RSS

Come to Church…

10 Aug

On Sunday Easter April 20, 2014, I reaffirmed my faith in God, and that his son Jesus died for me, so I would be forgiven for my sins and poor choices.  It wasn’t an easy choice, yet it was very easy. 

Sometimes I claim that I am not the sharpest crayon in the box, my understanding of today’s (August 10, 2014) sermon “Foot Work,” may prove the point.  The scripture for today came from Romans 10:14-15 and I have read it to say in essence that for the word of God to get out there, someone has to take it out to the folks and spread the word.  I believe it goes on further to say that for folks to teach and spread the word someone has to send them out to do so.  As a Christian I believe I have some responsibility for getting the message out.  The below video was shared with us today, and it is sharing the message.

 

 

During the many years I searched I have opened my door the countless times for the Mormons and other groups, I shared a few moments with them, accepted their booklet, sometimes even a prayer and we parted they had completed their Mission, soft smile they led the donkey to the water, but couldn’t make the donkey drink.  Years later the donkey was once again led to the water, this time by my wife.  She led but didn’t try to force the donkey to drink, she let me drink when I was ready. 

Consider this video to be my attempt to lead those of you who desire to be led.  Drink when you want and need.

As always if you have questions concerns or comments please feel free to ask.  Take care, Bill

 

 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2014 in Music, Observations, Ramblings, Treasure Box Stories

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Come to Church…

  1. My Tropical Home

    August 11, 2014 at 1:49 am

    That’s wonderful, Bill! Praise God, and all glory and honor be to our Lord and Savior Jesus. I can only imagine all the angels clapping at that moment. Thanks for the encouragement to continue to Know Him and Make Him Known. Have a blessed week ahead!

    Regards,
    Mary

     
    • FlaHam

      August 11, 2014 at 6:29 am

      Mary, Thank you for your kind words. I am doing the little bit I can. Take care, be safe. Bill

       
  2. Nancy

    August 11, 2014 at 5:30 am

    YOU’RE A MESS!!! AND I CAN SAY THAT OR ANYTHING ABOUT YOU AS ;ONG AS IT INCLUDES THE PHRASE bLESS yOUR hEART!

     
    • FlaHam

      August 11, 2014 at 6:27 am

      Nancy, I know what “Bless your Heart” means in southern, and I don’t mind at all being a mess. Have a great day. Bill

       
  3. Wanda

    August 12, 2014 at 6:29 pm

    That was a fun post–I’m sure the video will encourage lots of people to give church a try (the one they grew up with or maybe something quite different). The important thing is the relationship…and once again you offer your relationship/situation as an example and invite others to explore what you have found.

    P.S. Have I told you that I’ve been baptized four (yep, 4) times? As far as I’m concerned, it was the last one that counts, but still…

     
    • FlaHam

      August 13, 2014 at 8:07 am

      Wanda, Of all the hundreds of things we have talked about over the years, religion has not been high on the list. It is a matter of personal choice, and I would be the last person to shove it down anyone’s throat. But I found this video to be a fun way to help jumpstart someone if they were leaning in this direction. I would never have guessed you had been baptized 4 times, but as I sit here I realize that I know of for sure 3 times I have been, and most likely there is a 4th I have forgotten, but the fact is, it’s the last time that counts. Take care, Bill

       
  4. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

    August 15, 2014 at 2:02 am

    Bill – As always, great blog and you added a fun video. You once again give me pause for thought and that’s what started my following you in the first place – you always gave me something to think about, to ponder if you will. There’s always something special about a blog when I can carry it around in my head and mull my own thoughts over in the context of what the blogger has written. You are indeed a special guy and we are so blessed to have you here in our world. You take care also, Sheri

     
    • FlaHam

      August 16, 2014 at 12:17 pm

      Sheri, You say the sweetest things. I like the thought of rattling around in your head during the day, make you mull over my words. Sharing the credit with my readers who have allowed me the opportunity to grow, to learn, to stand on my soapbox and talk about things I want. Without you and your feedback, I might still be spinning my wheels. Thank you, take care, Bill

       
      • sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

        August 16, 2014 at 8:07 pm

        Bill – Naw, you would not be spinning your wheels. I can however see you taking a spin around your office in a high-backed leather office chair. The kind of chair that no matter how old it gets, it gains more character the same as the person that sits in it day after day. Your precious granddaughter will sit in that leather chair someday and say in her sweet voice, “Grandpa sat so royal-like here. This chair even smells like him. Please, Granny! Please don’t ever get rid of this royal chair.”
        Fast forward fifteen years or so, “The royal-like chair officially belongs to your granddaughter after all these years and as she makes one intelligent decision after another, she always has time to tell those who ask about her chair about the special grandpa that once sat here.”

         
        • FlaHam

          August 17, 2014 at 6:35 am

          Sheri, Smiling, she likes my chair now, it would be cool to thing the chair would live on beyond me, but in reality it a POS chair, and falling apart as we speak. LOL so Cari will most likely ask Grandma why did Grandpa chair die so soon LOL LOL. But it’s neat to think about. Take care, Bill

           
  5. huntmode

    August 16, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    Bill, when I tried the video, I got an error. And yet, you filled in the blanks for me. Thank you. That post you did back in (May?) re walking along the railroad tracks talking aloud with God and Jesus – I love that one. Maybe add a link? Best ~ Huntie

     
  6. Frances Tilbury

    November 22, 2014 at 3:25 am

    2014 and Bills Blog is still connecting. Thank you Bill. I know you are in a beautiful place now. ❤️

     

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

