RSS

Touting My Own Horn

09 Aug

A few weeks ago I went to considerable effort to let everyone know that my blog www.DealingwithCOPD.wordpress.com had been recognized by Healthline.com as one of “The Best COPD Blogs of the Year.”  I would not have known my blog had received this recognition had it not been for a friend at the Daily Strength Emphysema & COPD Support Group. I was extremely honored and had to brag about the recognition and you’ll got it pushed on you LOL. 

For those that know me and are used to me, know I stumbled pretty bad at accepting praise.  For the first year or so if someone said something nice about my BLOG I went to pretty big lengths to down play whatever kind words that were said.  Then early this year I had the light bulb turned on in my head.  Huntmode had her fingers on the switch and turned it to the on position. In that moment of clarity I came to realize how I had been insulting the folks that had been going out of their way to express their appreciation for my efforts.  I can’t thank them enough for their patience and support, and forgiving my knuckle-headness.

Now that I have completed my normally long opening remarks on to the meat of the matter.  Apparently my friend over at DS wasn’t the only person looking at that list of best blogs.  One of the web producers for remedyhealthmedia.com who is also an editor for HealthCentral found my BLOG because of the recognition it got as being one of the best COPD Blogs.  Then I got the below from that editor.

“Hi Bill, I’m an editor for HealthCentral.com looking for COPD bloggers. I came across your wonderful blog and would love to talk with you about writing for our site. If you’re interested, please email me at XXXXXXXXX@remedyhealthmedia.com. I hope to hear from you soon.”

I did in fact contact the editor, and we talked a couple of times.  I explained that I wasn’t a doctor or nurse or someone with any medical knowledge.  I was assured they weren’t looking to me for any medical information.  They wanted a blogger that wrote from the personal perspective, without drama or non-sense, and with a positive mental attitude, which pretty much sums up my blog.

They have an expectation that I will provide at least one acceptable post a month, but would gladly accept 2 posts per month.  I will write about topics that both I and the editor agree too, but the kicker is that the posts can’t be longer than 700 words no few than 500 (or there abouts).  As you’ll know I can hardly say hello in less than 700 words. So I am sure the 500 word minimum will be met without issue.

After careful consideration I have agreed to the terms as offered by HealthCentral, and I am completing the required paperwork.  I have no idea when or what the 1st post will be, we haven’t got that far. To top it off, smiling, I will be compensated for each accepted post.

So folks I am tooting my own horn, but please understand without you, your friendship, your support, your help, and your praise I wouldn’t be anywhere near this. Thank you, thank you so very much. 

If you have any questions please feel free to ask.  Concerns and comments are always appreciated. Take care, Bill

BTW this post is a record short post for me it is only 564 words.

 
38 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2014 in Observations, Ramblings, Treasure Box Stories

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

38 responses to “Touting My Own Horn

  1. Chess

    August 10, 2014 at 12:03 am

    Your blog is excellent, kudos to you!!

     
    • FlaHam

      August 10, 2014 at 6:02 am

      Chess, Thank you for that wonderful compliment. I have worked hard at making it better. I appreciate the kudo’s, but now you have forced me to be careful of the “Oh poop’s.” Have a great day and be safe, Bill

       
  2. rrsigns2014

    August 10, 2014 at 1:30 am

    Congrats! I’m glad I ran across your blog, I also have COPD and will enjoy learning any tips and strategies you have for coping.

     
    • FlaHam

      August 10, 2014 at 5:59 am

      RRSigns, Thank you for stopping by, my hope when I started this blog was that thru my words and experiences I found a way to help at least one other person cope with this disease. I may have been successful at that. Hopefully thru this new opportunity I will be able to continue that mission. But be assured that my blog will continue to be my main focus. Thru this Blog I have met many great folks. They have been extremely supportive. I hope this opportunity with HealthCentral allows me still more chances to help others deal with their COPD in a way that is better for them. I am also part of a Daily Strength discussion group for COPD that group is quite informative and extremely nice, you should also consider them as a great source for support and information. Please take care, and please be safe. Bill

       
  3. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    August 10, 2014 at 10:21 am

    No surprise and lucky for all their readers. I’d love to see your first piece over there. This is so wonderful, all the people you’ll be able to reach and no doubt help. So excited for you. Laughing at the brevity of the piece (500-700 words) which is your usual hello. Too funny what you said about that. Way to go Bill!!! Happy day. ❤ 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      August 10, 2014 at 11:21 am

      Paulette, Thank you so much for your encouragement, it truly means a lot to me. I never expected anything like this to happen and I do look forward to the opportunity. LMAO the single biggest challenge I will face is keeping my posts to no more than 700 words. But all kidding aside, I am looking forward to reaching out to others, and I truly hope that if this works out that many will benefit from what I have to say, even if I have to do it in 700 words. (I wonder if my music references count towards the word count??? LOL) Also trust me, the 1st time I am published on the HealthCentral Blog, everyone will know it LOL LOL. Take care and be safe. Bill

       
  4. Chatter Master

    August 10, 2014 at 10:46 am

    TOOT TOOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 Tooting with you Bill. You are a wealth of knowledge of experience. You are providing a fabulous service to so many. You will now be able to help out even more. ❤ I'm glad they found you!

     
    • FlaHam

      August 10, 2014 at 11:30 am

      Colleen, Thank you thank you thank you. But if it wasn’t for the likes of you, Paulette, Wanda, Huntie, Julie and a few others I wouldn’t be in this position. Your collective guidance, encouragement and kind words did wonders for my ego, which allowed me to grow. That growth fortified in my mind how I wanted my blog to go, and it has become a part of me. I still don’t consider myself to be a skilled or talented writer. But I have a message, and I have been able to convey that message thru my blog. I only hope I do so when I post for HealthCentral. Colleen truly thank you. Your writing have been a guiding force behind and in front of me. Please take care, Bill

       
      • Chatter Master

        August 10, 2014 at 6:42 pm

        ❤ You will continue to make a difference. Here, and there. And every where Bill. 🙂

         
  5. tersiaburger

    August 10, 2014 at 4:12 pm

    Congratulations!!!

     
    • FlaHam

      August 10, 2014 at 4:50 pm

      Tersia, Thank you very much for you note, it really is appreciated. I in turn visited yours, and was amazed but the love you showed, and again amazed by the pain you must have and still suffer. Thank you again for taking time to visit. Be safe and take care, Bill

       
  6. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

    August 10, 2014 at 11:58 pm

    Happy dance, happy dance! Now do you believe us? That’s going to be a challenge, the word count limitation. I have faith. You will indeed be fabulous.

     
    • FlaHam

      August 11, 2014 at 6:23 am

      Sheri, I do believe I do. It took quite some time before it started to sink in but finally, with the help of Huntie I came around. Without question, the word limitation will be the real challenge, and I will work on it. The thing is that it doesn’t need to be fabulous, all I’m wanting is helpful.

      Take care have a wonderful day. Bill

       
  7. Wanda

    August 12, 2014 at 7:20 pm

    Bill–this is wonderful news. You’ve already done great things on your own blog, and I’m sure you will do the same with this new opportunity.

    Your followers (me included) know that each of your posts is absolutely genuine and heartfelt. Your commonsense approach to COPD, and the encouragement and support you offer to others is invaluable.

     
    • FlaHam

      August 12, 2014 at 8:08 pm

      Wanda, As always your comments just make me smile such a big happy smile. You are just to darn sweet to me. But truth be told, I am looking forward to this opportunity to reach other to still more folks. When I started this 2 years ago, I never ever thought it would take off as it has. I was hoping to help one or 2, maybe a dozen folks. But now as I said I might be able to reach and hope more and more. You sitting beside me on day one guiding me, teaching me, coaching me, and answering all my dumb a…. questions made this possible. Thanks you. Bill

       
  8. Dilip

    August 12, 2014 at 8:50 pm

    Nice blog with some thoughtful articles. Thanks.

     
    • FlaHam

      August 13, 2014 at 8:00 am

      Dilip, Thank you I truly appreciate your comment. I do hope that as time passes you find many more reasons to stop and visit. Take care, Bill

       
      • Dilip

        August 18, 2014 at 10:50 am

        Yes I certainly will. Thanks bill.

         
  9. benzeknees

    August 13, 2014 at 3:36 am

    I had seen the notification about this on DS. Congrats!

     
    • FlaHam

      August 14, 2014 at 4:41 pm

      Benze, Thank you very much!! Take care, Bill

       
  10. Clowie

    August 13, 2014 at 8:54 am

    Congratulations! That’s great news.
    It’s good that you’ve now had a successful trial run here and stayed within the word count, ha ha!
    One of the wonderful things about the web is that it’s easier to get information and share experiences.

     
    • FlaHam

      August 13, 2014 at 11:54 am

      Clowie, I will always be grateful for the opportunities I have had to share my story, and helping those that found it thru my blog. Take care, Biped Bill

       
  11. huntmode

    August 14, 2014 at 3:42 pm

    Dear Bill, before I read any of the comments, I want to get my nickel in:

    C O N G R A T U L A T I O N S!!!!!

    You will now be a professional writer! (That means you get paid to write something.) There is no other feeling in the world and there won’t be again when your first article is published and you’re paid for your talent. I am so damn proud to know you and to read of your success. As I type this, I’ve got this huge grin on my face. I’m going to go do a happy dance! Just outstanding news!

     
    • FlaHam

      August 15, 2014 at 4:18 pm

      Hunt, I see you have been very busy. I appreciate your comments, your praise, your encouragement and most of all your friendship. Thank you. But the reality is without folks like and so many others reading my blog, it might have died on the vine. This thing with me writing for another blog is pure icing on the cake. Lords knows I would have loved to watched the happy dance. Thank you again, and again. Take care, Bill

       
      • huntmode

        August 15, 2014 at 4:29 pm

        You are very dear to me, Bill. I know it’s icing on the cake – that’s why everyone licks the bowl! Good on yer, Bill!

         
        • FlaHam

          August 16, 2014 at 12:51 pm

          Hunt, somehow someway I just love the metaphor on some many different levels. Thank you, xoxo Bill

           
    • FlaHam

      August 16, 2014 at 12:39 pm

      Hunt, Trust me, I know I have been successful. People like you, Wanda, Paulette, Colleen, Sheri, Bruce, and the list goes on and on have let me know. I won’t be leaving wondering. I will know, when I am gone, that I was successful and it is posts like this that promote me, my efforts, my words that I have NOW, right at this moment that allow me the luxury of fore knowledge. I am so grateful for each and every individual who has spent even a moment of time at my blog, they didn’t need to comment, they didn’t need to hit like, but just visits. It is the total collection that shows me I have been much more successful that I ever thought I would be, and smiling I have more time left, to do additional paying it forward. Thank you, please take care, Bill

       
      • huntmode

        August 16, 2014 at 6:37 pm

        Dear Bill, I’ve been on the lookout for you at my blog to see if you enjoyed the post… Nothing. As always, you’ve commented on each and every other post – bless your heart, but on your mention, sigh, nothing. I’ve been like a kid waiting on Christmas morning for everybody to get up! And then, I see this…. you dear man ~

         
  12. Let's CUT the Crap!

    August 15, 2014 at 9:03 pm

    Toot any horn you want. What a wonderful opportunity. Getting paid is pretty good affirmation in my book, Congratulations.You write outstanding posts, Bill. It’s easy to see you write from the heart in a soft-spoken voice, gentle, yet not afraid to be truthful. 🙂

     
    • FlaHam

      August 17, 2014 at 6:59 am

      Let’s cut, That is a very sweet thing to say. I appreciate your comments more that I can say. Yes I think I as in the right position at the correct time plus, my style of writing appeals to a few folks. I am glad for all of it, and the opportunity. Take care, Bill

       
      • Let's CUT the Crap!

        August 17, 2014 at 11:26 am

        You are more than welcome, Bill. I subscribed to your blod ages ago and when I drop in, I notice I am Following but do not receive your posts. That’s happened with several blogs follow, so I am not ignoring you. I met you through Huntie some time ago. 🙂

         
        • FlaHam

          August 17, 2014 at 1:29 pm

          the Crap, Smiling, Huntie the great instigator she is one hell of a lady. And I do remember meeting you thru her. Don’t worry about the small things. When you want to read something I wrote you can always go to the archives. I know we trade comments here, on your blog, and on Hunts. It’ all good. I am glad I put things out there you like. I even visited today (though I didn’t leave a note) and found that somehow I wasn’t following you. I do believe there are witches and warlocks running wordpress. But that is now resolved So I will soon be getting your posts immediately. Take care, Bill

           
    • FlaHam

      August 17, 2014 at 7:01 am

      ____________________________________

       
  13. DeeDee Granata

    August 16, 2014 at 6:41 am

    Totally AWESOME!!! Yay for you!

     
    • FlaHam

      August 17, 2014 at 7:02 am

      Dee, Thank you so very much, I look forward to reaching out to as many more folks as a I can. Please take care, Bill

       

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

