, or who was that, or why do you look so goofy mom.  Because I am sure Allison will have a story or two to share, and if she doesn’t then she can drag Steph into the conversation, between them they can look, smile, giggle, or maybe cry.  Who knows? And then they can explain the picture together while they continue to laugh and giggle.  

The “brag wall” will be part of the legacy I leave behind when the end of retirement comes.  And while she doesn’t know it yet, Allison will be a big player in helping re-establish the wall. The handprints picture will be framed and a place set aside for it in the wall.  Shadow box photos of Cari and Allison (both taken at the approximate same age) which look almost identical will have a special place. The wall will claim its former glory. 

Many of you know I write the bulk of my posts for my daughter and granddaughter’s future enjoyment.  I write a lot about me as a kid, my adventures, my miss adventures, about things that were important (or seemed so at the time), or things not so important, by anyone’s measure. Most of my life history is wrapped up in these words.  These stories will be part of the legacy I will leave behind.  When other children are talking about their grandparents Cari will have her grandmother and these stories to share as she sees fit. 

The stories I write about Allison are a way of reverse revenge.  Cari will see what kinda of crap her mother tried to get away with, and either develop a different game plan or search for and find new and unique ways to get over on her mom and dad.  That is a child main purpose in life, to get over on the parents and grandparents.  LOL heck it is a war of wills whenever Cari comes to visit.  She has her agenda, and being a guy (even a grandfather) I for the life of me can never figure out the female’s plan.  But I will admit that I generally lose the war of wills, and in doing so love every minute of it. 

Folks, thank you for allowing me the opportunity to take some of your time. I do appreciate it greatly.  If you have any question or comments please feel free to ask. Take care, Bill

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

29 responses to “Handprints

  1. kanzensakura

    June 25, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    I like this post a lot. I find it supremely touching and have no words that truly reflect how this makes me feel. How blessed to have that brag wall and the purpose that goes with it. Hugs.

     
    • FlaHam

      June 25, 2014 at 10:13 pm

      Kanzen, Thank you, Colleen’s post gave me the warm and fuzzy feeling I needed to me inspire to create this piece of work. The ‘brag wall” started when we lived in Virginia, and we brought it with us. It really needs it’s rightful place, and I will see to it. I am so so glad this took you someplace special. Take care, Bill

       
      • kanzensakura

        June 26, 2014 at 10:20 am

        The family split and well all different directions. it’s our way of having our family with us, though physically apart.

         
        • FlaHam

          June 26, 2014 at 12:09 pm

          Smiling, Your brag wall emcompasses many walls in many locations. Still serves the same purpose. Take care my dear. Bill

           
  2. Chatter Master

    June 25, 2014 at 7:46 pm

    Oh Bill I love it! I love that you are going to frame it! You have inspired me. I will do the same with each of my grands!!!! I hope the brag wall is restored to it’s former glory I love pictures, especially when they show the story of a family across many generations. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      June 25, 2014 at 10:18 pm

      Colleen, my lovely friend, this post is purely your fault, and you make take complete credit for it. We will have as much family as we can muster on the wall. I may even go begging for pictures from my sister to add to it. But all kidding aside, the thought of doing this with each child or grandchild is a heart warming thought. Smiling I may do one with Allison, there is some coolness in that thought. Especially if we stack them on the wall above or below mine and Cari’s. Thanks for causing that thought. Take care, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        June 26, 2014 at 5:37 am

        😀 Fault accepted!! 🙂

         
        • FlaHam

          June 26, 2014 at 6:34 am

          Colleen, you make me smile all the time. Thank you. Bill

           
  3. Chess

    June 25, 2014 at 9:34 pm

    I love the idea of the brag wall, what a great way to enjoy your special memories.

     
    • FlaHam

      June 25, 2014 at 10:19 pm

      Chess, Feel free to copy it and claim it as your own. It is a thought worth sharing and an emotion worth having. Take care, Bill

       
  4. Chess

    June 25, 2014 at 10:24 pm

    Thank you 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      June 25, 2014 at 10:27 pm

      Chess, You’re most welcome, thanks for coming along. Take care, Bill

       
  5. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

    June 26, 2014 at 6:08 am

    Terrific idea having the ‘Love Me Wall.’ As I moved from government office to government office that was one thing Tom complained about, the taking down and rehanging diplomas, awards and such in my new office. At home, all wall space (well, just about all wall space is devoted to Tom’s art). The only reason I miss having a big house is we can no longer display all of Tom’s exquisite work nor the art we collected from all over the world.

     
    • FlaHam

      June 26, 2014 at 12:19 pm

      Sheri, That inability to show it all would eat at me a bit. Because I would want to show it all, all the time. I am sure you have ways of rotating from time to time, to pull out gems you haven’t seen and visited. I have only retained a few things from my career that are displayed, and even then they are in my office here at the house, so only a few have actually seen these items. And for those that do see them, without the back story there is no meaning. I suspect at some point they will end up in a box destined for goodwill. And even that is okay and a fitting end. Take care, Bill

       
      • sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

        June 26, 2014 at 2:08 pm

        Bill – When I made the decision to leave DC, I realized I no longer needed the ‘I Love Me Wall’ to define my professional or personal status. I’d made my career climbing that ladder one rung at a time and as long as I knew who I was, that was really all that mattered. During the months of my job hunt for leaving DC I’d carry home a few of the framed awards, etc. and take sheer delight in sailing them across the lawn from the deck of our second floor. Of course I always had to clean up the mess but it was tons of fun. I felt so liberated. I’ve kept a few momentous, but like you, they are in my office here at home and not many make it to this side of the house. The walls of my office are given over to those items I love and treasure – not to awards and such that often held little meaning to me. You gave me great food for thought in this blog.

         
        • FlaHam

          June 26, 2014 at 3:23 pm

          Sheri, I have seen more than my share of “I love me walls”, I know it did the person good to have such a wall, and I wasn’t offended by it. I was fortunate that I was never really got photographed with someone truly important or famous, so I never had to worry about hanging that picture. But I do have tons of pictures of me and my golf buddies and my bowling teams. I also admit that I kept the certificates of merit, special achievement and outstanding performance, but displayed only the most current, plus I still have my formal “Honorable Discharge” certificate someplace here. But I really liked the idea of using them for Frisbee’s and flinging them across the yard, I do wish I had thought of that. The things you have in your office now are those things that are truly important. And someday someone will look at something in your office, and someone else will proudly say she got that for this, that or the other. And the memory will continue. Take care, Bill

           
      • sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

        June 26, 2014 at 2:08 pm

        Bill – When I made the decision to leave DC, I realized I no longer needed the ‘I Love Me Wall’ to define my professional or personal status. I’d made my career climbing that ladder one rung at a time and as long as I knew who I was, that was really all that mattered. During the months of my job hunt for leaving DC I’d carry home a few of the framed awards, etc. and take sheer delight in sailing them across the lawn from the deck of our second floor. Of course I always had to clean up the mess but it was tons of fun. I felt so liberated. I’ve kept a few momentous, but like you, they are in my office here at home and not many make it to this side of the house. The walls of my office are given over to those items I love and treasure – not to awards and such that often held little meaning to me. You gave me great food for thought in this blog.

         
  6. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    June 26, 2014 at 9:51 am

    Love it! ❤

     
    • FlaHam

      June 26, 2014 at 12:10 pm

      Paulette, Smiling, I am so glad you do. Take care, Bill xoxo

       
  7. barbarafranken

    June 26, 2014 at 1:49 pm

    How wonderful Bill… what a lovely thing to do with your grandchild and as I will be seeing mine in a couple of weeks time, I believe it is the perfect thing to do with him… Normally he stays on at play school but this time we are going to have a great summer month being with him… maybe to start a ‘brag wall’ in his bedroom would be a great activity… in the form of a heart… if you don’t mind that I claim my own… Each year I print off all the different photos i’ve taken of him when we visit America and make quite a big collage… that hangs on my wall in pride and joy for all to see and where I can be with him… Today is a great day Bill… thanks for making it that much greater… take care of yourself and remember the conscious breathe and lots of water… Barbara x

     
    • FlaHam

      June 26, 2014 at 3:10 pm

      Barbara, Please feel free to use as you choose and to take full credit. I know for a fact my brag wall isn’t the first nor will it be the last. It is a place to allow oneself to cherish the moments again and again. Take delight and encourage your grandson. I don’t believe it is ever to early to start. Barbara, I breath as deeply as I can and drink enough water to float a rather large boat. LOL. Take care, Bill

       
  8. Brenda Davis Harsham

    June 26, 2014 at 4:03 pm

    The Brag Wall has to be revived!! What an excellent project. Love the handprints. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      June 26, 2014 at 10:38 pm

      Brenda, The “brag wall” will be recreated and updated. Thanks for caring. Take care, Bill

       
  9. huntmode

    June 27, 2014 at 5:54 pm

    I loved this, Bill. A family brag wall, generation to generation – a visual and oratory play field. What a wonderful idea and I hope it gets passed forward. So much better than an album! So thoughtful of you as well to be sure it goes on and grows with time. That hand over hand was inspired.

     
    • FlaHam

      June 28, 2014 at 10:37 am

      Huntie, In my heart I know Allison already has dibs on a lot of the photo’s that have or will be on the brag wall. It started as a simple multi-picture frame we picked up at a bargain store and grew from there. I will be totally honest I stole the hand over hand from Colleen. But I hope it catches a breeze of it’s own and ends up on the walls of many homes. Take care, Bill

       
  10. benzeknees

    June 29, 2014 at 1:31 am

    What a nice legacy to leave for your daughter & granddaughter! The 2 combined (the wall & the blog) will give them almost everything they may want to know about you.

     
    • FlaHam

      June 29, 2014 at 2:57 pm

      Benze, Soft smile, it will be something that can be carried forward, for viewing into the past. But right now there are still contributions to be made to it. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

