RSS

How I Feel for the Week Ending 08.29.14…

29 Aug

Well the jukebox is back and completely functional, my new computer is sitting here humming away, and I have no excuses.  This post is going to be riddled with music references because I have missed so many opportunities to share with you the music I have been missing during my recent computer mishap.  So without further ado here is our first sidebar: Right off for my wonderful Canadian Friends I have heard several tunes from our favorite Nickelback; including “Next Contender,” “This Means War,” and “Bottoms Up.”  Also I have indulged in Five Finger Death Punch, Led Zepplin, Pearl Jam, and Soundgarden to start the day. 

There really hasn’t been any change at all in status since last week, if anything this week was an improvement over last week.  Yes SOB is still a critical issue, yes I get winded getting winded, yes I need to gather myself before tackling and working my way thru any chore, yes I am coughing and while the cough is productive there is no yellow to it.  All of these things while the same are different and if for no other reason this is a better week because the heat and humidity has been slightly lower.  Sidebar: we have been listening to Halestorm, Gemini Syndrome, The Black Eyed Peas and Shinedown this set.

This week besides the normal visit from Hospice (and a couple of addon visits) I had only one medical appointment this week which was with Doc Lungs.  First, Doc Lungs seems to think I am doing okay, he checked the vitals and listened to my lungs.  He commented that they sounded “normal” for me.  Someday I am going to have to listen to my lungs then immediately listen to the lungs of someone who doesn’t have respiratory issues.  That would be quite interesting and most likely equally educational. This week, besides my normal Thursday visit with my Hospice nurse, I was also visited by Respiratory Therapist from Hospice, and he noticed my weight lost, and stated I sound like I always do,  In addition I was also visited by the Hospice social worker, just checking my head to see if it was still screwed on correctly.  I am assuming I passed her muster because no one has been by today with that special jacket. Other than my normal weekly visit by the Hospice nurse I have no repeat no medical appointments scheduled.

Per usual and considering everything available to me, I am going to rank myself as 2.75 for the week, yes it is a touch higher, but the heat and humidity have been lower and I haven’t ventured out much this week, so that is a fair assessment of my physical health for the week.  Sidebar;  More Nickelback, Lucinda Williams, Heart, Seether, Theory of a Dead Man, and Van Halen have provided the musical background for this portion of the weekly report.  Mental health continues at a 9 level, I refuse to be down more than 7 or 8 consecutive minutes.  Of course this rating doesn’t include the normal aches and pains of everyday life.

So to wrap up week ending 08.29.14, we are ranking the week an overall 2.75, with a 9 on the attitude scale.  So we can move on to the vitals for the week ending 08.29.14

 

  • INR = 2.3 taken 08.25.14 – no change in meds

  • O2 level @ 2.5 LPM = 94 taken 8.28.14 – earlier in week O2 level as low as 77 after brief walk, took 15 minutes of resting to reach 93  

  • Peak Flow = 210 taken 8.28.14

  • BP = 112/68 taken 8.28.14 – earlier in the week it was as high as 132/80

  • Heart rate = 105 taken 8.28.14

  • Temp = 99.35 taken 08.28.14

  • Weight = 259 taken 08.28.14

 

So ends the technical aspect of my “How I Feel This Week” report for the week ending 08.08.14, moving now to the word of the week discussion aspect. This week I would like to spend a couple of minutes of your time say thank you for being here for me.

This will be my 302th post in the 2 plus years I have been writing this blog.  Over that period I have accumulated 378 “followers,” I have received over 2,000 comments and have responded to 98 percent of them so my total comments are over 4,000, and I have been viewed over 16,500 times.

If I could I would write an individual note to each of the people who follow me for whatever reason they do and thank them personally. I would. I would take that moment and say without them, without their support, without their comments, this blog may have died on the vine.  So collectively thank you.  Thank you for the time you spend with me, thank you for reading my words and sometimes sharing them with your followers.  I also want to thank you for each and every comment including the smiley faces and kisses.  Sometimes so much can be said with an emotional icon.

I want to thank you for indulging my rants and rages, and my sometimes melancholy posts.  Smiling also thank you for listening to my endless babble regarding how I feel for a given period of time.

As I struggle with my COPD, my blog has become my beacon, my shelter, my friend, and the pillow I cry on. It has provided me strength and a place to display my sense of humor, as well as, my serious side.  But even more importantly it has become something special to my friends and followers.  I can’t even imagine what it means to everyone that reads my blog, but they do so for their own reasons.  Some because they to suffer from COPD, some because someone they love suffers from this or another terminal disease.   My blog isn’t a cure, I am not a doctor, I am a patient just like so many of my readers.  I draw strength from my readers and hopefully they draw some from me as well.  I know that without my readers my world would be much more difficult, and the battle that much harder.  I do believe that without you it would be easier for me to throw in the towel and give up.  But I gather strength and courage from YOU my readers, my friends, my cyber family.  Thank you so very much for all you have given.  And for all that I know you will continue to give.

As always if you have any questions, concerns, or comments please feel free to bring them to my attention, I will answer as completely and honestly as possible. Please take care, Bill

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

25 responses to “How I Feel for the Week Ending 08.29.14…

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

    August 29, 2014 at 11:21 am

    Let’s hope that the weather continues to improve favorably for your health. Glad that Doc lungs thinks you’re doing okay. No yellow or other unpleasant colors in your sputum is a good sign. It’s fun tuning into your choice of music. Thanks, pal! Wishing you a good weekend. Love & Hugs, ❤

     
    • FlaHam

      August 29, 2014 at 4:09 pm

      Paulette, Thank you for your well wishes, they are always greatly appreciated. I hope you have a great weekend and kinda stay out of trouble. Take care, Bill

       
  2. huntmode

    August 29, 2014 at 6:55 pm

    Well, I think this is a terrific report, Bill. 2.75 and a 9 rating of mental! I am so glad for you that the humidity and heat came down, that Doc Lungs says you sound good for you – I think that would be an interesting listen – your lungs and then someone else’s – but be fair age to age vs. comparing with your grandaughter! You have brightened my day today, Bill. xxoo Huntie

     
    • FlaHam

      August 30, 2014 at 11:37 am

      Hunt, Smiling we are getting a slight reprieve on the humidity and I am taking advantage of it. The kids are coming over for a cook out today, but I believe I will yield the floor to someone else to do the cooking. Smiling, for lung comparison I would clearly compare mine to another 65 year old who was somewhat healthy but without respiratory issues. Though listening to a healthy 20 + young lady’s lungs would be interesting as well. Take care and have a great day. Bill

       
      • huntmode

        August 31, 2014 at 4:16 am

        Made me laugh out loud, Bill. Good line!

         
        • FlaHam

          August 31, 2014 at 4:47 pm

          Hunt, I don’t ever remember claiming to be anything but a dirty old man LOL LOL. But it is nice to see I am not the only one curious to the sounds of other lungs.

          Take care. Bill xoxo

           
  3. MyDailyMinefield

    August 30, 2014 at 12:45 am

    Awesome taste in music today, my friend. Led Zeppelin, Chris Cornell and Soundgarden, Heart, Van Halen and of course Pearl Jam – very nice! Hope you continue to be well in spirit and in health.

     
    • FlaHam

      August 30, 2014 at 11:03 am

      Minefield, Smiling it is so nice to have the jukebox back, I almost did a post based on a list of song I listened to once I was operational again. But that would have been boring except to see the order they spewed out in. Take care, Bill

       
  4. benzeknees

    August 30, 2014 at 1:18 am

    If you hadn’t rated this week as a 2.75 prior to your thank you, I might have been worried about you after reading this post. This is the kind of post you write when you’re on your last legs or contemplating suicide. Since hospice care seems to think you don’t need the jacket with extra long sleeves, I’m going to put this down to a moment of melancholy or a reaction to your stats. As always, it is a pleasure to read your posts!

     
    • FlaHam

      August 30, 2014 at 10:50 am

      Benze, WOW!!! Let me be quite clear I have no intentions of committing suicide, so that is completely off the table. LOL LOL. But it is never off the table to thank those that visit, comment or follow. I will be forever grateful to those who have made me a part of their lives. It is such a wonderful feeling inside. So my dear, that thanks was meant for you in the most sincere way I could have said it. Please take care and be safe. Bill

       
  5. Jules

    August 30, 2014 at 5:41 pm

    Hey Bill, good to hear you’re doing ok. I like the idea of comparing lung sounds. Would be interesting. I’d love to know what the rattles and wheezes my Dr hears actually sound like. Take care of yourself. Hope you enjoyed the cook out.

     
    • FlaHam

      August 31, 2014 at 4:35 pm

      Jules, Smiling, I did enjoy the cookout, but once again I stood to close to the fire, even after everyone urged me to step away from the grill. So I paid for it last night and most of the today. It seems I struck a cord, I have had several comments from folks that would like to hear what their lungs sound like compared to those of a “healthy” person. Smiling, but sometimes what we wish for isn’t what we really want. Having said that I don’t know if I really want to hear how crappy my lungs sound. LOL LOL, But given an opportunity I will listen. So you can see I am all over the place on this topic. Take care, Bill

       
  6. Chatter Master

    August 30, 2014 at 9:37 pm

    It’s always good to hear your numbers stay the same or go up. I have to agree. There can’t be enough thanks for the good people in our worlds Bill.

     
    • FlaHam

      August 31, 2014 at 4:37 pm

      Colleen, without question their isn’t enough thanks I can bestow on my blogger buddies. Without their encouragement, their comments, their support I suspect this effort may have died on the vine. But now, I will see it thru to the very end. Take care, Bill xoxo

       
  7. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

    September 1, 2014 at 7:44 am

    Bill – What a wonderful post and I didn’t think it was melancholy at all. Your positive out-look on life and your health is a beacon of light to those of us who move through life with chronic conditions. You must be thrilled to have the new computer all hooked up and the playlists ramped. I hope you are having a wonderful holiday weekend. Sheri

     
    • FlaHam

      September 1, 2014 at 5:28 pm

      Sheri, Smiling I am indeed tickled to have the computer up, and functioning the way I want, and the music is such a wonderful thing for my ear. I don’t mind being a beacon as long as it helps. I don’t want to be the one that causes them to run aground LOL LO. Take care, Bill

       
      • sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.

        September 1, 2014 at 6:28 pm

        Bill – Never, ever, ever. I look forward to our chats and the other day a friend asked who I was talking with as I wildly typed away and I said, “A Fed that blogs. A wildly interesting Fed!” She reared back and let out one of those belly laughs and assured me she already knew the government had gone to hell in a hand basket since the two of us retired!!! Heaven knows I didn’t want to change her perception. I don’t want to miss your next VIP posting. I subscribed but don’t want to miss it. If you would be so kind as to send me the link, I’m going to pop it into my Blog Lovin stash and then when you post, it will come into view. I’m learning that’s a great way to keep up with you folks I love. Sheri

         
  8. gpcox

    September 4, 2014 at 7:10 am

    To the family of Bill Hamilton and all his friends – I am very sorry this world has lost such a man.

     
  9. Vanesa Smith

    September 4, 2014 at 9:46 am

    So sorry to hear of Bill’s passing.

     
  10. Rick Sebastian

    September 13, 2014 at 11:43 pm

    I worked with Bill on our HOA board of directors. Bill was always the voice of reason. Bill always knew exactly what to do. He knew how to handle ANY situation. He never wanted to be in the spotlight, but he was the glue that held the board together.

    I knew Bill had COPD, but I never knew just how bad it had progressed. When I heard Bill was in the hospital on Sept 2nd, but still posting on Facebook!, I thought to myself, that’s classic Bill!! No disease can keep a good man like Bill down.

    Needless to say we were devastated to hear Bill passed on Sept 3rd. The man literally fought until the final day. He is a true inspiration and in my mind, he Is the epitome of what it means to be courageous. He was truly a wonderful man.

    Bill – Rest in peace my friend. Thank you for your wisdom, your friendship, your inspiration, and your humility. See you on the other side my friend!

     
  11. Howard Long

    September 23, 2014 at 12:47 pm

    My condolences to Bill’s family, I know he is now in a better place.

     
  12. JoJo

    May 13, 2015 at 2:55 pm

    my mom passed 3 yrs ago from COPD, was not an easy thing to watch or go through, I found out I have moderate a yr after she passed 😦
    I wish after reading some of Bill’s Blog that I had got to know him before he passed away, he had the best outlook and spirit from everything I read so far. I am truly sorry to his family..God Bless his soul..xoxo JoJo

     
    • benzeknees

      May 14, 2015 at 12:56 am

      You would have really loved Bill, JoJo! He was such a help to me when I was first diagnosed. I invited you to read his back issues, you will learn so much about this disease & a wonderful man so sorely missed.

       
      • JoJo

        May 30, 2015 at 10:15 pm

        thanks I have been reading since he passed, wish I had known him so we could talk here though, he seems missed by many.

         

Leave a Reply

 
secret Blogger

Status : surviving highschool

How the Cookie Crumbles

An irreverant view of life after SIXTY-FIVE

beefandsweettea.wordpress.com/

a story of Southern agriculture

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Kira Moore's Closet

Ever Moving Forward

