RSS

A Golfing adventure…. A Treasure Box Tale…

09 Jul

For anyone who has read a word about me, you know golf is one of my lifetime favorite activities.  I have spoken about it in countless posts, I have shared stories about my favorite 4some, and I have talked about the DIVES I have stayed in just to play.  I have admitted to sucking at golf, and being lucky at golf.  I have brag about this, that, and the other about golf, and have claimed that I have never not enjoyed a round of golf.  But one of the best memories of golf came from the time I played with Allison, the 1st time she ever played golf on a real course using real everything.  Today I will share that story.

But before I go any further I need to tell Cari, no matter why her mom says, her mom is one of the most competitive people I have ever encountered in my life.  She plays Yahtzee with the same go for the neck, killer attitude you do, she play’s Monopoly like she is a slum lord, and her days playing field hockey and Lacrosse, well, to say “she took no prisoners” is a vast understatement.   But and this is a very big butt, she was a true sports person, she always played clean and with respect.  Sure she would try to decapitate her opponent, but she did so with a smile, and at the end of the game she was the 1st to shake hands and congratulate her opponent. Win or Lose, but like me she has always enjoyed winning more.

For as anal as I am you would think that I would have written down the date this event took place, I do know where it took place, I know the week it took place, I just don’t know the year it took place.  The location was Phoenix, Arizona. The time frame; it was the week between Christmas and New Year; we were in Phoenix because Steph had to either attend a conference or make a presentation at a Conference.  I believe we flew out to Phoenix on the 26th of Dec and returned either the 1st or 2nd of January.  I know that Steph was only involved in her work related event for 2 or 3 days at the most.  Because the trip was filled with day trips to the Grand Canyon, Sedona, Flagstaff, Scottsdale, and we had a ton of fun and I am extremely happy that the car had unlimited mileage.  Gosh here I go again 4 hundred words of setup.

All smiles the Round is just beginning

All smiles the Round is just beginning

 

This round of golf was only 1 of 2 times we played golf together, and it was the 1st time.  I want to believe that it was a Tuesday because the golf course was not crowded, which would allow Allison to spray the ball all over the place, and there wouldn’t be anyone behind us bitching about our slow play. 

We were joined on the 1st tee by a single; I explained that it was Allison’s 1st round of golf on something other than a putt putt course, and that I expected the round to be relatively slow.  He introduced himself and said he would rather play a slow round with folks than a quick round by himself.  Having played as a single before, I knew the feeling.  It turns out the guy was slightly better than me, and quite cordial.  If offered advice when asked, and didn’t step on my toes at all during the round. He kept an eye on the ball flight and had an eye almost as good as mine.  Because of this Allison only lost 2 or 3 balls the entire round.  Of course this doesn’t count the balls in the water, we could all see the splash then, and for a beginner this was a MAJOR victory.  And the more she played that day the better she got.  She was upbeat, the picture shows us at the 1st tee, she maintained that smile the entire round.  And like a true golfer she cussed (as well as someone not used to cussing at that age could) a bit when she screwed up, I was so proud of her. She truly nailed a few shots, enough so I thought if she ever gets even half way serious about this game, she will kick my butt.  It was clear she was having a good time, and we chatted the entire time about a variety of things not all golf related.  

The Pièce de résistance came on the 18th and final hole of the round.  Allison was giddy and getting tired, she had found out that 5 hours in the Arizona sun (even if it is a dry heat) will wear your ass out. Still smiling, still joking, still having a good time, she knew this was the final hole for the round. She didn’t many any wild proclamations, she wasn’t bragging, she was looking forward to that cold soda that was only 400 yards away.  Allison tee’d up the ball for her final drive of the day.  Driving hadn’t been her strong suit, (hell, get in a car with her and you can see it still isn’t her strong suit).  But she cracked her best drive of the day, smack down the middle of the fairway, and long.  Lord the girl was an athlete, and now she was smug because she out drove me.  My second shot was fair, short of the green, but close enough that I was happy.  Allison’s 2nd shot was as ugly a shot as you can imagine, rolling maybe 30 yards dead left, her ball came to rest near the trunk of a small bush like vegetation, but she had room to take a stance, and she again hit the crap out of the ball, her third shot hitting short of the green but with plenty of top spin the ball rolled up and to the very back edge of the green at least 45 or so feet from the flag.  I dumped my 3rd shot, and my 4th was about 10 feet from the flag.  I walked over to Allison gave her a kiss for getting on the green, and helped her line up her totally impossible putt. This was a 45 + foot putt, downhill all the way with at least 3 major breaks before reaching the cup. We discussed it for about 15 seconds or so, and she lined it up. My only real advice was DON’T HIT IT TO HARD! Allison struck the ball like a pro, I knew immediately that the ball had the right pace, and it was amazing to watch.  You could have put any PGA player in that position, and he would have had a 1 in a 1000 chance of making that putt.  OK OK maybe 1 in a 500 chance.  But this was Allison’s 1st round of golf; she barely knew which end of the putter to hit the ball with.  She hit the 1st break point perfectly, and was cruising towards the 2nd break point still on track and still at perfect speed, her ball made the next break, and was destined for the hole, it just had to maintain its speed, and damn if it didn’t, that ball dropped dead in the center of the cup.  Allison who had been walking kinda behind the ball, immediately dropped her putter, and when into wawa wawa wawa chicken dance, giggling, laughing, prancing all over the place.  The guy who had been playing with us all day just turned to me and said “I can see who the golfer is in your family,” In a laughing tone, walked over and shook Allison’s hand and congratulated her, then sunk his 15 birdie putt.  I on the other had 2 putted for a double bogey.  Yes we knew who the golfer was in the Hamilton family. 

Below is the scorecard from that round of golf, it’s one of a dozen or so scorecards I cherish, but none more.  I am 64 years old and during the course of my life I have played over 1200 rounds of golf, of all of those rounds this was by far and away my favorite.  Allison’s par has the box around it, and I don’t remember for even a second why certain holes have x’s below them.

Scorecared

 

As always if you have any questions, comments or concerns please feel free to share or ask them.  Take care, Bill

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

25 responses to “A Golfing adventure…. A Treasure Box Tale…

  1. benzeknees

    July 9, 2014 at 2:03 pm

    I have only “for real” golfed once in my life & it was a couple years ago in a tournament sponsored by hubby’s work. It was Texas style which meant 4 people played as a team & you took the best score from the players for each hole as a “team” score. You had to take at least one score from every player for a drive, a putt, etc. What I found out early was I am not a good “driver” except in the cart! But I turned out to be quite a putter. More often than not, my score for putting was the one chosen for the score card.
    I also re-affirmed how susceptible to heat I am as I had to sit out a couple of holes on the cart as a cool down to be able to actually make it all the way around the course.

     
    • FlaHam

      July 9, 2014 at 3:46 pm

      Benze, Smiling, I am glad you had a good time and contributed significantly to your team. When I played I loved golf, and the times that Allison played were even more special. I used to have a beer or 2 while playing golf, but I got heat stroke one time and never drank again on a golf course. As I aged, the heat would wear me down, but I always managed to finish until the COPD starting winning. But golf was a game for a lifetime. Thanks as always for your comments and encouragement. Take care, Bill

       
  2. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    July 9, 2014 at 7:30 pm

    Your love of golf pops off the page and shows in that great photo. I tried hitting a ball on a driving range once and landed more divots in the air than balls. Oh well, after that I stuck with tennis. I’d love to give it another try because being out on those incredible courses looks like an ideal way to spend a few hours. Happy weekend, my friend. Hugs & love to you, ❤

     
    • FlaHam

      July 10, 2014 at 8:46 am

      Paulette, I tried tennis several times, back in the days when I smoked, it about killed me, all that damn running, and with an even greater amount of missing when I would swing the racket. So I gave that up, but that same friend suggested we try racket ball, well I enjoyed that but still all that damn running. Looking at that picture of me “playing” golf with my daughter, look look lo0k! ! ! I am sitting LOL LOL golf is my kind of sport. But aside from that, I loved being outdoors playing. You’re right the courses are generally the prettiest of places, and golf is an extremely quiet respectful game. Yet having said all of that, the 2 times I played with Allison were my favorite times. Take care, Bill hugs, loves, and kisses

       
  3. Chatter Master

    July 9, 2014 at 10:31 pm

    I love the picture Bill. And even if I don’t understand the game, I understand the passion for something you love (daughter and golf, in that order!). 🙂 Cari will love these stories!

     
    • FlaHam

      July 10, 2014 at 8:51 am

      Colleen, As as always thank you for your sweet words, I truly appreciate them. I truly hope that Cari loves these stories as much as I love retelling them. But even more I would love to be the fly on the wall as my daughter explains what grandpa meant when he wrote this or that. Take care, be safe. Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        July 10, 2014 at 7:59 pm

        I wonder what you daughter will say!!!!

         
        • FlaHam

          July 12, 2014 at 6:47 am

          Colleen, With any luck she will write a supporting or rebuttal post, either way it would be great. And no matter what, I can always point to the smile on her lips. Take care, Bill

           
  4. kanzensakura

    July 10, 2014 at 1:07 pm

    Although I know nothing about golf nor have any fondness for it, I get a whole different perception from this wonderful, proud, and loving post. It truly is a jewel in your Treasure box. The pic is great. I thank you for taking us along on this journey with you. Now I think, after being out in the Arizona sun, I’m going to go and have a cold soda! Hugs and love.

     
    • FlaHam

      July 10, 2014 at 3:17 pm

      Kanzen, My dear it is a pleasure to take you away from your disdain for golf if even only for a moment to enjoy my journey around the course with Allison. Golf isn’t for everyone, even I kinda know that LOL. That picture has been in my office since it was taken. In my home, as I walk into my office you are drawn to that picture. It was a magical round, and the chicken dance was worth the price of admission. Thank you for your kind words, go enjoy your soda. Take care, Bill

       
  5. DeeDee Granata

    July 12, 2014 at 10:18 am

    Priceless!

     
    • FlaHam

      July 13, 2014 at 6:28 am

      Dee, The entire day was, but the dance on the 18th green was epic! ! ! and worth the price of admission. Take care, Bill

       
  6. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    July 12, 2014 at 10:11 pm

    Just read over at Huntie’s your site won COPB blog of the year. Go Bill go! Well deserved a thousand times over for all you do and give to us out here reading your inspirational and encouraging words.

    And another mention of the beautiful post that showed up at Colleen’s site which deeply moved me. You are very loved my friend. ❤

     
    • FlaHam

      July 13, 2014 at 6:20 am

      Paulette, I am most graceful for the honor, and I am not even going to speculate why my blog was chosen, I will just be happy with it. Though I have called the selecting official a couple times without any response. It just makes me feel good that I may have touched someone, and helped. Thank you for your sweet words, they always find ways to lift my spirits. Take care, Bill

       
      • The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

        July 13, 2014 at 9:49 am

        ❤ We just don't see the impact we have on others but every once in a while someone takes the time to let us know. Clearly, you've touched many and this acknowledgment, a beautiful one indeed and so well deserved, is letting you know just that. Personally, I'm deeply moved by the quality of your heart and honesty in communicating how it is. Thank you, my friend, for all you do, and how you do it without seeking anything back in return. Have a beautiful Sunday, Bill. Big hug. ❤

         
        • FlaHam

          July 13, 2014 at 8:34 pm

          Paulette, Praise as you know, is hard for me to handle; you, Huntie, Colleen, Julie, Brenda, Wanda and a dozen more folks have showered me with it for some time, and yet I still try to hide, and kick the dirt at my toes. But I know I am doing something, I know I am making a difference for some folks, I know my words and work have meeting and it makes me feel damn good. But you need to understand that you’ll made me, your support, your love, your patience, your guidance, all played a major role in what my blog has become. This wasn’t the effort of a single individual. It was a group effort. Without you’ll’s love and support, without your encouragement, I doubt if my blog would have reached and touched as many as it seems to have. Thank you, and all the rest of you, for without you’ll, who knows where this may be. Take care, Love Bill

           
  7. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

    July 13, 2014 at 11:23 pm

    Memories – the good times – how sweet they are.

     
    • FlaHam

      July 14, 2014 at 7:01 am

      Sheri, I am truly fortunate, to this day, I have a wonderful relationship with my daughter. Could I have been a better dad when she was growing up, sure, but I could have been a lot worse as well. Allison and I have continued to work on our relationship, and sometimes it even appears we are on the same page. Again thank you for taking the time to read and comment. I do so appreciate that. Take care, Bill

       
      • sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

        July 15, 2014 at 8:54 pm

        Bill – There’s nothing as special as the love and friendship between a father and daughter. I was so convinced that my Dad was ‘John Wayne’ and more and although he’s been gone since Oct 2007, I miss him every day. We buried him on his 94th birthday. I’m so thankful he was able to live a full life right up to the last month. Yes, there were medical issues but we fought them hard and won an extra 10 years.

         
        • FlaHam

          July 15, 2014 at 10:21 pm

          Sheri, Smiling, I don’t really have a clue as to who Allison may have compared me to, and it didn’t and doesn’t matter. Some days I was a great dad, other days not so good, most days someplace inbetween. But I always tried, and I have always done the best for her that I could and I know she knows that. She is now a young woman doing the best she can for her family, and I am extremely proud of her for that. Take care, Bill

           
  8. Wanda

    July 15, 2014 at 5:12 pm

    From the very beginning of this post, I knew there was a “daughter beats Dad” twist to it, but you certainly kept us guessing until the very end. I especially liked the anonymous golfer’s remark “I can see who the golfer is in your family.” Did he and Allison high-five each other at that point?

    Regardless of the outcome, this was a wonderful story. I’m sure Allison will treasure it (I would also like to read her take on the event), and it will certainly give Cari a different perspective of the father-daughter relationship you and Allison have.

     
    • FlaHam

      July 15, 2014 at 10:29 pm

      Wanda, Your comments always warm my heart and make me smile. Of course there was going to be a “daughter beats Dad” ending, it had to be. And while I don’t remember exactly who high 5^ who, I strongly suspect that both myself and the other golfer gave her a high 5. I too am looking forward to her take on it. I am sure she remembers though we haven’t talked about it for years. I get to watch Stu and Cari alot, there is a lot of love there, and I am quite sure that there will be a significant bond there as well, as Cari ages. Take care, Bill

       
  9. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

    August 6, 2014 at 3:33 pm

    Bill – Yes, yes, and yes. Talk soon. Housekeepers are here and I’ve had a thousand interruptions but you are my priority.

     
    • FlaHam

      August 6, 2014 at 4:23 pm

      Sheri, Take your time, Rome wasn’t built or destroyed in a day. But I am glad you are enjoying my stories. Take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

