RSS

Letters to Cari, #3 August 25, 2014….

27 Aug

Your only 9 years old and you have done many things to make me very happy and very proud.  As you read these letters you will find they aren’t really in a natural progression, more so as they come to mind.  But I will try to identify as best I can when they happened.  Smiling and trust me, many of our shared moments come to mind open. 

This particular incident occurred at the Christmas Pageant during your 3rd grade year.  Your mom and dad told us you had a part in the pageant but didn’t go into specific detail. 

As normal we (your grandma and I) are quite early, but that did get us good parking. And because of it we got to participate in many of the Christmas activities going on.  In particular you sat and visited with me as I sipped the hot chocolate you had gotten me.  We chatted about numerous things none of which changed the world but I just enjoyed that moment.  By the way you were dressed to the “nines” and looked as cute as you could be (as the below picture attests).

 

3rd Grade Christmas Show
3rd Grade Christmas Show

  

At long last we were advised it was time to move into the cafeteria because the show was about to begin.  Much to your Grandma’s and my great astonishment as we walked into the cafeteria we found we had stepped into a full house.  There must have been 300 or 400 people crammed to the space, everyone was jockeying for the best possible place to take pictures of their beloved children.  Your grandma and I were trying as well, but we ended up be shoved into the corner far away from where you were performing.  The program was simple enough that allowed full participation from your choir.  

Of course I don’t remember the entire program, I do remember the trash can drums, and thinking that was pretty cool.  Then your group came up on stage.  If memory serves you were in the 2nd row, about 5 or 6 right to left across the stage, and I know your mom or dad will be able to tell me exactly where you stood.  Your group performed a couple of songs and I remember watching you from the back 40 of the cafeteria and thinking she is really into it tonight.  

After either the 2nd or third song there as a shift in the performers on the stage. You came down from your perch and took a position center stage before the microphone and waited as appropriate.  When the music again started you began reading your part from the script you before you on the music stand.  I was astonished by how clearly you read your part, the clarity of your voice, how you announced each word correctly, and with the changes in inflection of your voice as you read.  It was amazing to see such a young lady with so much poise. 

I remember thinking when I was your age I could barely say my own name without sounding even more childish than I was.  I also remember how surprised I was with your ease in front of all those cameras, the flash of pictures being taken, and how all the movement around you did phase you at all.  It was like watching a miniature anchorperson going thru the news. This picture shows you looking at the paper on the music stand, but as you “performed” you would look up from your page and make eye contact, a feat I didn’t feel comfortable doing until I was well into my 20’s.  Yet it appeared so normal for you. 

You are extremely photogenic, and it showed in how presented yourself before that large crowd.  Smiling I can almost see an actress in the making, the smiling a leading lady, or the anchor of the evening news. 

Cari, I had seen you perform a few times before this event, and while your were a good and active participate, you seemed to hold back a little. This time you were all in and  your performance was outstanding.  It was so much fun to watch, and even more fun to brag about you later.  Take care, Love, Grandpa 

Folks, as always if you have any questions, comments or concerns please feel free to send them to me.  Take care, Bill  

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “Letters to Cari, #3 August 25, 2014….

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    August 27, 2014 at 11:44 am

    That is something to be proud of and is so special. Cari will love reading this over and over. I sure loved reading it and am deeply moved by how wonderful it is. Love, Paulette ❤

     
    • FlaHam

      August 27, 2014 at 1:56 pm

      Paulette, Thank you my dear your comments are always so important to me and I always love it when you gush. It truly is my hope that in years to come Cari will look upon my body of work and understand the significance she had in my life. Take care, Love Bill xoxo

       
  2. Dawn/Tom Trattner

    August 27, 2014 at 12:31 pm

    Brought tears to my eyes. Beautiful blog today, thanks for sharing, Bill. What a wonderful memory for you, Cari and your family. Dawn

    Dawn Trattner trat@aol.com

     
    • FlaHam

      August 27, 2014 at 1:54 pm

      Dawn, Thank you so much for your kind words. My letters to Cari will be conversations I never had the chance to have. Please take care, Bill

       
  3. Chatter Master

    August 28, 2014 at 5:48 am

    You didn’t just give her this night again, but there will be that day when she reads this and feels the love through the years. These letters are such valued gifts Bill. ❤

     
    • FlaHam

      August 28, 2014 at 12:35 pm

      Colleen, Thank you for your ever present encouragement. It helps the day go by, and always puts a smile on my face. The letters to Cari are the best format I have found for direct communications down the road, and they are much more personal than a lot of my stories. Yes the stories are important, because they provide a history. But I see myself they will be of great importance to her as she grows up. Thank you for taking the journey with me, I truly appreciate it. Please take care my dear. Bill xox

       
  4. Sue Vincent

    August 28, 2014 at 3:28 pm

    Thank you… a little moment of real beauty.

     
    • FlaHam

      August 28, 2014 at 6:32 pm

      Sue, Your most welcome. Take care, Bill

       
  5. Jules

    August 29, 2014 at 7:48 am

    Beautiful letter Bill, I’m sure these will be so treasured by Cari always. What a wonderful grandpa. I’m going to start letters to my 3 children too. I might even start a blog. You inspired me. Take care Jules

     
    • FlaHam

      August 29, 2014 at 8:03 am

      Jules, I think if you start a blog because of something I have said of or done, it will be one of the very highest compliments I have ever been given. But if you start and continue writing letters to your children for them to have and share with their children, not only are providing them the past you are sending love from the past into the future. Something they can grasp as needed. Please take care, if you start a blog I will be a faithful follower. Take care, Bill

       
  6. benzeknees

    August 30, 2014 at 1:11 am

    You have a beautiful granddaughter Bill! She reminds me a little of my own daughter at that age.

     
    • FlaHam

      August 30, 2014 at 10:51 am

      Benze, Yes (big ass Smile) she is indeed beautiful, and she is as smart as she wants to be. Though from time to time she can be quite lazy. But that too is part of life. Take care, and as always be safe. Bill

       
  7. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

    September 1, 2014 at 7:23 am

    Bill – I adore your letters to Cari. They are written with such love and you draw all of us in, think about Cari reading them at different stages in her life. I read another blog today about self-confidence being the best character trait a woman could posses. Your Cari is growing into such a woman and it’s because of great parents and loving grandparents that allow this to happen. Each of you are the greatest gift she’ll receive in becoming her own woman.
    BTW – I recently signed into ‘Blog Lovin’ and entered the name of your blog and your blog popped up tonight. What fun to see something work the way it claims. Sheri

     
    • FlaHam

      September 1, 2014 at 5:31 pm

      Sheri, Thank you, your encouragement means a lot, the kids came this weekend, and with the exception of the time Cari spent in the pool she was a perfect little shit. So letter nr 4 will most likely speak to her not so good behavior. I can have folks thinking my granddaughter is a perfect young lady all the time. It may well be a time for a reality checck. Take care, Bill a message dated 9/1/2014 7:23:45 A.M. Eastern Daylight Time,

       
      • sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

        September 1, 2014 at 6:23 pm

        Bill – You have me laughing and did I tell you, it hurts to laugh. I still don’t know if I have kidney stones or did something to my back or something else all together.
        Anyway, you’ve raised a daughter, remember those times when you were thinking, ‘so sweet, what a delight, how did we get so lucky?’ And then, splat you wanted to drop kick her to the next county and perhaps even beyond. Well, me thinks that’s a universal feeling that comes over us from time to time. I’m sure from time to time, Tom would love to drop kick me into the next state but he knows it would probably break his foot and then where would he find someone to take care of him better than I do? [Boisterous laughter goes here but honestly, Bill. It hurts too darn much).
        I just talked with my best friend and she had much the same to say about her grandchildren for yesterday’s behavior – so much so that when she called, she and grandpa (her husband) were leaving town for a couple days to give the visiting daughter and her husband some space to calm their children down. That’s a new one for me. Tom’s grandson’s are all on the east coast and grown with the exception of one little guy, age 7, and I’d love to get Tom and I both healthy enough to at least spend some quality time with him so that he’ll know a little bit about who his grandfather is. You and Cari have a special relationship. Oops, did I just see her fly over my house:) Sheri

         
  8. stemcells21

    July 12, 2016 at 4:16 am

    Our COPD stem cell program can greatly benefit patients with a range of lung diseases
    http://stemcells21.com/copd-stem-cell-tx/

     

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

