RSS

How I Feel for the Week Ending 6.28.14…

27 Jun

Good morning folks, I hope you have had a pleasant week.  It is approximately 9:45am when I am starting this report so there is no logical reason why it won’t get completed and shared sometime today.  I know I am setting us up, because something will happen that prevents me from completing this today, as sure as the sun rose this morning something will happen.  Sidebar; the 1st 3 songs out of the box this morning have been Heart’s “Stairway to Heaven,” Vince Gill’s Don’t Let our Love Start Slipping Away,” and Depeche Mode’s “Personal Jesus,” talk about setting the mood. That’s what happens when the IPod is set on random.  Since last week’s report we have had no rain, and the day time humidature (a combination of heat and humidity) here in the Tampa area has run as high as 112 degrees with actual temperatures in the mid-90s, and trust me if you have respiratory issues that will take every ounce of energy you think you have and just squeeze every drop out of you.  Even with the heat and other considerations I am maintaining a constant 2.75 score for the week. 

Changes in my health that are more apparent during the heat, in that I tire faster and easier, and recovery takes a bit longer.  But I also feel that my diminishing health manifests itself many other ways as well.  Such things as taking a shower is not as easy as it once was and simple household tasks are not as simple as they once were.  For example emptying the dishwasher takes longer and sometimes requires a break to catch my breath, gathering the trash is a chore that requires more than one break, then getting the trash cans to the street is a job all to itself.  Dressing takes a bit longer, especially those mornings I put on my support stocking. The change is gradual, but you do notice it over time.  I am not surprised or offended by these changes it is part of the progression of the disease.  Smiling, these days I budget 20 mins or so to empty the dishwasher instead of the 8 to 12 mins it used to take. I also make other accommodations in my day-to-day life to manage the changes in my health. Also I don’t obligate myself to as many things during a day as I used too, all of these efforts enhances my quality of life without degrading my opinion of myself. Sidebar: I now have the Black Eyed Peas “I got a Feeling” slamming in my ears, and it is such a happy song, I have also some blues, and old rock, some of the bands include Linkin Park, Led Zeppelin, Halestorm, BB King, Lucinda Williams, so far it has been a good random kinda day.  

I had only 1 doctors’ appointment this week, and that was as always a productive conversation with Doc Head.  Also this week I have had my normal weekly checkup by Hospice. I am talkative, so these checkups can take 90 minutes, yesterdays was only about an hour.  When she asked the weekly “What do you miss” question, I kinda threw her a curve and said “Not Much,” with a follow-up that I was over not playing golf, and I was over not bowling, and I was doing pretty much everything else I wanted to do, only doing it a lot slower.  She kinda smiled, but got it.  Last week I suggested I was going to start giving off the wall answers to that question and that is still my intent, but yesterday I was off my game a bit, and wasn’t thinking as fast as necessary.  And when that happens the truth is the easiest thing to say. So I did.

Below is a link for a bit of recognition I got for this blog.  I have a call into the person that selected my blog, and should she ever call me back I will share with you the outcome of the conversation. I have emailed the link to a couple of folks and apparently it has worked fine, but my tests results have been iffy at best.  I do know if you use the link it takes you to an OOPS page, but if you just cut everything after blogs out and put in #14 it works.

http://www.healthline.com/health-slideshow/best-copd-blogs#14

Let get the vitals out-of-the-way for the week ending 06.28.14

  • INR = 3.0 taken 06.16.14 – next test will be 06.30.14 – but no change in meds

  • O2 level @ 2.5 LPM = 96 taken moments ago, 6.28.14

  • Peak Flow = 205 taken moments ago, 6.28.14

  • BP = 102/62 taken 06.27.14

  • Heart rate = 87 taken moments ago 6.27.14

  • Temp = 98.6 taken 06.27.14

  • Weight = 269 taken 06.27.14

So ends the technical aspect of my “How I Feel This Week” report for the week ending 06.28.14, moving now to the word of the week discussion aspect. This week I have chosen “Joy” as the word of the week. As I normally do I will start with the dictionary definition for the word. 

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/joy

joy — noun \ˈjȯi\ : a feeling of great happiness : a source or cause of great happiness : something or someone that gives joy to someone : success in doing, finding, or getting something 

Full Definition of JOY = 1 a :  the emotion evoked by well-being, success, or good fortune or by the prospect of possessing what one desires : delight b :  the expression or exhibition of such emotion :  gaiety 2 :  a state of happiness or felicity :  bliss 3 :  a source or cause of delight

For the rest of the definition please visit the link above.

Over the last few weeks I have spent this time talking about words like; denial, therapy, anger, Hospice, expectations, challenges and on and on.  Each of these words has touched someone somehow. Writing about them has been uplifting for me, as well as, unburdening.  I am not going to spend this time telling you that it will be a joy to die, what a big friggin lie that would be.  Hell if I had my way I would love to be 100+ and then the 170 year old Willard Scott could talk about me during the morning weather.  But just because one is dying doesn’t mean the joy has gone to. When asked how am I doing I sometime say I woke looking at the flowers from the correct direction.  Just saying each day starts off good, that I am here today is a pleasure.  You would be amazed at all the ways you can find a bit of joy each day.

o   During college football and basketball seasons each time Louisville wins I am joyful.

o   I am joyful when my daughter calls to talk to Me and not us.

o   I am joyful when a child looks at me and thinks I am Santa

o   I am joyful when Cari says she loves me

o   I am joyful when I see the flowers that Brenda’s blog is forever promoting

o   I am joyful when the good guy really kicks the bad guys’ ass during the shows I watch on TV

o   I am joyful went the pool temp is above 86 degrees

o   I find joy in all the wonderful blogs I subscribe to and comment on

o   I am joyful when I gather with my neighborhood family to play cards

o   I take great joy when any of my brothers or my sister calls to chat

o   I am joyful when the bottle of water in the frig is so cold it is almost ice

o   I take great joy in sharing the music I listen to as I create these posts

o   I am super joyful when it only costs 500 instead of a 1000 to fix Big Red

o   I am joyful that I make my wife smile and giggle

o   I am joyful and happy when I go to church and actually get it

o   I am joyful that I have good doctors doing the best they can for me under the worse circumstances

o   I am joyful that I can afford the health care necessary to keep me around as long as possible

o   I am joyful when I see any little person smile and giggle uncontrollable

o   I am joyful when the good guy wins

My point is simple we all have so many things to be joyful about.  Dying doesn’t take these joys away. If anything, dying makes us appreciate them even more, making each of them special.   I came up with this list of things I am joyful about in a matter of moments, it took no special effort on my part, and I know YOU could find just as many things.  The great thing about joy is that we don’t have to be sick to enjoy it, nor does being healthy make your joy better. 

Joy is what you make of it, I have decided to make the most of the joys I have each day.  Smiling, another good thing about joy is that each day presents new reasons to be joyful. 

As always if you have any questions, concerns, or comments please feel free to bring to my attention, I will answer as completely and honestly as possible. Please take care, Bill

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

19 responses to “How I Feel for the Week Ending 6.28.14…

  1. kanzensakura

    June 27, 2014 at 8:59 pm

    I am joyful when I read your blog. Lots of love.

     
    • FlaHam

      June 28, 2014 at 10:42 am

      Kanzen, that is so sweet. I am glad that you find a level of joy in my words. I know your words have had a wonderful impact on me. Take care, Bill

       
      • kanzensakura

        June 28, 2014 at 2:48 pm

        That’s one of the reasons I blog. I learn so much from the people I follow and I have gotten to know a bunch of wonderful people. Reading your words on this post brought to mind a lot of things. As usual, I pay attention to your readings. Please give your wife, and daughter and granddaughter a hug for me. They are so blessed to still have you. I wsh I could hug my dad. please let them hug you for me.

         
        • FlaHam

          June 28, 2014 at 8:01 pm

          Kanzen, My sweet friend, I do give them a hug at each opportunity. And my dear, I gladly accept hugs, you could say I embrace them. Blogging has indeed been a wonderful experience, I have been blessed to have met so many truly wonderful people, people I would never have known had it not been for blogging. That alone gives me so much joy. I have thanked Huntie numerous times for introducing us. Please take care, Bill

           
          • kanzensakura

            June 28, 2014 at 11:05 pm

            You take care and take it easy, dear heart Bill.

             
            • FlaHam

              June 29, 2014 at 2:40 pm

              Kanzen, I will, but you do the same. Take care, Bill

               
  2. Clowie

    June 28, 2014 at 7:08 am

    I am joyful that you find so much joy. I am joyful that I can help my bipeds take joy in the simple things around us.
    I think I can understand a little about how much harder everything is in the heat – I always take my walk early in the hot weather and do as little as possible during the heat of the day.

     
    • FlaHam

      June 28, 2014 at 11:02 am

      Clowie, It is always a pleasure (and JOY also) to share a few words with you. I am thankful you find so many reasons to be joyful. I am sure you are a great joy to your bipeds. I am going to follow your advice as best I can, and do as little as possible during the heat of the day. Take care, Bill

       
  3. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    June 28, 2014 at 12:52 pm

    You are such a gem! Sending you cool thoughts that the heat doesn’t compromise you. And I mean this with all my heart, I am JOYFUL I MET YOU. This friendships has deepened me in ways that really are difficult to find words for. How easy it is to chat with you, here and on the phone, like a life long family member, it’s that close and comfortable, and helpful.

    I wake up every morning and give thanks that I can see, hear, feel, and then for the loved ones in my life, etc. I don’t get out of bed till I do this. My life, my family, my fur babies, my friends bring me great comfort and joy. And I get great joy in the fact that despite my age I can work and be of service to help others which fills my heart.

    Happy day my friend. You are loved!

     
    • FlaHam

      June 28, 2014 at 8:11 pm

      Paulette, I would wish for winter, but the temperatures would only go down a few degrees LOL LOL. The the good Lord for air conditioning and swimming pools. Soft smile, Paulette this is a two way street we have traveled together. I am just as joyful as you that our paths crossed. And also like you I don’t have the necessary skills to describe what you mean to me, from our exchanges of emails, to our talks on the phone, our friendship continues to grow. Sometimes I think (more and more all the time) that I am joyful in an off way for having COPD. The dying part sucks, but through it, it has given me a soapbox, a pulpit, a place to stand and talk, and help a person or two. This blog has opened friendships that would not have been possible otherwise. And that makes me very Joyful. I am so glad you are my friend. Thank you, and you too my dear are loved. Take care, Bill

       
      • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

        June 28, 2014 at 9:34 pm

        ❤ ❤ ❤ Loved chatting with you as always. Sending cool thoughts your way.

         
        • FlaHam

          June 29, 2014 at 2:39 pm

          Paulette, Our conversations are always fun, inspiring, and a joy. Take care, Bill

           
  4. Chatter Master

    June 28, 2014 at 4:57 pm

    I am joyful to know you and learn from you. I look forward to knowing you better and learning more from you. And I am joyful we have a secret! 🙂 This was beautiful Bill, absolutely so.

     
    • FlaHam

      June 28, 2014 at 7:58 pm

      Colleen, You know immediately how to get to my heart, and thank you for taking the time to figure it out. Yes we do have a secret, BAS, take care, Bill

       
  5. benzeknees

    June 29, 2014 at 1:48 am

    After undergoing all the scary tests I was happy to find out there is nothing wrong with my heart, but at the same time I was sad in a way because now I have to undergo even more tests to try to find the source of my pain. The cardiologist has referred me to a rheumatologist to see if arthritis has set into my ribs & spine. The rheumatologist is doing a full set of x-rays & bone density scans to determine if I have a fracture in a vertebra or rib. I guess I wasn’t prepared for the pain accompanying the SOB & coughing that comes with COPD.
    Right now I get my best joy from my first sip of coffee every morning.

     
    • FlaHam

      June 29, 2014 at 3:04 pm

      Benze, Smiling I am glad your thru the scary part. My dear you need to stop at the dark side of the cloud. You have taken some serious tests and were given great news. Now is the time to take the additional tests with joy, anticipating additional good news. But even if you don’t get the news you want you should at least take the tests with a positive attitude. I have torn the muscles in my chest coughing so hard. The best thing I found out was I didn’t have a heart attack. Another time I torn the muscles in my chest making it almost impossible to breath, only to find out I did that playing golf a game I loved. Shit happens. But I was playing again in a month. All I am saying is look for the silver as your 1st choice. I will bet that more often than not, the cloud isn’t as grim as you may think. Smiling I hope you pass all your tests. Take care, Bill

       
      • benzeknees

        June 30, 2014 at 2:31 am

        Bill, after talking to some people at DS I found the pain is not uncommon in COPD & doesn’t always have to mean something is wrong. It’s just a side effect some people have & others don’t have pain unless they have an infection or strong coughing spell. Every day I learn something new about this disease & so it’s just one more thing I have to get used to.

         
        • FlaHam

          June 30, 2014 at 11:22 am

          Benze, Those are some very valuable assets on the DS and you are fitting right in. I am sure they will help you in untold ways as you work your way thru this. They are all good folks. extremely supportive, and always willing to help. And your finding it out. Good for you. Take care, Bill

           

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

Life and scribbles on the far side of SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

